We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Boston
St. Albans, Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Further away from town than we would have liked and the shuttle service got over-booked. Some of the staff seemed a little indifferent. But others were really excellent. We had reserved a rollaway bed but it was not in the room. They then took it to the smaller of the two rooms we occupied making the already tiny space even more reduced. When the bed was moved to make way for the rollaway, the dust underneath was 3 inches thick. They also did not clear away the dirty coffee cup from one day to the next. The in-house Au Bon Pain was welcome both for breakfast and snack times and the staff there were extremely helpful. The surrounding area VERY ugly with the Expo next door with views of either the main road or a huge car park.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaSt_Albans_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    581
    343
    123
    61
See reviews for
425
421
125
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in the Doubletree Club Hotel Bayside very much. A clean room, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a free shuttle bus downtown. Highly recommendable for a short stay in Boston!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel for an overnight for an early flight the following morning. I probably wouldn't stay here again. Reasons include: 1) thin walls and pretty noisy, 2) room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2:40 p.m. for check-in, 3) needed to pay for Internet in the room, $9.95 a day with free Internet only in the lobby area, 4) cut backs on shuttles and it leaves on the hour vs. every 15-20 minutes.

On the positive side, the room was fairly clean. Some staff were pretty friendly.

  • Liked — cookies on arrival
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank truffles808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Ma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed here because it was the cheapest hotel in the Boston area with a "reputable" name. We ended up staying on the parking lot side of the hotel which had the worst view of them all, but I've heard the opposite side has a great view of the city and bay. Unfortunately, there was no pool, which is a typical must for us... however the Au Ban Pain downstairs near the bar and lobby was great for breakfast and lunch, especially on the run. We could pick up a gourmet sandwich before catching the train into the city. The station is only a couple blocks away, not to mention the close proximity of the Bayside Expo Center.

Service was great, and our stay was extremely comfortable. We chose a non-smoking room, although there was still a slight hint of smoke from previous guests. It was quiet at night, mostly because our window was on the expo center parking lot side.

This hotel is centered more for business trips or the casual yet economical traveler. There isn't anything adventurous about booking at a standard commercial hotel such as this one. Double Tree is however a very classy hotel compared to other hotels in their niche. This one in particular is very clean and well furnished complimented by its luxurious style.

I did not stay for a business trip, but would definitely consider this hotel for a executive corporate meeting for my company. If you want a normal, quiet and comfortable night - all for the right cost in Boston, I suggest this hotel.

  • Liked — Au Bon Pain downstairs - great sandwiches, coffee, pastry. Train station down the street.
  • Disliked — No Pool, No view on expo center side of hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank msaguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

I booked this room via an opaque prepaid service where I named my own price. Although I got a discount, they made up for it with the $10 parking fee and $10 internet charge. And the internet service was terrible, cutting in and out made some of my online sessions impossible.

The room was pleasantly decorated, though small and fairly basic. The two double beds were very comfortable, with feather pillows, duvet, fine sheets, etc. Bedding was clean. Soaps, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were provided. Towels were clean and fine. The water pressure was strong, and water temperature control was easy.

Unfortunately, the carpeting was stained, and looked dirty in spots. And there were many strands of long, dark hair from a previous guest on the floor, tub, toilet, and counter. And the shower diverter valve was broken, so control of the water was difficult. The worst part of the stay was the paper-thin walls, and having my sleep interrupted when the guests nextdoor got in at 2am, and their general conversation was audible (and quite clearly heard) for the next hour. Plumbing and bathroom activities were also heard. This hotel really should provide earplugs!!! In the meanwhile, bring your own, you'll be glad you did.

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Thin walls--they should provide earplugs!
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TeaEarleGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We printed the directions off of their website. We got severly lost and ended up on the other side of town. When we called for directions, the front desk agent gave us directions that had us heading into downtown Boston. You would think that if someone works there, that they would know how to get there? When we turned around and started heading back to where we had come from, we saw one of their vans SPEEDING through town. We followed him back. We got there an hour after we should have there. When we walked in, we were informed that there was a parking fee, when on the website, it had said nothing about it. When informing the clerk of this she did not apologize, just handed us a ticket to put in our car window.
When we got up to our room, it was next to the stairs, firstly. That bothered me. It is known in the hospilatly industry that you save those rooms for sold out nights, and they were not sold out, far from it. Our entrance light did not work and our room was frigid. It wouldn't hurt if they turned on the heat before someone checks in. We turned the heat up to high and it took the full eight hours from 10pm until 6am when we got up, make the room warm. Luckily, when we go to a hotel, we always bring an extra blanket, because there is never enough blankets. and they are always so thin!
Also, we were there for first night in Boston. The parking lot was extremely icy. I had sneakers on, but most of the other guests were going out the clubs and the girls had heels on. There was no salt on the parking lot anywhere. Someone could have slipped, I was afraid I was going to. I hate ice!
The breakfast the next morning was cold, the eggs were cold, the coffee was burnt and I asked for sauages and I received bacon.
I left a letter at the front desk with this information when we left and a comment card in the room and I have not received a phone call or an email.
I worked in hotel for three years. I know how it runs. If my GM had received all these compliants from one person, he would have been on the phone personally apologizing.
I am not impressed. We almost turned around and went home, just because the directions were so horrible. But we wanted to see the fireworks, so we went and we stayed and we ffroze. It was warmer outside, than it was in our room.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — That it was close to a T station, that was the only good thing about it
  • Disliked — Everything, a very very very cold room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here and if you do, check in early to turn on your heat and have the manager on duty inspect your room so that you don't have any problems
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautiful275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Got a great rate on priceline here (around $55)...the staff is wonderful, they do charge for parking but its not too bad- like $10 a day or so when i was there....its close to a T stop and takes like 20 minutes to most places in Boston. All in all this is a very solid choice for cheaper accomodations in the Boston area (more accessible than Cambridge).

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing