We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Midtown Hotel Boston”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Midtown Hotel Boston”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel is well sited, if walking is your game you can reach Quincy Market with 25/30 min,it is an enjoyable walk.
The Hotel does not have a restaurant or Bar.
The room was large enough but in need of redecoration, the air con grill needed a clean and some of the wall paper was begining to peel at seams.Plenty of places to put your clothes
The Bed was comfortable and clean
Shower is over Bath with curtain, worked fine.
Usual noise of people returning to rooms
Our room looked over rear car park
Would I stay here again?, yes I would, if you are expecting 5 star luxury,do not book

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bispu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    1,615
    852
    262
    113
See reviews for
1,153
804
276
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel. Check in was quick and the receptionist was so helpful in showing us in a map what we needed to see as it was our first trip to Boston. Concierge was very friendly also and helpful in booking tours. Hotel is central and u have sub stations either side of hotel. Great food court in the prudential centre. Accommodation was great. Overlooking the street and each afternoon room was cleaned and refreshed. One downfall was that there was no restaurant within but up de street you have lots of options and within you have vending machines.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of US tour Oct 9th-11th. Very disappointing, small room overlooking backyard, bathroom cramped with only sliding door and no ventilation. Plumbing suspect.Staff not particularly accomodating. Compared very poorly with other hotels used in Falmouth and North Conway.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking pool eg 154 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaptraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

OCALA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location for Boston. Run downed. Needs refreshed. Stayed 2 different times in a 30 day period. 1st stay, had respiratory problems in room. Refused to switch my room. 2nd stay, room reeked of cigarettes. Said smoking not allowed in motel. Sprayed so much freshner, had to open window. Smell returned. Staff refused to switch room. They couldn't smell a thing. Stayed 3 nights with acute headache. Head mechanical person has a very bad anger issue. Seen him "scream" at bus load of customers who were unloading. Made statement "he didn't care WHO they were, he wanted bus to move away, so a single car could move. Should have waited in my opinion. Manager was apologetic, but did nothing. Needs some money invested in it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touringbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed there for three nights, we choose it for its location and compared to other hotels in the area the price was affordable. When we checked in the Front Desk Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, immediately offered to make a reservation in a restaurant for dinner, offered a map, and look for other information we needed, but as we walk to our room, what a disappointment... the halls are dark, dirty, noisy, the room is big but also gloomy and gives you the impression of unclean, although I must say the bathroom was clean. It needs a huge renovation! The price as I said was reasonable for the area, but not cheap, I would have expected more quality for what I paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. Room was very clean and quiet. Location of this Hotel for the price is a total bargain in Boston. General Manager was very professional and very friendly. Front Desk personnel were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever experienced. Highly recommend this hotel when staying in Boston. Close to Fenway Park and the T-stop.....can literally get anywhere in the city with great ease.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel as an inclusive part of a USA tour.

Location is good and that's about it. No food or drink available. Dowdy room. T.V. not working. Light bulbs not replaced.. Room not well serviced by chambermaid. One section of hotel apparently occupied by long-term student redidents. Do not know other Boston hotels but there must be better than this ghastly place.

Room Tip: Cannot do this
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBB1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
707 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,241 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing