We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not that great a value”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Orange County
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Adequate but not that great a value”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I chose this hotel looking for value and location. I later found that I could have stayed at much nicer hotels with better locations for only a bit more, so I do not feel overall that the savings was worth it. On the positive side, the heat works well, the room and bathroom are clean, the desk staff is friendly, and the mattress is comfortable. Copely square is a 10 minute walk one direction and the Boston Museum of Fine Arts (spectacular) is 15 minutes the other direction. The street view of the Christian Science Temple is pleasant. On the negative side, the internet connection in my room was sketchy, that is, not working most of the time. I was told to go into the hallway to make the connection, then walk back into my room, or use the lobby. There is an extra per day charge for internet, but that was credited after I discussed the problem. But I would not choose to stay at a hotel which did not have good internet connection in my room. The sheets are worn, discolored and even have some small tears. If you want sheets changed, you must call to request it. The lobby is small, drab and bare; the hallway carpets are old and worn; and the elevator was broken. The fan when you want heat is quite loud during the night. The overall appearance is more of a 60's motel than what you might expect of a city hotel.

Room Tip: Street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    1,586
    832
    258
    113
See reviews for
1,133
789
270
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Midtown is a great alternative to the expensive hotels in the area. It is also an easy walk to the Convention Center, to Copley Square, and to the Museum of Fine Arts. The room was surprisingly spacious & the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. They let us store our bags on our last day in Boston, which was a real benefit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magmack842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a really enjoyable stay at the Midtown Hotel. After staying in a closet size room in NY it was so great to stay in a room that was clean, warm and spacious. Beds and pillows were comfortable and we slept well for the duration of our stay. The water pressure and temperature were the best we've had in weeks. Cleaners are meticulous and did an outstanding job everyday. I would highly recommend this hotel and its staff to everyone. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monzie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed again During Febuary and the Snow Storm,as before There were no problems...wifi was a bonus as i was there a extra day with Nemo.Mark,Kevin,Shane and Rob were very helpful as were all the other staff.Free safe depoist Boxes if you need them And If you need to get back to Logan they will arrange it ($20) cheaper than a taxi.Located Very Nr Boylston St and all The Cafes etc you need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the minute I walked in I was greeted courteously, all my bags were taken to my room and the heat was turned on. I was provided with all types of assistance from restaurants to things to do. They made sure that my stay was pleasurable. Security made a clear presence around the hotel which was good to see.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a an 'authentic retro' hotel, ie. it hasn't changed since its original build in the 70's. It's admittedly not the most attractive hotel, but it has its own charm.
It was central (5 min walk from the Prudential Centre, 10 mins from Copley Square), the staff were attentive, it was clean, the heating worked and it was great value for Boston. I would stay there again with no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank wotaburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
691 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,160 reviews
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing