We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Toms River
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“We liked it here”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

When in Boston my wife and I usually stay on the outskirts of Boston to get a cheaper rate. Our only necessity is that we are close to a T stop. Lately we have been staying at the Holiday Inn Express on Boston Street. It is close to the Andrew stop on the red line. We have been happy there. It gets good reviews on Trip Advisor. So, for the purpose of this review, I will draw comparisons between the Double tree and the HIE. When we fly into Boston we head straight for the T machine in B terminal. We get our 7 day link passes which are a bargain at 15 dollars. We take the silver line to South Station. From there we took the red line to the JFK UMASS stop. It is the next stop after Andrew. The hotel is a very short walk from the T stop. It is closer to the T stop than the HIE is from the Andrew stop. The hotel is not really that attractive from the outside. The lobby is quite large when you enter the hotel. There is a small bar, a deli counter, small computer room with two computers. The lobby has some comfortable chairs and sofas in it. The nod on the lobby area goes to the Double Tree. We arrived before check in time and were immediately given our room keys. The room was large with a nice flat screen tv. The bathroom was also of a good size with plenty of hot water. The towels were really thick. Each bed had five pillows on it. My wife is a real pillow freak so she was in heaven. We each slept well. We heard no noise from the rooms next door. Once again the room experience goes to the Double Tree. The HIE offers a free breakfast while the Double Tree does not. Their food offerings are on the limited side. The nod goes to the HIE here. There are really no restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The HIE has a few. The nod goes to the HIE here also. We have never seen a friendlier group of cleaning staff workers then we did at the Double Tree. They all said hello whenever they saw you. The staff and the desk seemed both friendly and efficient. We were able to walk to the JFK library. It was a 15 minute walk from the hotel. If this seems too far there is a free shuttle which runs from the T stop. There is a Shaw's supermarket located near the T stop. It seemed to get a large amount of people who walked to and from the market. My wife and I had enough Hilton honors points to get two free nights here. After reading the trip advisor reviews I told her that we should not expect too much. I was very pleased at how much I liked the hotel. In the future we would pay to stay here if the price is right. I think the people who complain about the hotel not being close to town and activities should do a little more research before they book. If you want to be downtown then be prepared to pay downtown prices. If you are resourceful and don't mind riding the T and doing a little walking then save some money and stay here. One more thing. If you walk through the large parking lot behind the hotel you will be on the water. This is a great place to take a long walk. You can walk the Carson beach area and you almost feel that you are at the seashore. Probably very cold in the winter months though.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    602
    359
    128
    64
See reviews for
457
439
127
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My experience with the shuttle service and the staff in general was much better than described in other reviews. My wait for the shuttle at Logan was no more than 10 minutes and the return was right on time. The drivers were fine as were the front desk staff. Furthermore, I was able to get into my room at 10 am.

On the other hand, I concur with the other reviews regarding the hotel's location. Aside from the JFK T-stop being only a few minutes walk away, the is nothing else nearby. Furthermore the dining options at the hotel are extremely limited.

Lastly, they charge for in-room wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

the room keys would lock themselve all the time! the regular staff woulb be nice to us and give us new ones, they knew we where there for a week. one night after the main reason we went it was night, we were tired and gregg the manager, ( it was not fisrt time that he saw us) was there and he was just rude to me, my friends and my family. the only reason i post this is because there's no one else we could tell about our situation.
No restaurants around. The only deli place with terrible fast food. business center with 2 computers and only one worked dsl slowest internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34438Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The biscotti cookie from the cafe is excellent - you may want to swing by and get one if you're headed to U Mass or the JFK Library - but other than that, you may want to spend more for a room in Boston.

I was in Boston working with two nonprofit organizations and need to be careful about r expenses since my client will be reimbursing me. It seemed that $300-$400/night for a room in Boston was crazy - I've never had to pay that amount before, but this week the hotel rates in town were at least 50% more than usual.

The Doubletree Bayside was $189/night - $216 with taxes and fees. I'm a Diamond level guest at the Hilton Brand hotels but my experience was no gem! I had a freeway-side room for 3 nights and never say the bay until I was waiting for the elevator on the 5th floor. When I checked in at 5:00 PM there was construction activity in the room above me which concluded at 6:00 PM. I was told that they were remodeling a "view room" and that they would be done that day (which was true). Still, why was I put in a room near construction? The bathroom sink is cracked, the desk chair was so uncomfortable that it was actually causing me pain (which they changed out the next day for a different chair), I slept in the very middle of the king bed because it is apparently so old, it has two 'body dents' from everyone that has slept there before me. While the hotel enticed me the ability to get dinner and breakfast onsite, the reality is a sandwich and salad shop with premade eggs, lots of bread and nothing hot to eat for dinner. Don't think you'll just step out and walk to dinner - oh no! There is no where to go. I was given a pizza menu, an asian take out menu and "homemade food" menu which turned out to be pizza and seafood but nothing quite "homemade". In desperation I called a nearby restaurant and ordered delivery - later I spend sometime in the bathroom relieving myself of a dinner that clearly did not take.............. The business center is a very small room with two computers that run the speed of a snail. I couldn't print my boarding pass from one so I had to start the airline check-in and boarding pass print process again from the other..... Both mornings of my early stay I woke up early and got online to see if I could get another hotel room somewhere else in town....... all booked for the week. I'll certainly stay elsewhere next time. That's sad because I am a faithful Hilton traveler, but this experience certainly changes my opinion of the Hilton brand in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swankyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed for the recent ICAAC meeting at the Waterfront Convention Center. Although it had the potential to be a positive experience, the most disappointing part of the stay was poor shuttle service. I felt like a second class citizen compared to the Amtrak staff who were given priority. I called for a ride from the airport and the driver came in 15 minutes. This was relatively quickly compared to the other couple we picked up who said they were waiting 45 minutes. The real problem for me started when we pulled into a dark alley by the Amtrak station. We were given no explanation other than it would just be a few minutes. After 30 minutes and several phone calls by the driver, the Amtrak staff arrived. We could have been to the hotel and back in the time we waited. I would have taken a taxi if I knew we were going to wait to fill the van. When booking for the conference I was under the impression that the meeting would have motorcoaches shuttle attendees to the convention center. Apparently this service was cancelled due to low numbers but the hotel agreed to shuttle attendees instead. That was a good attempt at customer service, but the van only held 11 people and often there were 20 or more waiting to attend morning sessions. With departures only on the hour, I made a reservation but it made no difference because the driver said it was "first come, first serve". I tried to call a taxi, but it took 20 minutes to arrive because of the distant location from downtown. Granted this hotel was by far the cheapest associated with the conference, but I would have looked elsewhere if I knew in advance that the shuttle service would be so horrible. The rooms are nothing special, and the cafe is ok but there is nothing else to eat within walking distance. The train station is nearby but requires a transfer to reach the convention center so I will not be staying here again for a meeting at the Waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountaineerTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I would have preferred to stay in downtown Boston where all the action is but the price at this hotel was more in my budget. However, to get into downtown it was very easy. It is just a 4 - 8 minute walk to train, depending on how much traffic there was you had to cross over. Apparently, the hotel shuttle goes between their location and the downtown location a few times a day. So, you could sign up for that but the train was very easy that we didn't bother with the shuttle. Speaking of the hotel shuttle...The driver I had to and from the airport was horrible. Not a personable fellow but that is okay it was more the return from the hotel to the airport that made me regret not reporting him to the hotel management right way. He was talking on his cell phone the entire time. Some states that is illegal to do! He was also not wearing a seatbelt. So, every five minutes or so the beeping sound would ring for about 30 seconds to remind him to buckle up but I guess he could not hear it cause he was so involved in that cell phone call. I felt real safe when he got a call in on his walkie-talkie about another pick up he needed to make so at this point he has his cell in one hand sort of half way holding onto the steering wheel and the walkie-talkie in the other. I regret not taking a picture of all this action as directly behind him was a sign posted to the riders..."buckle up!" OK, so bad hotel shuttle driver but I am sure they have others that I hope you get. The fact that it is free is a nice feature the hotel offers but I had to wait 35 minutes for it to show up and then it took about 30 to get to the hotel as it made additional stops at the Amtrak station. I suggest calling for a pick up as soon as you step off the plane. If you want to visit the John F. Kennedy library, which I recommend, this hotel is very convenient for that. You just walk to the closest train station from the hotel where a free bus picks up every 20 minutes and then the library/museum is just 10 minutes away. The hotel rooms were very tight - two double beds in the room and that was about all that fit. Like the Au Bon Pain in the hotel as it was easy to grab something fast for breakfast to take on into downtown where we really wanted to be. Free wi-fi in the lobby, not in rooms, that it looked like a lot of people were taking advantage of.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel is a 60-70´s hotel not upgraded since then...
It is old fashioned and not modernised... The rooms are hughe and the beds awesome, but the rest of the hotel could be avoided...
Definitvely a good spot if you are visiting something close but nothing to do if what you want to see is boston itself.
Also, the breakfast is in a kind of small cafeteria and a bit expensive...
Not a hotel for a brand as hilton...
I wouldn´t recomend unless you need to work close by...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgepab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing