We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is funky and fun and in a great location for touring Boston and getting harbour ferries. We walked from the door to most of the sights, nice eating nearby, the bar area was being refurbished but looked very nice. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Loved the Harborside, can't believe it took all this time to find it. It has the perfect location and
the rooms were beautiful. We had a cabin in the basement, no windows, but huge and very
elegant. Gets too expensive in the summer, but from now on, I am staying there in the
winter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksnyder2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth stay here in the past 14 months. We can't say enough. Everyone is so friendly, the rooms are always clean. We have stayed in both atrium view and city view. Love having the added addition of the bar now. Such a quick walk to Fannuel Hall and the T station. Great for a weekend away without the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsoxfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, walking distance to so many places in Downtown Boston, but let down by a number of issues. A small room would be OK, but so small that I had to lean over the bed to walk past the end of it so I didn't hit my head on the TV is too small.

I left the room with the TV unplugged - when turned off it has a bright blue standby LED that is so bright that it makes it hard to sleep. The fridge was noisy, and the room was dark, even in the middle of the day.

Water Hammer whenever anyone near my room used water or flushed a toilet kept waking me, and no tea or coffee facilities in the room at all.

In summary, great location, but let down by tiny, dark, noisy rooms.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank FairButHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that I was afraid to let the cat out of the bag here -- but it was due to the positive reviews that we chose this hotel, so it's only fair to share! It's a GREAT place ... I won't repeat what others have said, but one thing I thought from reading reviews was that there was no place to park in front of the hotel -- which isn't true. You can pull up, check in and drop off your bags and then go park your car (since I had thought this wasn't possible, we drove right to garage and dragged our suitcases through the snow covered sidewalks as it was a big storm day!) No big deal, but for those that feel this is a con (not having valet parking) I'm not sure that they don't. I never asked, but there was someone at the desk waiting to help us with our bags. What I especially loved was the number of plugs throughout the room. You will have no problem charging all your devices -- each bedside table has them and they are scattered throughout. What an amazing feature -- last hotel I stayed in a few weeks ago I was on my hands and knees trying to unplug the clock so I could get my charger plugged in. Annoying.

Room Tip: We stayed in an atrium room -- which I would understand might bother people. We did not check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to spend a weekend going to the Quincy Marlket / Faneuil Hall area as well as going to the North End. This hotel's location was perfect for what we wanted. Basically steps away from Faneuil Hall and about an 8 minute walk to Hanover Street in the north end where, in my opinion, all the great dining is. The hotel itself is a great deal. The staff was professional and courteous.The room was small but clean and comfortable with exposed brick walls. The lounge is awesome. We will definetly stay here again!!

1  Thank Bosoxron
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This boutique hotel is in a prime spot - directly next to Faneuil hall - and is consistently lower priced than other Boston hotels. These two things made be book the hotel in the first place, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel is also very modern, trendy and fun inside. They also have a full bar downstairs with good drink and appetizer options. Have already booked the hotel for an upcoming stay.

No parking at the hotel, but the less than one mile walk from South Station and next to a T station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheByrdsTheWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,739 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 84 in Boston
8,033 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $125 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing