We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in a dormitory”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Life in a dormitory”
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I stayed four night here in early April, 2006. The atmosphere was very institutional. The hallways and common areas were tired and dingy. It was depressing to enter into the hotel. It was like a bad college dorm. That said, my room was clean and reasonably spacious. As long as I stayed in the room and out of the common areas, I had no major complaints. In the case of this hotel, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    1,614
    852
    262
    113
See reviews for
1,153
803
276
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2006

Got to the hotel, not as close to center city as we expected but is a nice hotel. Our room had two full beds, instead of one king, but that worked out fine considering that my boyfriend is a snorer anyway lol. The view from our room was amazing, it was facing this gorgeous church and a waterway between us. It was great. The hotel staff was very nice but was unable to let us leave our car there for a few hours on checkout day. We ended up paying the hotel $20 to leave the car there until 5pm on checkout day. Not soo bad, just thought they would be able to do it as a courtesy considering the lot was half empty anyways. But overall we had a great trip, too bad the weather was awful (cold, about 35 degrees and rainy) but we made the best of it. :)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

I stayed at the hotel with my 14 year old daughter to visit my other daughter at Northeastern University.The staff was great / check in was a breeze. the room was nice and clean. the bathroom was a little small ,but clean. you can't beat the free parking . would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

I needed a cheap place to stay in the downtown Boston for a night, and took this off of Expedia. I did not expect luxury, nor does the hotel provide more than a clean, quiet room. But if that is the bargain that you want to make, then this hotel delivers well.

The hotel is located on the south side of the river, just south of the big Christian Science complex. It is within convenient walking distance of the T, and there are lots of stores in the area that can provide fast food, perscription meds, hardware, and small electronics. The cab in from the airport had trouble finding the street address at ten at night, so print a map before you come.

The staff is friendly and efficient: the concierge / porter in particular never failed to ask if I needed directions to where I was going. The room was huge (about 2X the size of a normal hotel room) but sparsely furnished and dark. I was on the back, away from the street, and it was reasonably quiet and free of glare from adjacent buildings and streets. No elevators, and dark hallways with a maze of room directions: make sure you know where you are going before you leave the desk. The bathroom was small but clean, hot water and pressure was good.

Stayed March 2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Great location, free parking, very helpful and nice staff. The coffee shop made a great breakfast with good coffee. Nothing fancy - Bed and pillows were ok - everything was clean. Would certainly stay here again. And if you're looking by chance for a Catholic Church, there's one two blocks away in Prudential Center (a big mall) Subway is also a block away. We arrived at 5:25 pm and were in our room by 5:30. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

The title says it all. I got in at 10:30pm and there were glue traps in the room. Being tired and hungry, I found a pizza place, then walked over to the Sheraton and Hilton across the street to see if I could book a room. $299 and $349 were a bit steeep, so I head back to my room at Midtown and the glue traps are magically gone. Well, this is a surprise as I had the Please Do Not Disturb thingy on the door.

Next morning I head off to Linux World Expo, have dinner with a friend and head back to the hotel. About an hour later oy little friend the mouse, scampers across the room.

Okay, the location is great. Right near a subway, easy to walk downtown or Fenway if you're into walking, but I'm staying someplace else next year.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hudson Valley, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2006

After reading reviews, we decided on Midtown mostly for its free parking. We booked a room for about $90 per night and were pleasantly surprised upon check-in. The place is nothing fancy, but suited us fine. The room was quite large, bigger than the one we'd had at our supposedly 3-star place in Plymouth, very clean, and included a coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the Back Bay area, within easy walking distance of the Prudential building, with its many stores, restaurants and T stop.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't have carte blanche on an expense account - it was easy to drive to, had a secure, free parking area, and was a great value!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
705 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,235 reviews
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing