We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“So Glad I Changed My Mind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So Glad I Changed My Mind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Pros: Location, Views, Spacious, Activities, Great Staff, History
Cons: Pricey (but worth it), No Pool, I Only Booked One Night

I am not a timeshare or vacation club purchasing kind of guy, but this place may just change me!

First the cons: No pool? Who cares! With everything to see and do in Boston and the other activities available in the hotel, you don't have time to swim! Pricey? If you can afford the hotel, pay the price, it is worth it! Don't stay one night, because you will not be ready to leave.

I was in town for business and pleasure and had an open night. We wanted to tour around downtown and with two young children, did not want to walk further than necessary. So something close to the Freedom Trail was desirable. Originally we chose a hotel in the Seaport area as it was considerably less expensive, but after looking at this place, I decided to switch and WOW am I glad I did!

We arrived around noon, well before check in, and were told our room was not ready. That was to be expected as check in is at 4:00; however, the other person working at the desk jumped on the computer and quickly found us another room on the 11th floor. We were blown away with the room. The furnishings were beautiful and looked brand new, the enormous windows stretched to the very high ceilings, letting in tons of light and providing beautiful views to the East and South. We didn't want to leave the room!

On the 26th floor, the open air observation deck provided beautiful views of the city. In the morning I returned and watched sunrise, which I highly recommend, this must be the best place in Boston to see the city. On the 24th floor, there is a game room, this was not what I expected. I hear game room and I think of a small room with a few dated video games, wrong! This floor had air hockey and a pool table as well as checkers, chess, backgammon. It also provided wonderful views of the city and an education on the workings of the clock tower. You can see the clock in operation and look behind the clock face. My kids loved this space!

After touring the town, our room was a wonderful place to come home to, and it really felt like home. The room was quiet and comfortable and the uniqueness of the rooms made the experience special.

In the morning I noticed that the hotel provided kids activities, so we went to the front desk where my kids received kits to make airplanes. This kept them busy as we packed up in order to check out by 11:00. As we were checking out, a staff member told us to wait as she had something for the kids. A moment later she returned with a stuffed animal lobster for each of them, this made their day!

Thank you Custom House! We will return and will stay longer next time!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is so unique, that I don't think you could have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The007Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    178
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
286
235
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent a week at the Custom House. The location is fantastic. It is close to almost everything. The accommodations are very nice and the views from the rooms over looking Boston are beautiful. The front desk and concierge folks are very friendly and helpful. We were there as time share owners, but our room was serviced (trash and towels) daily , which was a nice touch as most timeshare properties only serviced the room once during your stay. Loved the building and it's history. If you can stay at the Custom House you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YumanLuvz2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This excellent hotel is within a historic landmark building in a great location in central Boston. We struggled to find a room for 3 adults with a degree of privacy, this hotel was absolutely ideal with a separate bedroom and lounge area with a queen sofa bed. Housekeeping was efficient and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We had a lovely stay here.
The only slight negative is the breakfast. This is a very meagre affair with boxed cereal, juice and bread/pasties. These are all charged by the item. I’m sure they could offer something better and more imaginative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wife and grandkids stayed at this property after a few nights in Salem. Hotel was extremely expensive, and with parking, over $400 for the night. However hotel room was very, very nice, with the exception of the sofa bed, for this price it should have been much classier. Dinette area was much waste of space, and really useless unless you would be staying for an extended period of time, but then again at their rate, very expensive to do so. Property was extremely beautiful, safe, and well kept. Very convenient to the area sights and easily within walking distances. Would only stay here again if cost were not an issue.

Room Tip: All rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, would try for reduction in price via coupons, etc. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently stayed in Boston for the Head of the Charles Regatta in October. The hotel was in the perfect location, walking distance to all the sites, near the North End, and right next to the subway station. The room was large, including a kitchenette, living area, and separate bedroom. The concierge (Karen) was very helpful, offering tips on traveling on the subway system. The bartender (David) was charming and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redridinhood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Columbas day weekend. We had a beautiful suite with sitting room, dining area, and kitchenette, a large bathroom, and lovely, large bedroom. Our room on the 10th floor did not overlook the harbor, but still had a breathtaking view. The rooms seem newly decorated and fairly luxurious, although the bathrooms are just average (no robes, no separate shower). The kitchenette has a full-size coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hotel is perfectly located close to the waterfront, little Italy, and the Freedom Trail sites, as well as a pedestrian shopping and dining area. The customs house is a historic building that was the tallest building in Boston. It has a wonderful observation deck with fantastic views of Boston. Additionally, they offer free entertainment in the evenings and a nice continental buffet breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was not free, but it was fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has a great location, great staff, great service & great views of Boston!

We have just spent 3 nights there for the start of our New England tour for my boyfriends 25th birthday and the service we received was faultless. The front desk staff & concierge were great at booking tickets, recommending things.

The breakfast is simple, continental style but very reasonable at $2-$4 per item (plus tax) so breakfast for the stay was only $24 for the two of us. Not bad!

Would stay here time and time again!

Room Tip: Higher floors would give awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,994 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Sq, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic Downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with King Sized Beds with Sofabeds. The Resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing