We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
“Overall Great Experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everyone at the Hotel Colonnade made us feel welcomed and were very courteous. If there is one thing I would change I would rather pay a little more and have the parking included in my bill.
Hilary the Dorman went above and beyond with is interaction with us he truly is an asset to your Hotel. Thank You for making our stay such a delight.
Manny & Cindy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,997
    800
    230
    82
    57
See reviews for
783
898
146
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
keflavik
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a great hotel and amazing rooftop pool want to know where I can buy those pillows
very friendly staff and the doorman Norman at the front door greeting us with smile
rooftop pool is like being in Miami relaxing and clean

Room Tip: the rooms are great what about those pillows and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gudrun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great hotel with a T stop right outside the door. Rooms were huge, clean and beds comfortable. Roof top pool looked great although we didn't use it. Good location for sightseeing, 10-15 min walk to Copley Square. Great breakfast place on the next block 'Thorntons'. Huge menu with loads of choice get there early to beat the queue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1976_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose the Colonnade because of its location, which actually worked out great. It is directly opposite the Prudential Centre (which you can get to underground) so if the weather is really terrible you can find restaurants and shops without ever really leaving the area. There is also a very handy supermarket as well as a T-stop just outside. The room was nice and big and clean, although the selection of TV channels was not the best!!! Sadly the pool was closed when we were there. We also visited the Brasserie - which is definitely worth a trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundofmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Usually stay at the Westin or Marriott in Copley when visiting Boston but rates for those two properties during a recent stay forced me to look elsewhere and we ended up at the Colonnade. Despite the mid-70's architecture they've done a nice job keeping this place current and fresh on the inside. Lobby was sophisticated and fresh. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The beds here are excellent, among the best hotel beds I have experienced and the linens are crisp. Bathrooms are small and only provide enough space for one person to get ready. Our room was a bit warm despite setting the thermostat on 65 it never dropped below 69. All parking here is self park which I actually prefer but one night they were having an event and were offering valet to those attending and the garage was packed. My biggest concern is that I was given a room key and was not asked for ID or name, just room number. I was given a key after a long conversation about how the parking worked but it was still a bit disconcerting. When I was handed the key and mentioned that I was concerned about the security issue another desk attendant said it was their policy to ID guests and I then offered my ID but I could have just walked away. This was really the only service miss the entire stay and was probably a one time oversight by the agent. The outdoor roof top pool isn't huge but is very nice and the service up there excellent. I would stay again and likely will.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ketelup4olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days during a conference, and was disappointed based on what I had read in other reviews. My room was quite dark and not particularly appealing. My big problem was that the water in the shower was scalding hot, no possibility of taking a shower without being seriously burned. I reported this at the desk on my way out. When I returned that night, I briefly turned the shower water on and it was cool, so I made the mistake of assuming it had been fixed, when in reality it was just the initial water in the pipes that was at room temp. The next morning, same story. At the desk they told me that it had been looked into and the controls were a little tricky but it was really OK. I stay in hotels about 50 nights a year and haven’t yet come across one I could not figure out how to use; I had worked on it for about 15 minutes, so I’m skeptical. Anyway, WHY WAS I NOT LEFT SOME SORT OF MESSAGE TO THAT EFFECT. So, 2 days, no decent shower. Also, I wanted to print out 1 sheet of notes for my meeting, but was told that it would cost about $7 at the business center, mostly because of a “workstation fee”, so on principle I refused. A hotel employee blamed this on “the vendor”, but to me this just means that the hotel has not made a decision to give guests a decent option in this regard – in most hotels I stay in this would be free. I would not be looking to return here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary with a weekend stay at the Colonnade. The entire staff was friendly and attentive from the beginning to the end of our stay. The guest room was clean and pleasant and the roof top pool was very relaxing. The food and service were outstanding - great weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SedonaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,283 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,711 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,155 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing