We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed September 27, 2013

An excellent choice in terms of location, and room size. Our "family" included my husband and myself, a great-nephew and a dog. All of us liked the hotel. We appreciated the safe parking as well as the nearby places to eat. The rooms are big and comfortable--not modern or fancy but this is a great price for this part of Boston; two couples could be very comfortable in the shared room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,980 - 2,986 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Positive points - clean, quiet, good location with the ability to walk to the centre
Negatives - paying for parking, no fridge, no free wifi, staff were not friendly, no real customer service, very transactional

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Big suites!

5 min walk into city of Boston.

Very helpful staff.

No restaurant - although this shouldn't be a problem as theres loads of eateries nearby. Thorntons on Huntington Ave is great for breakfast.

Overall, made a great start to the honeymoon.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am a budget traveler through and through. I never write scathing reviews and tolerate almost anything! But this hotel (REALLY A MOTEL) is from the distant past and has not modernized. I stayed one brief night and here's what happened:

They call a bellboy to go "check" if a room is clean and empty. They have no other way of knowing (?!). And they checked me into a room.

Fifteen minutes after I checked in, with keys and everything, paperwork filed, a guy comes in again to "check" if my room is clean and empty. It's not! I'm in it!

Okay all is fine until 3am when the fire alarm goes off and they insist on evacuating everyone for half an hr. I finally get back to sleep when at 9am I am awoken by the maid walking in, without knocking. At this point, I had the door double locked and had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door.

She apologized and said "Oh I'm sorry they told me you were leaving." It's 9am on a sunday and check out is at noon and the right response to a do not disturb sign is to just barge in w/o knocking?

Then I go to check out and the guy cannot find my reservation...says I wasn't checked in properly or something. I relay to him how I was walked in on twice in a 16 hr period combined with a fire alarm. I prepaid so I wasn't expecting a discount or anything, just a genuine apology. He seemed to not even care or realize how completely absurd an experience this is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jondysse l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package so out of choice I would have preferred a better hotel and paid a little more, however saying that the rooms were clean and comfortable. A little along the lines of a Holiday Inn, basic but you get what you pay for. We had a continental Breakfast included which was absolutely fine with plenty of choice help yourself buffet. A great location for putting a good pair of shoes on and walking around the city to see everything. Would recommend if you are on a budget, but personally wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great location that was not too complicated to reach by car. When arriving the first sign is at the end of the hotel but the entrance is by the second sign, further up the road.
Appreciated being able to park and just catch public transport or walk.
The Prudential Centre a few minutes up the road had a great foodcourt and lots of restaurants and free wifi.
The corridors are enormous and it takes a while to find the quickest route to your room.
Room was fine with 2 queen beds and small shower and toilet with separate basin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel back 2012, great location making it easy to walk to everywhere of interest in Boston. Lovely staff who were extemely helpful. The hotel has trolley bus stops near by and train station is close too. Bars shops and restaurants close to hotel. A very reasonably priced place- well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastille14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 84 in Boston
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $92 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing