We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Rare Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here after reading reviews and I'm so glad I did. First things first - this is a historic building in the heart of downtown Boston. The architecture of the building is a special treat and the detail is carried out throughout the property. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with attention to detail and large beautiful windows that afford a great view, often on two sides of the building. The service was fabulous and I can't say enough about the excellent location - I took a cab in and walked everywhere during the week. There are also many cute pubs and restaurants close by. I will definitely stay again if I return to Boston. Also, don't miss going up to the observation deck for an incredible evening view...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    184
    13
    14
    12
See reviews for
315
255
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location to the subway and right next to Long Wharf, Faneuil Hall, and Quincy Market (100+ restaurants). We really enjoyed the Copley Area and Newbury Street which is a short subway ride...

The Customs House has incredible views and great staff! Try for room 1802 as it has city and harbor views.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recently stayed at the Custom House, I am very glad I booked here and I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable. The location is ideal: near the waterfront, next to Faneuil Hall and the North End. When I checked in, there was an issue about parking and check-out time as I was going to a game at TD Garden and couldn't get back by the noontime valet parking deadline. The hotel staff worked diligently in my favor and were happy to make my stay a great one. They resolved my concerns and were pleasant and accommodating.
It was a great stay! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautiful and unique Marriott. Villas are very private, comfortable, yet classy, well appointed and clean. We couldn't get enough of the game room...wish all hotels had them. Only minus was the ala carte breakfast, but Dunkin just a block away. Winter rates great incentive.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippedout1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel, and it was great. We were in town for a Bruins game and decided to make it a night out even though we could've driven home.

Check-in was quick and smooth. The man at the front desk was friendly and helpful, offering up directions to the Garden and other local attractions.

Our room was on the 5th floor, facing the water. It's about roof-level to the building next to it, so you could still see the water. Room was well kept, and much larger than I was expecting it to be. It didn't have a full kitchen, but a sink, fridge, microwave, dishes, blender, and toaster. The bed was comfy, my husband slept like a rock.

We didn't have a chace to go up to the observation deck or poke around areas of the hotel, but they had signs everywhere explaining historical aspects of the hotel and what you could see in each view.

Check-out was just as seamless as checking in. The woman at the front desk was also friendly, and helped us quickly check-out and be on our way.

This hotel is perfectly located. It is right next to the Black Rose, and a quick walk to Fanueil Hall. It's about a .75 mile walk to TD Garden, so it's perfect if you come into the city and don't want to worry about a car. Despite it being winter, the walking isn't bad!

We definintely plan on staying here the next time we decided to stay in the city, and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeviTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We truly appreciate your five-star review! Our team is happy to hear your first visit exceeded your expectations at Marriott’s Custom house. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We are time-share owners @ the Custom House in Boston but had never stayed here (LOL).
We finally made it here last October (2013) and just loved the place. The rooms are very spacious but virtually all (if not ALL) are just one-bedroom. The locations is simply not to be believed - it is the HEART of historic Boston & virtually anything you want to see is walking distance. No cabs needed 99% of the time. In all fairness - the breakfast options are NOT impressive but it beats going hungry. They really could stand to improve their food options but it's certainly not a "deal-breaker". The Staff was VERY frienfly & helpful @ all times - as was the Valet staff. Parking isn't cheap but there is no cheap parking in Dwtn Boston. We stayed for 7 days!

Room Tip: Ask for a High floor with Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrmojo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we are thrilled to read your five-star review! We are excited to hear your first stay exceeded your expectations and look forward to many more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay here in the middle of winter. We stayed on the night of a major snow storm. With the big windows and comfy couch and bed, we enjoyed the whole experience. Great place in downtown to get away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Marriott’s Custom House! We are thrilled you had an excellent time with us even in the middle of a snow storm. Our team looks forward to your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,950 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Sq, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing