We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was a find: Decent rate, one block away from Quincy Market, short walk to the North End and to the Common in the other direction. Rooms (We had a City View) are basic, TV, refrigerator, nice comfortable queen bed, spotlessly clean. Saturday night, Bruins in town, pubs across the street were buzzing, so it got loud for a period of time. Check-in was easy, staff was always pleasant/helpful. Got food from Quincy Mkt, back to the room. Morning coffee from Starbucks on the first floor, a short two block walk gets you to Dunkin Donuts, if that's your preference. Parking is extra, at a garage a few blocks away, walked all weekend anyway. We did the Duck Tour this weekend, highly recommended on a nice day. Great weekend, like this hotel, will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    618
    150
    56
    49
See reviews for
128
745
95
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to take our first trip to Boston for a couple of nights, Thursday through Saturday. We wanted to stay near Boston attractions and It was a perfect place to stay. Located in the business district, it is a busy area during the week. It is a block from Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market and a 10 minute walk to the North end which has Paul Revere's house and LIttle Italy. The hotel is not fancy but it is clean and has a historical feel. The hallways have old brick walls and the doors have locks that use real keys. We had a city view room with a queen bed. It is a little noisy facing the street but not too bad. There is a Starbucks coffee bar on the first level and a Dunkin Donuts a block away. They do have a restaurant but we didn't eat there. The T train station is right ouside the door. The hotel does not have on site parking. They use a parking garage right around the corner that costs $28.80 per day with hotel validation. We walked everywhere. This hotel was not cheap but I would recommend staying here because it is clean and is in a great location. We loved Boston and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location particularly easy to find if you follow their directions. Car Park literally around the corner. Hip interior and funky bar and they mix a mean Martini. The hotel location so close to Quincy Market makes it a great base from which to explore this fabulous city.

Room Tip: The internal atrium rooms whilst spacious can be noisy with the A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Boston and I wanted to stay at a hotel that had the Bostonian feel. This hotel offered just that. I stayed in a city-view room with a queen size bed. It was very quaint with the brick exposed walls and a real key to unlock the door. The design is modern with classic Bostonian aesthetics such as the high windows and lantern style hanging light. The lights operate on a dimmer switch, which allows one to set the mood in the room. There is a refrigerator, DVD/VCR combo, flat screen TV, alarm clock, a table for two, and a stereo system. The bathroom has modern fixtures and tile fixtures.

In the hotel itself, there is a small business center, comfortable seating in the lobby, Starbucks, and in the evening a lounge that features a variety of specialized vodka drinks until 1AM. However, the down side is there is no breakfast service and no exercise facility. The hotel does provide a listing of places to grab breakfast. I didn't eat lunch or dinner from here, mainly because the lounge doesn't open until 5PM and the menu choices are limited. I chose to eat around town. For exercise, you'll have to walk around the downtown area or do a few laps across the street at Chris Columbus Park or on the long wharf.

A huge plus for me regarding this hotel is its location. It is across the street from the New England Aquarium and a block away from Feuneil Hall and Quincy Market. It is two blocks away from Little Italy and surrounded by taverns and pubs for good eats and drinks. Quincy Market has fresh fruits and a food court. Additionally, the "T" or subway is just outside the hotel door, which is spectacular for moving around the city.

NOTE: Save yourself the price of a $25.00 cab ride. Take the Airport Shuttle to the Airport station of the "T" and exit at Aquarium. Be sure to exit the station to State Street and make a left from the stairs or elevator and you're right at the hotel door. Cost of the "T" is about $2.00.

All in all, it was a great place to stay and I'd mostly like make this my first hotel of choice for any return visits to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british rover
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Situated within walking of downtown boston and the waterside, this hotel has location down to a pat. The rooms are not big, but reasonable, free wifi, no gym or other facilities. Breakfast is use of the cafe bar downstairs at extra charge. So no cooked options.

If you want an unfussy, friendly place to stay in boston no need to look further. It isn't cheap, but Boston isn't cheap. Equally you would spend a lot more for a full service hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here one night but it was clean, smelt new, high ceilings, brick walls. Like being in a movie. Not crowded at all so quiet and near Faneuil Hall, the Harbor, north end and most of the State and Federal buildings. The cleanliness impressed me, something new and different and out of the hotel ordinary. Expensive but competitive with surrounding chains.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

For a very last minute overnight stay to see the ROLLING RALLY for the Boston Red Sox I decided to try and avoid the traffic and stay the night before. Looking over many sites and wanting a reasonable rate I booked at the Harborside Inn. It is a small boutique hotel in an old warehouse. The exosed brick in places was a great to see. Adjacant to the hotel is the Harborside Lounge serving drinks and limited pub fare until 9:30 pm. Drinks till 1 am on the Friday. Starbucks is available 6 am till 3 pm at the full service kiosk. Free Internet. Room was a cityside room 4th floor. queen bed, nice bathroom, surround sound for music or tv. Staff was very helpful. Subway station outside the door. Fanuel Hall and the Auaruim are steps away. Check In was 3 pm. Checkout 12 noon.

Room Tip: In the cityside room we did hear some street noise. The atrium rooms are quieter but there is no tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#42 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,969 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing