We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, professional, friendly hotel”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at midtown and thought it was great value, well located (close to metro, a mall and food places), and the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. Would return on a heartbeat! The pool area was pretty awesome too!! Not sure if its just us but taxis seem real cheap to, $15 from train station and $20 to airport!

1  Thank SarahCar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,057 - 3,063 of 3,818 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Owned by the local church and stuck in a time warp. Decoration is old and the whole hotel has seen better times. Having said that it is clean, the beds are comfortable and everything functioned. The bedroom we had was very dark with just one small window. Coffe and tea making machine in room, but no fridge. The hotel has no bar or restaurant, just a vending machine. It does have a fee payable car park. There is a very good Mall within short walking distance with a good choice of restaurants, fast food outlets, shops etc

Room Tip: Bedrooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent three nights here to re-visit Boston after 25 years... and attend Harvard University Commencement Day an other time. Very convenient location with excellent access to public transportation and at walking distance from nearby shopping areas and cafe/restaurants of Copley square. Old but comfortable and big rooms: clean and well maintained with excellent beds. Very friendly and available front desk staff. Access to the elevator from the front desk could be made easier with a ramp. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while on a fly drive tour in New England. The hotel was in a very convenient location for the airport and down town shopping. However we were disappointed with our room and we thought it was in need of updating. The room also had no wifi and no fridge or microwave.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights in May, a good hotel which is close to the Prudential Centre - plenty of shops and a food court. It is a basic hotel but it is clean. We were also able to get a mini fridge in our room for just $5 a night. We caught the Bean Town Trolley Tour around Boston and it stops right out the front of the hotel which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_S_Aus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I had traveled to Boston for a little vacation. We were on a budget and wanted to spend as little on a hotel as possible ti save money for other things (dinner, aquarium, duck tour, etc) and the price of this hotel was on point. The hotel itself looks to be pretty old, but the rooms were very clean and well kept. The TV was also nice (a flat screen). The hallways could use a bit more lighting though. The bathroom was very clean which is VERY important.

As for the location you could not ask for more. It is located right near the prudental center tower, boylston st and newbury st. There is a T stop a stones throw away on the corner which makes the city VERY accessible to any location you are trying to get to.

The staff had to have been the highlight of this hotel and without them this hotel would be below average. Upon checking in we were greeted by Shane who could not have been friendlier or more helpful. He checked us in quickly (which was nice as we had been traveling with the kids all day) and without even asking he had pulled out a map of Boston had had highlighted probably about 20 attractions in the city. Being first timers to Boston this was so delightful and had followed his suggestions and could not have been happier.He was like a personal tour guide. It was a nice mix of things for the kids as well us my husband and I. Not only did he point out all the good attractions, he even had GREAT restaurant suggestions for each night we were there. As far as getting to these places it was very easy especially with the help or Mark who seems to know Boston like nobody else. Every time we walked in or out of the hotel we were acknowledged by these two gentlemen who are simply great ambassadors for this hotel.

Overall we had an amazing trip to Boston a lot of history in this city. The hotel served its purpose and made for a great home base. I would definitely suggest this hotel to any family going to Boston. Kudos to the staff who made us feel whom made us feel like VIPs and to the house keepers who do an amazing job as well. Oh also the hotel has an outdoor pool as well, but it was closed when we went due to the weather. Thank you to the Midtown, Shane and Mark

Room Tip: Ask the staff for suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Not good location for us but that was our fault. Close to green and orange line hotel. Front desk guys were great. Room was small, hotel is a little confusing. Very dated decor. Bathroom tub was clogged with hair and elevator was dirty and not cleaned the three days we were there. I'd say spend a few extra bucks for something nicer

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtwilson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 84 in Boston
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $115 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends convenience and comfort with affordability. This moderately priced limited service hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing