We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed October 24, 2005

If the three most important features of a city centre hotel are 'location, location, location', then head for the Midtown.
We liked:-
1. Location within walking distance of Copley Square, Prudential Building
2. On Trolley Bus Route
3. Large room with 2 chairs and table (but no desk)
4. Helpful concierge staff
5. Good price with parking included
We didn't like:-
1. Stingy with coffee making facilities (one coffee sachet - one coffee pouch, 2 sugars, 1 creamer sachet) per double room per day is downright mean !
We stayed for 2 nights and ate dinner at the Brasserie Jo (in the Colonnade Hotel just along Huntington Ave.) on the first night and at the Legal Sea Food (in Copley Place)on the second. Both were excellent and well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,690)
There are newer reviews for The Midtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,330 - 3,336 of 3,693 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2005

Enjoyed our stay very much.Clean and comfortable.Great location,especially for walking in Boston.Front desk v.helpful.Good breakfast at Thorntons,just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pearsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2005

This is an excellent, great value low-rise hotel that was a total pleasure to stay at. Staff could have not been more helpful. To be picky, the location wasn't great for evening dining options (unless you're under 25), and water in the bathroom could have been warmer, but overall this is super value, close to the T and very comfortable (and a great breakfast diner two minutes away, between the hotel and Prudential).

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johnnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Littleton, Colorado
16
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Stayed for four nights. The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful to us. The rooms were fine. Good deal and GREAT location.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2005

We tend not to stay in 4/5 star hotels in cities, because we never spend much time in our room, so we chose this hotel because it was very well positioned, and cheap. We were not disappointed. OK if you want luxury, this ain't it, but the room was huge, clean and absolutely fine. There is no restaurant (just an adjoining cafe) but with Copley Square and the Prudential Center just a 2-minute walk away (literally) who cares? We found a different place for breakfast every day and you can walk everywhere from this hotel, although if you don't want to, the Beantown Trolley Tours stop right outside, and there are two subway stops within a very short walk.
What's to complain about? If you want luxury, pay luxury prices, but if you want a good-value city hotel in an unrivalled position, you can't go wrong with the Midtown. No problems at all.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Frostycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

rooms was dark. Powerpoints were not working. Handy for the main sites. Cafe food was expensive and staff unhelpful. Would not recommend this hotel

Stayed: July 2005
2  Thank Britainabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2005

We stayed at the Midtown Hotel from August 27 until August 31.
We had a large, clean room. We had a really nice time, also we were close to all the atrractions.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
734 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $115 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing