We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well to start off my flight didint land until 11 at night so after a long day and finally arriving at the hotel, I was greeted by an extremely friendly staff. I had no problems checking in and got to my room very quickly. The room was very large and comfortable. You would never be able to tell that it was in the 20's outside. The room was warm and quiet and made for an excellent nights stay. I love the location of this hotel. Just a skip from the Prudential Center and surrounded by various T stations makes navigating the entire city easy for even a good ole country boy. I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who travels to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    1,614
    852
    262
    113
See reviews for
1,153
803
276
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is under 'Friends' as we have to tick a box to submit the review and there is no really appropriate box! We were intending to stay for two nights at this hotel but then had to stay for longer as Hurricane Sandy hit New York. We had a party of 59 (13-16yrs) pupils and 20 staff and parents. We could not have asked for a better level of service or hospitality. The hotel staff were exceedingly welcoming. We have returned home and the chatter amongst the children and parents is wonderfully positive. The warmth towards The Midtown Hotel is great. The staff could not have been more obliging or friendly. The way that they coped with the uncertainty of our movements from day to day through ‘Sandy’ and having such a group spread round the hotel was most impressive. Everyone was treated with respect. From the moment we arrived we were surrounded by positivity and the efficiency of the initial check-in was the best we have experienced in 25 years of globe-trotting with parties of pupils. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable (some staff thought about checking where the mattresses and pillows came from!) and well appointed. Little things, like a coffee and tea maker with an unlimited supply in each room make a difference. Security was never in question. The proximity of a range of places to eat made all meals easy to manage, even for so many. The entrance to the 'Symphony' underground stop can be seen from the front of the hotel and is only a 2 minute walk without even having to cross a road: it was easy to use even with a large party. This gives simple access to all areas of Boston. The upmarket shopping mall, the Prudential Centre, is across the road within a 3 minute walk. I wish to commend this hotel highly and thoroughly recommend it for group stays and know it met the needs of individual travellers who were there at the same time. Splendid!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room looking onto main road. Very quite,clean and roomy. Stayed for three nights as part of a tour. Staff on front desk could not have been more helpful or freindly. Yes the hotel needs updating but if the beds & rooms & bathroom are clean and staff are welcoming what more do you want. You do not need a resturant or bar as everything you need is so close to hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked onto main road which was bright and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at The Midtown Hotel end Oct and was very impressed. Yes ... Decor is a little dated - but the location was excellent, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the beds were so comfortable. Nice size rooms, very clean and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winwick, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here this month as the start of our tour. The hotel is well placed for visiting Boston. There are two subway stops within 5-10 minute walk. The Prudential centre is close by which is ideal as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.

The accommodation was ok, bed was comfortable and the water hot, but the hotel is in need of refurbishment. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for three nights during an organised tour. Position of the Midtown is very good for exploring Boston - in any direction. Quite a big hotel in terms of room number, but built "horizontally" rather than vertically as is more common in Boston, so some long walks from one end of the hotel to the other...
Good size room, clean, comfortable, but still some background smell of cigarettes despite being non-smoking now. Very helpful front desk staff.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back but better views at the front.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My son and I stayed overnight at The Midtown this summer while passing through Boston. We weren't looking to spend the astronomical prices of the nearby hotels but were looking for something clean and a good location. Our room was very large and the beds were so comfortable. The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and the concierge went out of his way to make sure we had all the information we needed for a day of sightseeing. This hotel is a block from the Prudential Center and Copley Place Mall where there are great restaurants and shops. We were even able to catch the Duck Tour from there. We are looking forward to staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
705 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,236 reviews
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing