We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Summer Spot”
Review of Colonnade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colonnade Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Naples
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Summer Spot”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel made our trip to Boston one we will never forget. We were able to sun bathe and sip on drinks at the roof too pool. We were able to walk to fenway safely to see our beloved red sox play! We were treated so exceptionally by the entire staff. Everyone was so willing to help and always friendly customer service everywhere we went around the hotel. The beds were amazingly cozy and the rooms were so modern and beautiful. We had adjoining rooms that allowed all of us girls to really enjoy the experience together and really enjoyed the beautiful view from our room. This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at and I will definitely be coming back to stay!! Miss our trip already! Would recommend this hotel to anyone from families to a fun girls get away trip like ours. All I can say is GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!

Room Tip: Swim in the pool and take advantage of the beautiful scenery! Not many rooftop pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    817
    238
    84
    60
See reviews for
827
914
149
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everything you see about the physical properties of the Colonnade on their webside is totally accurate: beautiful public areas, chic rooms well furnished and The Pool! This hotel however distinguishes itself by the exceptional quality of its staff; from reception to maintenance, concierge and everything in between. From the moment you arrive you are treated as a valued guest (even when the hotel was sold out) and anytime you pass an employee they greet you and inquire if there's anything you need. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is good value and served efficiently to order, so that even if you are pressed for time it is a great way to start the day. Highly recommend signing up to their I Prefer program which provides complementary wifi for your stay, for whatever number of devices you have. Not being directly attached to the convention center is a definite plus as The Colonnade stays sane, even with thousands of delegates roaming the downtown, and is actually a closer walk than the "connected" hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A girls weekend in Boston had me searching for an outdoor pool to relax during the day and The Colonnade definitely was the right choice. While the rooftop pool is small, so get to the pool by 10 a.m. if you want a choice in seating, the atmosphere and hotel service was fabulous. The rest of the hotel isn't shabby either as the rooms are well appointed, the beds super coomfy, and the hotel restaurant is GOOD - and reasonably priced. And the location in the Back Bay....excellent. The staff is very friendly and helped me with an early check-in -- 9:30 a.m. -- and a late checkout. The concierge was most helpful, and even offered an umbrella on a day the skies were threatening. Will DEFINITELY go back!

Room Tip: The pool fills up fast so grab chairs early. The drinks on the roof are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not cheap but you can shop around for deals.
Location is fairly decent, right opposite the Prudential Mall, although it's quite hard to cross the street from the hotel.
Rooms are fab with ceiling to floor windows to maximise the view. Very spacious, clean and well maintained. Not enough AC outlets for charging stuff.
Roof top pool & bar is an excellent feature after a long dusty day sightseeing.
Restaurant is quite expensive. Didn't experience breakfast.
Free WiFi only in lobby which is a bit of a nuisance. They have a PC available to print boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turgonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived expecting what the reviews had said and the pictures we saw on this cite and it was just we had expected. The hotel is very classy from the lobby to the rooms although some more hallway lighting would help at night. We had a king room and it was just a beautiful room with wall to wall windows that you could actually open. The bed is just what they say so very soft and comfortable and I love pillows and there were plenty. The TV and the DVD player were top notch and the info in the room for the guests about the hotel and extras charges are there so please check because you may be surprised what you find out is extra. However if you take a few minutes to read the info book all extra charges are listed for you. you can choose to have a key to the mini bar or not. We do not have children but nice for that reason. there is a very good safe in your closet which I felt quite safe puting my valuables in as it has a code you program of your choice for your stay. I loved the rain shower water head in the shower and the shampoo and soaps are top of the line. The doorman service is the best with the most professional people who make it a point to remember you even when hotel sold out and make you feel at home. They try make you feel welcome and make sure you get on your way safely for home. The concierge service as far as knowledge is concerned know there stuff but we found some who in my opinion love there job and those who are just doing it. a few things we felt it a bit much to be charged money for 15 min of internet time in the business room. When we returned from our trip out sightseeing while waiting for our luggage someone who t we never saw again who worked in the staff who handle your luggage said to us you can wait this person more important then you! This made my guest and me very angry but the true gentlemen who handled that service was very upset and apologized and took care of all our check in needs. he even told his supervisor about it which was a very nice touch. We went up and saw the pool and the view is something to see but did not swim to many other things we wanted to visit in the city. The subway is located right across the street and taxi's are easy to get at any time. The front desk staff is very polite and good at there job The one and only major problem i felt we should have received some sort of discount on next stay or room upgrade is in our room the air condition was not locked in to the wall and was not safe in my opinion as it was leaning out of it's spot. we called and it was locked back in right away as soon as a maintenance person came. if you had had children this could have been very dangerous and should have been checked before we were in the room. however I would love to stay in this fine hotel again and we plan to for our next vacation. We even wanted to stay another night but they were sold out. hope this review helps it was a truly wonderful 5 star service hotel and I only mentioned the few things I felt could have been better because that is how I learned when using this cite for advice and I believe telling the good with the things that could have been a little better. .

Room Tip: Try to get a king size bed they are very large and the room is bigger and if you can get a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barginfinders2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent Back Bay location: Prudential "T" station just steps from entrance and across street from Prudential Center restaurants & shops. Twenty minute walk to Fenway. In-house restaurant fare is good/not great but all hotel/restaurant staff friendly, responsive, and kid-friendly. Rooms stylish, well-maintained, clean and comfortable. Roof-top pool great place to cool off.

Room Tip: We overlooked Huntington Ave on 6th floor and enjoyed light and were not bothered by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcj46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well located for meetings at Hynes convention center, across the street from Prudential shops, close to Copley mall and decent walk to Fine Arts Museum. The room was large, good view of Huntington St and Prudential center, but bathroom was proportionately small. Nice rooftop pool. Keurig coffepot was nice touch. Bed was heavily weighted down with unnecessary bedspread, blanket, decorative pillows, etc, a chore to get it ready to sleep in. Once accomplished, bed was very comfortable. No one offered to help with bags. I asked a hotel employee to call me a cab 2 different times, and they basically said call them yourself. The bedside clock showed the wrong time by many hours and you needed an engineering degree to set the alarm. Bedside lamp didn't work properly, you had to tighten the bulb and tap it lightly to turn on. Thankfully, I did get a wake up call as requested, but I was afraid they were going to say no. I realize all of this may sound petty to you, but the thing that bothered me the most was the thermostat in the room. The days were very hot 80-90degrees, so I wanted to sleep in a very cool room. I turned it down to 66, but I didn't realize until the second night that they put a governor on the AC that stops at it 72. The room always felt too warm to me, and it is mainly for that reason that I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonnadeBoston, Manager at Colonnade Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and for commenting positively about our location and amenities, including Boston's only Rooftop Pool. We're sorry you didn't appreciate the quantity of our high thread count linens and duvet, and pillows but are glad that you thought the bed was comfortable. You mentioned that you asked an employee to assist with you calling a cab and the employee refused. We are finding it very difficult if not impossible to believe this. Our bell staff and doorman are consistently lauded for their gracious service and desire to please our guests. Many of them have received statewide hospitality awards for their leadership in their position and we are very proud of their service. Our alarm clocks, while innovative, are very easy to set and the manufacturer lists this as one of the top features of the clock. Contrary to what was stated, there is no governor on the thermostat. Additionally, all of our guest rooms have floor to ceiling windows that open to provide fresh air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,798 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonnade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonnade Hotel

Property: Colonnade Hotel
Address: 120 Huntington Avenue, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116-5730
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonnade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonnade Hotel has provided thoughtful hospitality to Boston visitors and residents for more than 40 years. A dynamic Back Bay landmark whose opening launched the neighborhood's renaissance in the early seventies, The Colonnade is home to the city's only outdoor Roof Top Pool and the award-winning Parisian-style restaurant, Brasserie JO. The property boasts 285 sophisticated guest rooms, including nine luxury suites. Ideally located, The Colonnade is in close proximity to Newbury Street, The Shops at Prudential Center, Hynes Convention Center, Northeastern and many of Boston's finest museums, galleries, and iconic sites including Symphony Hall and Fenway Park. The Colonnade Hotel is a member of the Preferred Hotel's LIFESTYLE collection. Preferred Hotels represents over 650 of the world's finest luxury hotels and resorts with an extensive global collection in more than 85 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonnade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonnade Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing