We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and very good value”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, and very good value”
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Having seen the sample photos on the website, I was expecting great things, and I wasn't disappointed.

The place isn't 5 star (and doesn't claim to be!), but it looked clean, comfortable and in a great location.

The Harborside lived up to my expectations, with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were very homely, and the comfortable bed ensured I always had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was also more than adequate.

The location was so good that I spent the whole week without needing a cab (except to and from the airport).

All in all, I had excellent value for the money I spent, and I'd have no hesitation in staying in the Harborside again.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MabGlyndwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    641
    158
    61
    53
See reviews for
133
782
101
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-Nov 2006. I chose the hotel partly based on the helpful reviews posted here; thanks to the reviewers for helping me make my choice!

Positives:
-- I had a huge room, beautifully decorated, with large bathroom.
-- I chose a room facing the interior atrium to avoid street noise and was very happy with that decision, as the room was very quiet both nights.
-- I requested and received early check-in, about 1 PM, without any problems whatsoever.
-- Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.
-- Service of the room was excellent; it was kept clean and serviced promptly each day.
-- This is a great location, convenient to the Quincy Market area (just a minute or so of walking). It is a short walk from the water taxi stop on Long Wharf and sits almost on top of the Aquarium (Blue Line) T stop. Numerous restaurants are nearby.
-- As a woman traveling alone, I felt safe walking around in the hotel neighborhood by myself at night.
-- The bed was extremely comfortable, and the reading lights were good.
-- There is a large, secured (locked) storage area for luggage, in case you need to arrive early or late.
-- There is free internet in the lobby.

Negatives:
-- The Aquarium T stop was closed for part of my stay (not the hotel's fault, of course!), but the Government Center and State stops are only about a 5-minute walk away as well. However, if it is critical for you to have the T stop right there, I would advise checking the MTBA website to see if any closures of the Aquarium stop are planned during your stay.

I was very pleased with this hotel and would happily stay here again. Thanks again to the earlier reviewers who helped me make the choice.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank velevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

I was in Boston for a weekend visit. to do some shopping. I travel quite a bit for pleasure and business. We were very disappointed with this hotel. It is in a good location, you can walk everywhere or take the T, but with that also comes the noise from VERY busy nightclubs on both sides of the hotel.

Our room looked nothing like the photos on the internet, we had a cityview room. There were very small windows with a ledge that hadn't been painted in years all the paint was chipped off on the floor. The bathroom was dirty, walls dirty, sink cracked, tub old. The floors were not clean, we pulled out the so called sofabed (it is a chair) and the sheets were dirty with crumbs etc. I called downstairs to get some clean sheets, they just dumped them on the bed when we were out, didn't even make the bed or take the dirty bedding away. It was just a very beat up room from the broken blinds, dirty curtains and smelled like stale smoke.

The photos on the internet showed large windows, nice large rooms and brick walls...ours looked NOTHING like the photos. Low ceilings, small, and very small windows.

It was loud at night with the nightclubs untill about 2am. If you want to stay somewhere relaxing and quiet this is not the hotel. I love to go out and we had a good dinner and drinks a couple doors down, the crowd at the bars next door were loud and rowdy.

I have stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the country and world, I will not return to this hotel even though it is a excellent location to see the city on foot! I will stay at the Marriott or another boutique hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty rooms, false advertising on website.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not expect much
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at this Beautiful hotel and was totally amazed at how well the rooms are layed out and the location of the Hotel to the many sights and sounds of Boston...Price wise it is almost 40% less than other hotels in the area...

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not too much
  • Tips/Secrets — have fun and enjoy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank josephmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Prime location surrounded by retail, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Rooms are spacious and clean.

Staff very friendly and attentive.

We did some shopping and found this hotel to be about $100 less per night than the other hotels in the area.

We look forward to returning because we learned that the hotel is under going a complete make over. The new owners are going modern with the decor which will be finished next spring.

Overall an excellent experience.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I stayed at the Harborside Inn for two nights. The location is perfect for seeing Boston. The rooms were big, and I think they are all suites. That is what I had. I am sold on the hotel. I have stayed at some of the other major hotels in downtown Boston, and this is by far a great place to stay. The small, cozy atmosphere of the lobby is welcoming. Best of all, the customer service was Excellent. The manager was on duty most of our stay and his positive attitude made our trip. Traveling all over the country, it is hard to get good customer service, but he was one of the best. What else is there to say, it was great!!!

  • Liked — customer service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sloanmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I spent a long time searching for hotels in Boston and this one just scraped in under our budget however now I have stayed there I think I may have actually paid more.
As soon as you walk in through the front door this hotel oozes character - literally 30 second walk from Quincy market so location also couldnt be better for the tourist. Front desk extremely friendly and efficient.
This hotel has option of atrium or city view rooms and in hindsight I may have payed the additional for a city view for a little extra light however the atrium was fine for us.
The whole hotel including our room was clean and tidy and everything we wanted.

  • Liked — Location and Character
  • Tips/Secrets — The hotel does do car parking for nominal fee but tell them when you book you need it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andy1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,580 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,031 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing