We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceline $50 night--good deal for decent hotel in lame location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #58 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,195 helpful votes
“Priceline $50 night--good deal for decent hotel in lame location”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I had business in/around Boston in December 2010 and was also visiting friends in Milton, so I used priceline.com to bid for a hotel in the South Boston vicinity--and got the Doubletree Club Boston Bayside for a mere $50 for my one night. All in all, it was a decent Doubeltree in a not great location in Boston, generally, but it worked great for me. Especially for just $50 a night.

The hotel is definitely not on the beaten path if you are doing any tourist activities or business in central Boston. It is about 10-15 minutes south of the Boston Airport, so it's convenient to reach from there if that's a priority. But there's not much nearby--it feels like a relatively isolated business park area, really.

The hotel is a solid Doubeltree. My room was nice and average size. The bed was fine--Sheraton and Westin have better beds, in my opinion. The TV was a regular boob tube as opposed to the flat screen. Bathroom fair. All in all, a reasonably average business hotel...and a nice deal for $50.

If I were traveling for fun, I'd never stay here unless there was a fantastic deal and I was only meeting friends/seeing things south of Boston.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    588
    346
    128
    62
See reviews for
435
426
126
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Free shuttle service from/to airport (you do need to call ahead for them to pick you up @ Logan & sign up for the shuttle service back to the airport). 2 blocks or so away from T stop. Grocery store within walking distance. Although there are no restaurants close by, the front desk had a large selection of take-out menus. Staff was friendly & helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennM021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed here when UFC was in Boston and paid the room through bookit prior to our arrival. When I checked in the clerk asked for my debit/credit card and then proceeded to "accidently" charge me 3 nights after he had seen the room was already paid. He stated the charges would immediately be returned to my card. WRONG. It was not until the next week and after calls to the manager that I got my money back. And during my stay, things were stolen from my room. I vowed to never stay here again. So why am I writing now 3 months later? I have not traveled since September and this morning I look at my bank acct and this hotel has taken $386+ out of my account. I have tried to contact the manager, accounting.. anyone to help me for the past 5hrs and no one is there. I have even called the corporate office. SO, needless to say, I will never use another Doubletree/Hilton period, not just this one. Especially since I know it is that easy to use my card without my permission months later. My bank has advised me to cancel my card as soon as my money is returned and I will definately do so just to make sure they never charge me again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly75104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Pros: Since I was giving at talk at UMass Boston the next day you couldn't beat the location. Very comfy bed. Good temp and light control.

Cons: odd parking situation (some "free" spots out front, lot out back with tickets and gate that didn't exactly work but you buzzed and they let you out). And I'm not usually that picky but mold on tub and cracked sink in a hotel at this level surprised me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Acres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

This hotel has proximity to downtown via the T going for it along with much lower rates than downtown but it's best described as Doubletree minus. The property is getting run down with a slightly beat up look in the halls. Rooms are ok but toilet was cranky and the shower may be the lowest flow head I've ever encountered. Food is limited to a sandwhich shop that doesnt properly refrigerate milk. Internet connection was good but is an extra charge if you arent gold level or higher in the Hilton hhonnors.
Overall it's ok OK - I'd stay again due to price and location but its hard to recommend since it doesn't live up to the brand.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great Shuttle service to the airport, close to JFK/UMASS T Stop. Rooms are big and clean, everything works, generally good value. Internet access is not free apart from in the lobby, but if you leave laptop on after you have connected, it does stay connected in your room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

the hotel has, as most doubletree hotels, no charm at all - but the rooms are clean and comfortable. there's a coffee machine, some good cosmetic products, and great not-too-soft beds. but be warned about the LOCATION! there are three (!!!) mount vernon streets in boston, and google maps is most likely showing you the downtown mount vernon street - and so was our gps! the "doubletree club boston bayside" is NOT in downtown, but in a quite ugly suburban setting, no cafes or shops around, and very deserted at night. boston is a city that needs to be witnessed from inside, so i'd recommend everyone to look for a downtown hotel.

by the way, be warned: the wireless in the rooms comes with an additional cost, so does the hotel parking!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conceptual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing