We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service by friendly hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff are very friendly and they put in every effort to make our stay wonderful. Marcel at the front desk stands out - he is just exceptional in providing great customer service and does everything with a genuine smile. He gave us the warm double tree cookies which are so delicious. The bartender makes really good drinks and is a pleasure to interact with. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to the airport and to nearby places which made it convenient for us. The train station is also a short 10 minutes walk from the hotel so moving around Boston was easy. We definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor have a good view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeisureTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September in a twin room facing away from the sea. Reception was efficient and polite despite dealing with some pretty difficult customers in front of us!

Our room was fine, your typical chain hotel, clean and tidy with comfortable beds, view of the highway in to Boston was a bit of a let down but we intended to be out all the time so made no difference to us.

The hotel is as others have said a bit out of it, but I found it easy to get to and from using either our hire car or the Boston transit system which was only a short walk away.

There are no places to eat nearby but using the car we found a lot of choice only 5 mins away. We also took a cab in to Boston one evening to eat at Ruth Chris as I didn't fancy driving at night!

Thought having to pay so much for the car parking was a bit off and was told its what Boston charges them.

So to sum up. OK hotel with little going on round it but easy to drive to and from, connect to down town with excellent transit system. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikealpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for six nights. This is my second stay at this property, and rooms were priced much more reasonably for this area on this last visit. The staff are very friendly and insist on helping guests with every type of problem. Morning in the Cafe is still a little cumbersome, but the Starbucks and freshly prepared breakfasts are tasty. Room are comfortable and quiet, well maintained, but just a little warmer than the thermostat indicates, so turn it down at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators! They are busy all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjackiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Situated just off i93 South, and adjacent to two massive car parks, this location is not pedestrian friendly. Rooms are on the small side, also, the location is under the flight path to Logan airport, so factor in noise. Speaking of noise, the A/C units are the old type units, wall mounted under the window and very loud.

The Market Place cafe, is self described as a 'limited service dining experience'. It is very, very basic and frustratingly disorganized. On two occasions, the wait exceeded 15 minutes for basic coffee and cereal. Most of the food is pre-prepped and not that appealing.

Gym is small, on the 2nd floor. Max weights are 30lbs, with 2 running machines.

Overall, if the main City hotels are sold out, then this hotel is a distant option.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The DoubleTree is a little tricky to get to but is in southern part of the city and is ok as hotels go. I chose this hotel due to my visit to Quincy, Hingham and Boston during my stay and in an effort to build up my Hilton Rewards but not thrilled that you must be Gold or above member to get free internet. I could have stayed elsewhere and gotten free internet.

Staff is nice, rooms clean, convenient on site food place with limited menu, but good for the business traveler like myself. Price was ok, not sure I would book again since I have to pay for internet, Im just getting to silver with HiltonHonors.

I find the internet issue an inconvenience that Hilton should consider revising since so many hotel chains offer free wifi. Heck, you can go to starbucks, panera and even mcdonalds for free wifi but not a hilton hotel unless you're a HiltonHonors gold member? Really??

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for three nights at the end of a tour of Canada and New England. Why the holiday company use the hotel is a mystery. The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere. This might not be such a problem if the hotel had a restaurant but it doesn't. All that it has is a small, fast food outlet that operates at a snail's pace. The breakfasts that I had there were poor too, there wasn't even any cereal on offer. The bar is no better either, it's tiny and we waited for over 5 minutes whilst the barkeeper chatted to another customer totally indifferent to the fact that there were customers waiting to be served. One of the waiting customers eventually asked the barkeeper if she would mind serving them. Not the efficient service that you usually associate with the U.S.A. If you haven't got your own transport then you will need to get a taxi to go into Boston (cost me $20 to get to Quincey Market) or go via the subway, which is situated reasonably close. The hotel rooms are fine and the staff helpful, it's just the terribly inconvenient location and the lack of a restaurant that make the hotel unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supernige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Pole, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us in Boston. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in our food options and that the quality of the items and service didn’t meet your expectations. At our property, we want to serve fresh, tasty dishes with the caring touches of home while maintaining a reasonably quick service. We work continually to improve our offerings, and your comments will help us to do so. We hope you’ll stay with us again to experience the quality service and stay you expect should you return the area in the future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed four nights at this hotel in Boston and found it to be an excellent choice. Not knowing Boston it was luck that we discovered this gem. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but it has a little express "cafe" where you can order light snacks, breakfasts and beverages to take to your room or eat in the little lobby dining area complete with televisions, tables and chairs. There is a small bar with stools in one corner and comfortable big wrap around chairs to sit in while waiting for cabs or while having a drink from the bar.
The rooms were a good size, clean and well appointed. The beds were wonderful, comfortable and large. The whole hotel was clean and well maintained with friendly staff who always greeted you when you met them in the lobby or in the hallways. The hotel is located near the walkway along the harbour for those who enjoy early morning jogs or just to meander along the water when time allows. The subway (UMass/JFK) is about a five minute walk and it takes about eight minutes to get downtown to Boston Common. We used the subway once and found it efficient and would have used it more often had we stayed longer. The hotel is located within walking distance of the John F. Kennedy Library and Museum but isn't really near any restaurants so we always ate downtown before returning to the hotel. That worked well for us as we were touring all day anyway. Cab fare from the hotel to downtown can range anywhere from $15 to $25 depending on the time of day and traffic times.
The desk staff offers you warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival and they are excellent. Denesia, the desk clerk that was on duty all four nights while we were there was wonderful. She was so willing to help out and had a wonderful sense of humour. She made our stay so much more enjoyable. We looked forward to seeing her smiling face when we walked in the door, tired after a day of walking and visiting historic sites.
If there was any complaint at all, I would say it was with the bartender at the lobby bar. He told us he'd been in Boston for 36 years yet, he didn't really understand English very well, or get our drink orders correct or even hear our orders when we placed them. He seemed disconnected from his clients and more interested in the sports on the TV's surrounding him. He made our experience at the bar during our first night so unenjoyable that we preferred to have our drinks downtown before returning by cab to the the hotel for the next three nights we were there.
For our purposes, this hotel was in an excellent location and the price range was reasonable. Location was close enough to the downtown area but not as expensive as the downtown hotels. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Boston. We would use Boston's very efficient subway system more the next time and we'd make more use of the harbour walkway. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor looking towards the water. Higher up on the other three floors would all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Allston / Brighton
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside

Address: 240 Mount Vernon Street at Bayside Center, Boston, MA 02125-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $87 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two miles from downtown Boston, our convenient hotel offers easy access to the subway just one block away as well as complimentary shuttle service to the airport, local area restaurants, the BCEC and Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. Enjoy comfortable accommodations in a standard guest room or upgrade to one of our suites. Grab a quick bite at the Marketplace Cafe and Take Away with premium deli meats and Starbucks coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club Boston Bayside Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston Bayside
Doubletree Boston
Doubletree Club Hotel Boston Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing