We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Based on reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. This is what we found. A no frills hotel with a great price. We paid $158 with tax and AAA rate. Parking for 29 hours was only $22 and was very conveniently located under the hotel. The lobby was small and certainly not plush like a Marriott, but that was not what we were looking for. Our room was large, #167 and clean. Bathroom was very clean (we always check right away). As for noise...I always travel with ear plugs and never hear a thing. But while in our room before going to sleep, I never heard banging pipes. The location was wonderful with only a short walk to the Prudential Center, Copley Square, and Northeastern University. The staff was terrific being both friendly and helpful. We forgot to pack toothpaste and received a small tube from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: #167 was large, clean and windows faced the parking lot, not Huntington Ave. You can hear a low hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dododoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,925 - 2,931 of 3,744 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

With only three days in Boston ,this hotel felt abit out of the way for just a stroll around .The hotels plumbing needs an upgrade very noisy to the point of frightening when the pipes start banging ,our toilet seat was loose so had to be careful when sitting ,quite embarrassing to hear the people in the next room .the bedrooms are quite small especially when you have two cases that need to be opened ,and we had to have a window open as the room got quite stuffy .The staff were quite helpful and friendly .The hotel is close to the underground and Prudential Mall for shopping .Lovely comfy beds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located right next to T subway system. My boyfriend and I were able to easily walk to and from Fenway park to see a Red Sox game. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. We didn't have any problems with sound. We also found multiple vending machines with good snacks at this :) .....definitely a good & affordable place to stay while in Boston

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hdmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel needs updating the walls are thin as you can hear the people in the next room having a shower also flushing the loo in the middle of the night. But I have to say the staff was very helpful and friendly and it is close to the underground train station.

Cambridgeshire UK

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Based on my due diligence (researching Boston hotels on TripAdvisor), this seemed like a good choice. The location was good and the rates were decent, and the reviews seemed to say it was basically OK. The positives are its location, easy to access parking, we had a nice view of the Christian Science Church, the room was larger than your typical hotel room these days. The staff was helpful when we asked for a recommendation for brunch.

Our room was facing Huntington Avenue. On our first night passing the desk, we overheard a conversation between the desk man and a customer. The gist of it was "we have turned off the A/C and heat because we're in between seasons, some customers want A/C and some want heat, and it will be cooling off tonight. Our air circulators are on." Fine, I thought, we'll turn on the air circulator, and open the window if necessary. Well, the HVAC was de-activated in our room. The noise from the street on a Friday night kept us awake as sirens, trucks and motorcycles went by. It was stuffy in the room, as this was a rather warm October stretch. Bad night/ poor sleep for all.

I have travelled the world and this is the first time I have ever encountered a hotel turning off their room HVAC. The customer then has no control whatsoever to make their room comfortable, and as a side benefit, have the HVAC mask the street noise that makes it through the closed windows.

When I complained the next morning, I was basically told the same schtick I overheard on the phone, ""we have turned off the A/C and heat because we're in between seasons, some customers want A/C and some want heat". Period. We were offered fans for the second night. We agreed to try them, so 2 large box fans were delivered. Then we had to unplug TVs etc to find open outlets for the fans. They helped a bit so that we were able to close the window before we went to "sleep", but I find that air conditioning is critical for comfort in a hotel room no matter what the season. It reduces humidity, gives the customer control over temperature (some of us like it colder than the ambient or outside temperature!) and masks outside noise.

I would not recommend staying at this hotel unless you know in advance that the room HVAC is working.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tastydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was not Brilliant but much better than some ive stayed in. The place was clean and comfortable slept well with no noise.
very good location wise in walking distance to the main attractions. No Resaurant in hotel but some good eating places nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eiluj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel, albeit conveniently located for most mid and downtown attractions, is like a throwback to the 60s! The décor, with its dirty brown carpet and chunky furniture, looked like Palmerston North (check out John Cleese's comments) in 1963. The whole place desperately needs a complete makeover. No restaurant and few facilities - but that doesn't stop them charging a relatively high price! The wifi is idiosyncratic - it has a character the hotel lacks!

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one not overlooking Huntington Ave and away from the ice machines - they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
751 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,421 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $109 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing