We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel ,good location”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 28, 2013

we stayed at the midtown for three nights and were more than happy with it, the staff were very good and helpful as this was are first time in boston and we did not have a clue where to go for something to eat they steered us in the right direction several times.
the room we had was large with very comfortable beds ,room safe, towels were changed daily and suited are needs, personally i,m not to worried if the decor is a bit faded and the place might need updating (not that you would notice) the location and service is what counts and both were very good .the only drawback we found was there was no bar or restaurant ,but again it is only a five minute walk away from numerous bars and eateries . i would stay here again next time i am in boston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,914 - 2,920 of 3,744 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Location, location, location--if you need to be in Back Bay, especially for a convention at the Hynes or the Sheraton, this is a good option that is only two blocks away.

Positives -
Most employees were very helpful
Near Hynes convention center, Boston Symphony
Easy to get a cab
Good neighborhood
Pool (I guess, I didn't look for it)

Negatives -
Very dated rooms
No breakfast
No free wifi

All in all, it could have been a lot worse.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprillyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

looks a bit neglected outside but the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the staff are fantastic, one of the night receptionists went out of her way to suggest shops and restaurants and places of interest she provided maps and directions. the hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of Prudential Centre and about a mile from Fenway.Only complaint would be the wash basin was set between the bathroom and bedroom with no door and the light switch for the toilet switched on both lights, so disturbed sleeping friend in middle of night when i went to toilet. Altogether a little gem of a hotel with great staff and good location, will be going back.

Room Tip: try fora room where wash basin is in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

When the bus pulled up outside the midtown our heart sank it looked dirty and neglected but when we got inside it looked a lot better.The room we had was a good size if alittle dated but very clean.the staff were very nice and always pleasant the hotel is in a good location with the trolly bus stopping just up the road whitch takes you all round Boston for a set fare . Over all great staff great location let down by lack of investment in hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, good staff but don't come here for the peace and quiet.
We had school groups staying each of our five nights. One night the door slamming, hallway running and general yelling out was so bad we called the front desk twice at 10.30pm and again at 11.15pm. Noise eventually settled by 12.30am.
Staff were good in trying to chase up students, but I suspect they should have done more pre-planning and housed school group together in a wing away from other guests.
If you liked school camp carry on and being kept awake, then this hotel is for you. If not, look elsewhere until they get their act together!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownGM, General Manager at The Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. I would also like to apologize for the noise issues that you experienced during your stay. The hotel does at times host youth groups, with 99% of the students being very respectful of other guests. Additionally the hotel schedules additional staff on the nights with groups so that we can do our best to keep the noise to a minimum. Unfortunately regardless of our efforts during your stay the noise was unacceptable to you. I do hope that you will stay with us again should your travel needs bring you back to the Boston area. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance. - Todd Sankey, General Manager, tsankey@midtownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

You will get scared at first, the building looks old and neglected but it is clean. Our room was an average size and comfortable.

Location is perfect. It is great for shopping, very close to Prudential Centre and other streets with shops and restaurants.

The concierge was very friendly and helpful! But the receptionist was very impatient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had read the previous reviews on this hotel being in a time warp but I have to say for what we wanted it was perfect. Check in went well our room overlooked the side road and it was a great size, nice big windows and we were not disturbed by any noises and trust me I am a light sleeper. Comfy bed, extra pillows and blankets, nice bathroom with fluffy towels and toiletries, TV, coffee maker, fridge and a microwave oven what more could you ask for. It was a great location for Prudential Centre, Copley Square and shopping and within walking distance of Bolyston Street for restaurants. the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
751 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,420 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $110 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing