We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad”
Reviewed November 20, 2007

My girlfriend and I wanted to stay at a hotel
that was more personal then the large chain ones. We found Harborside Inn on the internet. The room was not at all like what was on their web site. The web has pictures of hardwood floors and brick wall in the room we slelected. Upon arrival we found out the Inn was still under construction and the room was not at all what we see on line. The location of the Inn is perfect. The employees were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean but had very poor lighting. The price was fair.

We would stay there again but this time we will have a more detailed talk the the front desk.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowrider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    641
    158
    61
    53
See reviews for
133
782
101
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

On our first visit to Boston, we wanted to have a location that was convenient and not too expensive. We selected the Harborside Inn located near Fanieul Hall. It looked like a great location and the price was very reasonable -- we paid about $159 per night (plus tax).

First, I should mention that the location is excellent. 2 minute walk to Faniuel Hall/Quincey Market, Boston Aquarium nearby (which we didn't visit), subway stop (The "T") literally right outside of the hotel (Aquarium stop) and a convenience store at the corner. Many sights were easily a 15 minute walk and anything further, we just hopped on the T. It was great.

The Harborside Inn offers 24 hour complimentary coffee & tea. They have 2 computers in their lobby with internet access hooked up to a printer and this was compimentary to hotel guests -- we found this very useful. The staff was extremely pleasant.

On the flipside, it's just an average hotel. The rooms were clean but small. The exposed brick and hardwood floors gave it a nice feel but they only had cheap miniblinds on the windows with no curtains. Although our room faced other rooms, I felt uncomfortable without curtains, that maybe people could see in. Also, although it was not a big deal, I noticed that the wall was partially unpainted and the bathroom & room door were not painted well (you could see white through the one coat of paint they put on). I know those are little things and honestly, not that important to me anyway (we were not in the room much) but the guest rooms have potential to be really nice and those things just made it seem a little sloppy. They were obviously remodeling becuase there was some work being done around the hotel so maybe they haven't gotten to the guest rooms yet.

Important note: There is no restaurant or room service at the hotel. This wasn't an issue for us since there is a convenince store nearby and also Quincey Market is very close and walkable for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Lastly, I think I read this in a review for this hotel before but I completely forgot about it until we arrived and it's really important. If you decide to stay at this hotel, be sure to ask for a quiet room on the upper floors in the back of the hotel. This is really important becuase there is a nightclub right next door. The first night, we did hear some music but we were so exhausted that I fell asleep anyway.

I would stay at this hotel again -- the price was right, rooms were clean, staff friendly and the location excellent. If you prefer a full service Marriott type hotel, this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No restaurant, nightclub next door
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston!
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Right from check-in, I knew this would be a great stay at a great hotel! The front desk clerk was extremely kind, funny, and very knowledgeable. Just from being in the lobby for a few minutes and seeing the interaction of the staff with the guests, they seem to do anything and everything to help you if you need it!

They were out of the room I had booked (city view) but upgraded us to a room with a bigger bed in it (not a problem for us at all!!) It was definitely newly renovated.. and it was absolutely GORGEOUS! We couldn't believe how nice it was, the bed was wicked comfortable, the tv was amazing.. overall, it was just a great experience.. I cannot wait to stay here again!!

  • Liked — Location, and the gorgeous newly renovated room!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scooby3482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

My business colleague and I stayed at the Harborside Inn in early November. From Check-in until Check-out everything exceeded out expectations. The desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. The location couldn't have been better....close to fanieul? hall, the aquarium/waterfront, and also just steps away from the North End. The room was very clean and the mattresses are the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Harborside Inn is the place to stay when visiting Boston.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

Funny, when I read "All rooms have one queen bed, hardwood floors, authentic oriental rugs and exposed brick wall." and see corroborating pictures on a hotel's website, I somehow expect to walk into my room and see the same! Not so during our November 2007 stay. We were advised that they had "renovated". We told them we weren't happy with the ugly typical motel looking room and that their website was false advertising and should be changed. We immediately got transferred to a room that looked more like the hardwood floored/brick walled pics on the website although still had the modern chairs rather than antique style. We were not impressed at having to deal with the hassle of all this after driving for 8 hours and being dog tired. Also the interior atrium rooms are hot, we had to have an air conditioner going all night in November. We could also hear lots of noise from the atrium several times during the first night which woke us up. The bathroom fan was gross with sucked in dirt and the spanner between the bathroom floor and the hardwood was too short leaving you with a big ugly subfloor viewing gap. The bed and pillows were very comfortable though and staff were pleasant and new towels were left for us on the door handle when we had the "do not disturb" sign up. The parking discount was great, from $43 down to $16 for the second day. I'd shop around next time but the hardwood and brick got me there the first time and if it's gone there's nothing really great compelling me to stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lorimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

The hotel's rooms look like they were recently renovated, with flat panel television, sleek modern bathroom, and lights with dimmers. The lobby seems like it missed the renovation, but maybe that's coming soon. We loved walking right to Faneuil Hall, the Common, and (most importantly) the great Italian food in the North End. The Big Dig served this hotel well (the raised freeway was once within spitting distance of the front door), and it's right above the Aquarium T stop, just a couple stops directly from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OtisDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2007, we had an atrium room and all was fine. The hotel is situated in a good location which is handy for most attractions in downtown Boston.
The room was comfortable and clean, staff on the front desk were very helpful, internet access in the lobby was a useful resource as was the coffee that was availble 24hrs a day.
overall tthe stay was a good experience and would recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,581 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,031 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing