We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem of a place!”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at the Colonnade in Boston last week because the Sheraton just up the street refused to honor the group rate for my meeting - even though I called well before the deadline. I arrived at the Colonnade and was met by the doorman Norman who was very charming and professional. He used my name every time he saw me during my stay, gave me water, and was helpful about directions and local amenities.

The hotel was lovely, very clean, quiet and comfortable with big windows and plenty of work space in the room. I felt welcomed and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: The room I had was very quiet on the 11th floor, with free wifi. A much better value for the price t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safetygirl5281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,305)
There are newer reviews for Colonnade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 3,305 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Colonnade is becoming a favorite in Boston. Best breakfast in town at Bistro Jo and cutest ducks in every bathroom. Norman at front door and staff at front desk are exceptionally gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: I prefer room in hotel on the side opposite Huntington Ave. (even number room) because they are some...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Colonnade is a pretty nice hotel, in front of the Prudential Center. Rooms are large and Clean. Bed are comfortable and the internet connection is at fair level. While the personnel at the front desk is kind and professional, i would not say the same about the concierge, which in some cases demonstrated poor kindness and professionalism.
From my personal opinion, Quality/Price ratio is almost fair, meaning that the hotel is pretty overpriced if compared to the benchmark. For example, i ve had the first day breakfast in my room and the quality of the food (a normal club sandwich) wasn't absolutely as expected, as it has been served cold and with poor care.
From a food quality, despite the issue mentioned above, there is a restaurant there called "Brasserie Jo", which probably worth a try. I would suggest the salad niçoise (with tuna) and the beef tartare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dariof17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love the Colonnade. The rooms are clean and large and very hip. I prefer a room with a view onto Huntington and the Prudential Center, but the view toward the South End is nearly as nice. Great location when I am in town for business followed by dinner on Boylston. Walking distance to the restaurants or another block over to Newbury. Helpful staff. Probably the only negative I can think of is that they do not have valet parking. Not entirely sure why. But I likely will go back soon and Colonnade will always be a part of my hotel stay equation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor for view and quiet. And decide if you would prefer a view of the P...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spent 3 nights here. Dark, drab corridors. Rooms comfortable,but not very roomy with over-sized furniture. Useful concierge, good service in traditional restaurant/brasserie. Only real gripe: extortionate cost of wifi. We soon found free wifi in the Barnes and Noble coffee-shop in the shopping centre opposite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raoul188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at The Colonnade Hotel while spending a long weekend in Boston with our two young children. The room was nice with very comfortable beds, our daughter thought they were like sleeping on a giant marshmallow! The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to make it a memorable experience for the kids. The hotel is right across from shopping and restaurants at the Prudential center, right around the corner from Copley Place, and there is a T-stop right outside the front door which makes it so easy to get anywhere in the city without needing a car. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we find our way back to Boston. We really appreciated the bottle of water for each of us for the car ride home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaF892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at The Colonnade for a large family event and it was first rate all around. Rooms were fine, service was charming and the catered event was outstanding. It was the best food we've ever had for a large (over 100 people) group. We enjoyed the restaurant where the waitstaff was efficient and knowledgeable. A great time!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank phey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,856 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,866 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $188 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing