We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickled and Dimed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at lesser hotels with better complimentary service, such as: 1. Free access to Wi-Fi instead of being nicked-and-dimed by DoubleTree. Don't know why, but my standard smart phone 4G seemed blocked inside the hotel. Email description says: "We offer our guests Wi-Fi" (but does not mention that it is not offered, it is sold. Pirates. 2. Comfort Inn had complimentary and delicious breakfast and coffee every morning. DoubleTree, you can't even get a cup of coffee unless you make it yourself in your room or pay $2 a cup. 3. Doors slamming by other guests was loud actually shook the beds in our room. 4. Internet description says DoubleTree is "near" great restaurants and shops. It took a $25 cab ride to go 3.8 miles. Near the subway was really the greatest benefit of this location. 5. Business office was very HOT and uncomfortable and there was often a line waiting to use the 3 computers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when visiting Boston for her sister's MIT graduation. The hotel is nice, but aging a bit. Parking is Ina secured lot, but there is not much near the hotel in terms of restaurants, shopping, etc. There is a train station about a block away.

Getting to downtown is a short trip on the freeway across the bridge, if traffic is not bad, but can take along time in traffic.

Overall, I would stay here again, but downtown hotels are more convenient when not marked up ridiculously for events.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were given room 340. It was so shabby. The carpet had so many stains, I didn't want to take my shoes off. The desk chair was so stained, I didn't want to sit on it. The headboard had obvious grease stains. The wallpaper was curling up. The telephone was covered with schmutz. The other chair was coming apart. The night tables were very worn.

I went back to the desk and told them I was nyot satisfied and they gave me a different room right away. The new room was on the 5th floor. That floor was marked on the elevator as a "Hilton Honors" floor. It had been remodeled fairly recently and the difference was like night and day. Since I am a Hilton Honors member, I don't know why I didn't get a room on the 5th floor in the first place.

I would also like to mention that this place is almost impossible to find. While that is not entirely the hotel's fault, they could improve the signage and put so etching on their website. One of the reasons we picked this place was their shuttle service. However, because it was going to take over an hour to get picked up at the airport, my husband took a cab. The cab got lost and it took over an hour anyway. I came from the south, via car, and it was extremely difficult to find the hotel, even with mapquest.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AlaskanVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for our missteps in service and guestroom comfort. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Stephen Pole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I rarely review hotels but I was so disappointed by this stay it feels necessary to warn others. As I was a guest of a conference sponsor, my recent trip to Boston was one of the first in a long time that I have not had to "worry" about cost and I went with the recommended conference hotel -- Doubletree Bayside Boston is that for U Mass Boston. I also brought my 13 year old daughter. We are FAR from hotel snobs -- all we need is clean, safe and reliable. We were shocked when we came on a sunday and no one seemed to be around, then the desk person was not able to help us find anything in Boston or even orient us locally -- "im not good with maps" he tells us ( A HOTEL DESK PERSON!) and the hotel itself and U mass was not on the map they provided. Then the room -- stained carpet, bedspread with holes in it, scratched bureaus -- it looked and felt like some of the seedy hotels I used to stay in when I was single and able to rough it. We even felt somewhat unsafe there. We've stayed at Doubletrees throughout the country and NEVER had an experience like this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and sincerely apologize if you felt in any way unsafe during your visit. We have security measures in place to ensure your safety and will share your comments on our front desk service as part of our ongoing training for exceptional guest satisfaction. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to quality hospitality.

Thank you,
Stephen Pole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The lobby was bright and welcoming. The room was ok, clean bedding and bathroom. The concerns were sharing a door between us and the other room; no refrigerator, no microwave, not enough parking spaces 'had to park in the front in the Handicap spot. The concierge personnel was pleasant and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andrene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As much as my husband and I wanted to stay downtown prior to our cruise, we knew we had little time to justify an expensive hotel. I researched reviews through trip advisor and chose this one. Part of the reason was the free shuttle service from the hotel and to the cruise port. The hotel was only 2 blocks from the UMass train stop. It was an easy walk - not sure if I would like to do it at night. The hotel lobby was very pleasant and had several areas to visit with family or friends. There was even a small bar to get a drink. Eating options were limited but the small restaurant made deli sandwiches with Boar's Head Meats. The rooms were adequate and the beds very comfortable. The front desk staff were wonderful and very helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is pretty good; convenient for the airport (10 min drive), easy to get down town as JFK metro station in just 2 mins away and takes just 10 mins on red line into centre, pretty quiet and good decor. It has a gym but it's quite small (just 2 treadmills and 1 eliptical exerciser + some resistance equip). Price was pretty reasonable for Boston. However the food options were really limited. I went out for dinner near by (cafe Polonia) but for breakfast the choice was from a mini-cafe all served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery. No buffet.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#47 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $109 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing