We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Local Historic Sites and Sights”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful; the room was expensive, but not surprising for its big city location; mattress was comfortable; I think all guest rooms have only a Queen size bed, but I'm not positive because I am not on the website; location was walking distance to the subway (the T), which was just several steps outside the front door of the hotel; rooms were pleasantly appointed. The hotel has no restaurant nor a swimming pool nor any exercise facilities. A few doors to the right of the hotel is a small cook-to-order restaurant which is convenient for a quick breakfast, although not open on Saturday morning. Around the corner is a tavern/restaurant which had good service and a British pub ambience. We did not have a car in the city because we were with relatives who provided transport. The hotel is walking distance to Boston Harbor cruises, although we didn't have time to take advantage of a cruise, but we did take a short taxi ride to the USS Constitution in Boston Harbor, a historic treasure, and free to the public to visit the ship and the museum.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is conveniently placed and the room is lovely. It is a block away from the Quincy markets and just over the road to the harbor .Trolley tours is next door and the hop on hop off bus is great. They even left a Boston travel book in the room for you to read. It is right next to the metro as well.

Room Tip: Staff were good, but it might have been nice to have someone who could recommend tours etc. It didn...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at The Harborside for business for a few days. Check-in is not until 3, but we were able to check in early. The hotel is chic and in an area of downtown Boston that is right in the middle of all the things a tourist would be interested in! Within a block, all the shopping and food you could ask for. A "T" stop literally outside the front door. A street away from trolley tours and the docks where you can take boat cruises etc. The other hotels in the area are higher price so it makes this an easy choice.
The room itself is a little cozy BUT you have every amenity in a fridge, DVD, AM/FM CD player, safe, TV, nice closet with iron & board, alarm clock, comfy bed, HUGE mirror and the bathroom is luxury with tiled shower stall big enough for two. Hair dryer and plenty of lotions etc.
I am loving this place! Staying in Room 614

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeleo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was very pleased with the room and its facilities, fridge, iron, big TV and DVD player :-) The location for the Hotel is perfect. We took the subway from airport and straight to the Hotel, very easy. We could always get coffee in the lobby and an access to computers. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We got a room with a view over to the street/sea so we were lucky. The location to the Hotel was perfect for us, everything in an walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GudrunKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

For the price of this hotel, the location truly cannot be beat. It is a stone's throw away from Quincy Market (where you will find an awesome food hall and lots of shops) and just round the corner is the Trolley Tours where you can buy tickets to take the hop on/off trolley tour. The New England Aquarium is a few blocks away as well as the ferry where you can take the harbor cruise from.

The hotel does not have a grand porch/ lobby so be sure not to miss the entrance like we did. There's free wifi and computers in the lobby for guests to use. Plus free coffee round the clock.

We were given a corner room which had a huge bathroom (I think this room may be designated for handicapped guests hence the spacious bathroom). My parents' room had a standard sized bathroom which paled in comparison to ours. Only thing is that the bed is a little small for 2 adults and a toddler. Otherwise though it was a great place to stay and explore Boston from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gimme_a_holiday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have to say this was a great find. It is across the street from the water, near many bars and places to eat, a couple blocks from Quincy Market and in walking distance to the North End and Boston Common.The room was nice, very large by city standards. It was pretty clean (and I am very picky) and the bathroom shower was nice. The bed was comfy and the rooms were very quiet at night. We booked an atrium room and this was just fine. The parking garage they use is worth the discount, make sure to go there. The reason I did not give this place a five was no gym, no vending machine and the air vent in the room did make some weird clicky noise sometimes, however not enough to really bother me. They have just finished a bar/lounge on the lobby level which I think will be very nice when opened, I plan on staying here again the next time I come to Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopperhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

They called it a 'courtyard view' room, but really it was a dark room with bad lighting looking out on an air shaft behind the elevator. The air was thick with construction dust, in the lobby and in the rooms (the entire ventilation system). I found myself wandering around outside as long as possible so I would just fall asleep as fast as possible in that depressing room.

While I was gone, the maid took the zippered, tightly fitting allergy barrier pillowcase off the pillow and replace it with one of their standard hotel pillowcases. In ten years of traveling, this has never happened - because this pillowcase is so different from anything at a hotel. It is always just set aside, no problems. The front desk promised to ask housekeeping to look for it the next morning (it costs about $25, so it is not a little thing), saying they were leaving a note, no need to call again, but the next morning the front desk said no note, no idea what I was talking about.

As noted by other guests, there is always a garbage bag of garbage just sitting in the hall (?!) by the elevator.

The best thing about this hotel is its location, but there are lots of other hotels nearby to choose from.

Room Tip: Just stay away.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,633 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,321 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,728 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $194 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing