We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Midtown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$360
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
$231
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$314
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$238
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$338
$296
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Boston Waterfront(Boston)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
$229
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
$354
$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,938)
Filter reviews
3,938 results
Traveler rating
841
1,756
936
281
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
841
1,756
936
281
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationprudential centersymphony hallnortheastern universityroom was cleangreen linewalking distancefenway parkwould stay againnew englandfront desk staffred sox gamet stationsubwayhuntingtonbayrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,554 - 3,559 of 3,938 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2006

I needed a cheap place to stay in the downtown Boston for a night, and took this off of Expedia. I did not expect luxury, nor does the hotel provide more than a clean, quiet room. But if that is the bargain that you want to make, then this hotel delivers well.

The hotel is located on the south side of the river, just south of the big Christian Science complex. It is within convenient walking distance of the T, and there are lots of stores in the area that can provide fast food, perscription meds, hardware, and small electronics. The cab in from the airport had trouble finding the street address at ten at night, so print a map before you come.

The staff is friendly and efficient: the concierge / porter in particular never failed to ask if I needed directions to where I was going. The room was huge (about 2X the size of a normal hotel room) but sparsely furnished and dark. I was on the back, away from the street, and it was reasonably quiet and free of glare from adjacent buildings and streets. No elevators, and dark hallways with a maze of room directions: make sure you know where you are going before you leave the desk. The bathroom was small but clean, hot water and pressure was good.

Stayed: March 2006
7  Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Great location, free parking, very helpful and nice staff. The coffee shop made a great breakfast with good coffee. Nothing fancy - Bed and pillows were ok - everything was clean. Would certainly stay here again. And if you're looking by chance for a Catholic Church, there's one two blocks away in Prudential Center (a big mall) Subway is also a block away. We arrived at 5:25 pm and were in our room by 5:30. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachlovers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

The title says it all. I got in at 10:30pm and there were glue traps in the room. Being tired and hungry, I found a pizza place, then walked over to the Sheraton and Hilton across the street to see if I could book a room. $299 and $349 were a bit steeep, so I head back to my room at Midtown and the glue traps are magically gone. Well, this is a surprise as I had the Please Do Not Disturb thingy on the door.

Next morning I head off to Linux World Expo, have dinner with a friend and head back to the hotel. About an hour later oy little friend the mouse, scampers across the room.

Okay, the location is great. Right near a subway, easy to walk downtown or Fenway if you're into walking, but I'm staying someplace else next year.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank AllanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

After reading reviews, we decided on Midtown mostly for its free parking. We booked a room for about $90 per night and were pleasantly surprised upon check-in. The place is nothing fancy, but suited us fine. The room was quite large, bigger than the one we'd had at our supposedly 3-star place in Plymouth, very clean, and included a coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the Back Bay area, within easy walking distance of the Prudential building, with its many stores, restaurants and T stop.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't have carte blanche on an expense account - it was easy to drive to, had a secure, free parking area, and was a great value!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cruisingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Small hotel, but reasonably clean, decent rooms, much cheaper than any other of the surrounding hotels. Free parking is a big bonus, but the ceiling entering the garage is low! Make sure you didn't tie anything to the roof of your car! This is a good place if you are visiting Boston to check out colleges, or visiting someone going to school in Boston. Very convenient to all the sites and colleges. Safe. Not much to eat in the hotel, but you can easily walk anywhere nearby for a meal. If you are coming from far away for a dream vacation to the USA or the Boston area, you should probably stay somewhere fancier. There are plenty of great hotels in this part of town.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonParisRomeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews