We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly, but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Shamokin, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Costly, but very nice”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wife and grandkids stayed at this property after a few nights in Salem. Hotel was extremely expensive, and with parking, over $400 for the night. However hotel room was very, very nice, with the exception of the sofa bed, for this price it should have been much classier. Dinette area was much waste of space, and really useless unless you would be staying for an extended period of time, but then again at their rate, very expensive to do so. Property was extremely beautiful, safe, and well kept. Very convenient to the area sights and easily within walking distances. Would only stay here again if cost were not an issue.

Room Tip: All rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, would try for reduction in price via coupons, etc. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    186
    14
    14
    12
See reviews for
324
262
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently stayed in Boston for the Head of the Charles Regatta in October. The hotel was in the perfect location, walking distance to all the sites, near the North End, and right next to the subway station. The room was large, including a kitchenette, living area, and separate bedroom. The concierge (Karen) was very helpful, offering tips on traveling on the subway system. The bartender (David) was charming and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redridinhood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Columbas day weekend. We had a beautiful suite with sitting room, dining area, and kitchenette, a large bathroom, and lovely, large bedroom. Our room on the 10th floor did not overlook the harbor, but still had a breathtaking view. The rooms seem newly decorated and fairly luxurious, although the bathrooms are just average (no robes, no separate shower). The kitchenette has a full-size coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hotel is perfectly located close to the waterfront, little Italy, and the Freedom Trail sites, as well as a pedestrian shopping and dining area. The customs house is a historic building that was the tallest building in Boston. It has a wonderful observation deck with fantastic views of Boston. Additionally, they offer free entertainment in the evenings and a nice continental buffet breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was not free, but it was fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has a great location, great staff, great service & great views of Boston!

We have just spent 3 nights there for the start of our New England tour for my boyfriends 25th birthday and the service we received was faultless. The front desk staff & concierge were great at booking tickets, recommending things.

The breakfast is simple, continental style but very reasonable at $2-$4 per item (plus tax) so breakfast for the stay was only $24 for the two of us. Not bad!

Would stay here time and time again!

Room Tip: Higher floors would give awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Marriott’s Custom House is probably the most unique hotel in their chain and definitely the most historic. Really part of their Vacation Club Properties so it doesn’t have a restaurant on site but there is a very nice bar. Activities are planned daily but I doubt if you will be participating as this is in the very middle of all the great spots in Boston. Steps away from the Freedom Trail and the Aquarium and Quincy Market and so many other great spots.
When you arrive you are immediately greeted and welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff and they are all very knowledgeable about the area and are always asking to help, when I asked the Valet where the car rental place was he didn’t just tell me he walked me half way there until I could see it!
The rooms are large enough and very nicely appointed and one nice feature was that I could get fresh cool air by opening a window and we were on the 18th floor. These rooms have small kitchenettes with utensils and glasses but again I doubt if you will ever eat in the room.
The very best spot in Boston to see the area is from the observation deck on the top floor that goes completely around the building and there is a small table and chairs on the deck that was perfect for our morning coffee. There is also a game-room with a pool table and table games and a great look at the mechanism that runs the clock in the tower.
There are cheaper places to stay in Boston but no place can offer all that The Custom House does and we are looking forward to our trip back!

Room Tip: High room floors have a great view, 1802 had a view of the harbor and the city, GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a great location in such a beautiful building! We had a snafu with my reservation, which somehow got cancelled prior to my arrival due to a computer glitch I'm told. Pretty sure that the very patient and tactful front desk attendant saw crazy in my eyes because she and her co-worker got right down to fixing that! I took my tired kids to the aquarium and we had a great room within a few hours.

This place is convenient to pretty much everything that matters in Boston: Quincy Market, Aquarium, Harbor, Trolley tours, Freedom trail, the Commons, the Public Gardens, Back Bay, the Charles. 1/2 hour T ride to the Arboretum which can't be beat for a day to let the kids run free in an idyllic setting (and it's free!). Bring your camera people, this is one of the best kept secrets in Boston. Don't rent a car, you won't need it. But, Boston is a walking city, bring appropriate shoes for all.
The Hotel itself has a great and reasonably priced breakfast in the counting room. The observation deck is amazing. The staff is perfectly professional and happy to help you with pretty much anything. Basics at the convenience store across the street. The DVD player has a USB connector so special cartoons and movies can be loaded for the little ones. The suite is a smallish (room 802) living room/dining/kitchenette with a pull out couch. The sofa bed is a torture chamber for an adult, but works okay for little kids. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, king bed, closet, bureau, tv. The kitchenette has a toaster, coffee maker (buy some real coffee at Starbucks in Quincy Market to use), microwave, small sink and a small fridge. For me, this was the only draw back. I am spoiled and like having a real kitchen when traveling with kids, but you can't win every time, right?

Everything considered, you simply can't do better for a family stay in Boston where space is such a premium. Comfy and historic without being stuffy. Very cool place.

Room Tip: Go high if possible. We were on the 8th, and heard the bars, but it didn't bother us, more amus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryeyezMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've stayed at the Marriott Custom House via timeshare probably six times now over the years. Fantastic location a stone's throw (literally) from wonderful shopping and Quincy Hall food court. You could not get a more convenient location.
Near the water, you can easily walk to the Boston Harbor and take a hop on/off bus, Duck Tour, etc. The Aquarium blue line subway ("T") stop is probably 100 feet from the hotel entrance, if that. There is a small convenient market there, too. Easily accessible to the airport, the Aquarium subway also had an elevator, so you don't have to manhandle luggage down the stairs. Boston is very walkable, and getting downtown from here is pretty straightforward, if you don't mind walking. You can also use the T to get virtually anywhere.
Besides the historical aspect, as others mentioned, the facility itself is top-notch. Incredibly clean, quiet, and always well-staffed with polite and attentive people. The rooms are well-maintained with small equipped kitchens and separate room for TV viewing, besides the bedroom. The gym is small but suitable. There are lots of complimentary goodies, like evening wine and cheese, lectures, etc. I can't think of one negative about this property.
Ive already put in my request for next year!

Room Tip: Higher up provides better views and less street noise, though that is minimal. Avoid driving if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,164 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing