We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I could see how this hotel appeals to families. Our suite was spacious and facilities like the game room and laundry machines are great when you have kids. But the location near very noisy nightlife can make it impossible to sleep. I spent a terrible night trying to figure out why all the drunken people insisted on screaming/singing/laughing on the street instead of inside somewhere. Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hilby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Custom House. I am so glad that you did enjoy our property, our spacious Villas and family friendly amenities. I am, however, so disappointed to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the noise from the streets surrounding our property. Unfortunately, our prime location in a very busy and popular section of Boston also means that it is subject to the noises of a busy city, especially in the summer months. We certainly wish we had some control over this issue. However, we are doing our best to sound-proof the windows in each Villa and hope that if you choose to visit us again, you will enjoy a better night's sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 832 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a classic, the location is so convenient. We took the train rather than a cab as I know about Boston traffic. When arriving early we did have to find something to do until check in time. They stick to the 3PM time but we were able to store our things. The rooms are lovely and spacious, but the location says it all. The subway station is directly across from the hotel. There is an interesting clock on the top floor worth finding. Being a very old building you need to change elevators to get up there. There are washers and dryers on that floor. The views are wonderful. I'm pretty much a Marriott person so this was a predictable choice. I would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneKN_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our location, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Boston and I can see why people love the city so much. We fell in love with the Custom House because of the location. The first indication of how blessed we were was when we decided to take the T instead of a cab from Logan.
The Aquarium stop is just steps away from the Custom House so you are essentially throwing away money if you take a cab from the airport. When we arrived, we couldn't help but look up at the rotunda and take in what this building meant. Now I will say the rooms aren't knockout luxury, but there were very nice and had everything you needed including a decent sized fridge.
If you are visiting with family, then this is the right place. It's right across from Faneuil Hall and right in the middle of the Freedom Trail. There is no need to rent a car, unless you decide to visit the Cape or go to Maine, like we did. After a week, we even learned some walking shortcuts to other T stations, so it made it easy to jump off to other parts of the city. We always felt safe and we always knew we could find something to do or some place to eat within minutes from our location.
We also couldn't say enough about the staff. We didn't want to pay extra for the daily housekeeping, so all we really needed was a stack of fresh towels. The housekeeping staff consistently delivered fresh towels daily, which was very welcome considering we visited during a heat wave and took at least two showers daily.
One more thing about the location. The tower is such a notable landmark, that you can't miss it if you are in the main areas of town. I now have a special feeling every time I see a picture of Boston on television or a movie because I will have great memories of the city and Custom House.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms to reduce street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your visit to Custom House. I have shared your comments with our staff and they wanted me to thank you for recognizing their efforts. That was so very kind of you to do so. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our location and our proximity to so many of Boston's best sites as well as the lovely historic nature of our property. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Custom House on your next visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for seven nights at the historic Custom House and we could not have picked a better place. The room was immaculate, nice size with a kitchenette. With the decor you could feel the history of Boston. We were right in the heart of Boston, close to Long Warf, Faneuil Hall, and within walking distance to the North End (wonderful Italian area with great food) and many other Boston attractions. We took a side trip to Concord/Lexington which was also great, went whale watching which was reasonable and fun, also took in a Red Sox game. The staff from the valet, housekeeping, front desk, bartenders and anyone who worked in any capacity at the Custom were all warm and friendly. The concierge, Donna was helpful and friendly and very knowledgeable. Boston is a city that does not sleep much as 1/3 of the population is college students so there is a little noise that comes from the bars which are plentiful in this area. We were on the 12th floor and could hear them having a great time. If you are bothered by this is I would suggest bringing some soft ear plugs. I would also suggest trying to get a high room for a beautiful view. Again the Marriott have provided a wonderful vacation location.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room for the view and a little less noise from the outside. They love to party in...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 136lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our property and of our warm, friendly staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled that we were a part of your wonderful Boston experience. We understand your comments regarding noise from the streets surrounding our property since our prime location in the center of some of Boston's most wonderful sites can be a "double-edged sword". Your suggestion for the usage of ear plugs for a sounder sleep on those nights when it may be helpful is wonderful and we intend to have a complimentary supply available at our Front Desk for our guests' comfort. Thank you again for your kind feedback and recommendations! We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Custom House during your next visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just stayed four nights at he Marriott Custom House in Boston. I couldn't have picked a better hotel or location for sightseeing in Boston with my children ages 12, 10 & 5. Room was very spacious & clean, we enjoyed having a small kitchenette in the room. Faneuil Hall is right across a small street which makes it convenient to let tired, hungry kids pick out their dinner and bring back to the room to eat after a long day sightseeing. All of the Boston hop on/off trolleys have a stop across the street in front of the Marriott Wharf property.
My kids loved the game room! The building is a beautiful old Custom House and the staff was extremely welcoming. Both female concierges were great (wish I could remember their names!) I highly recommend this property.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank alaskarn1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

What a wonderful review of Custom House! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with your three children. We are so happy you had such a marvelous time sightseeing in Boston and thrilled that our property was part of such an enjoyable experience for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Custom House and can't say enough about it. The one bedroom unit was spacious by Boston standards. All of the employees from the front desk to the concierge, Karen, and the housekeeping staff were friendly, cheerful, and very helpful.
We were given excellent recommendations for restaurants. The staff was very knowledgeable about nearby shopping and attractions. We didn't find a single thing that could have been any better.
Walked out the door to the famous Black Rosé pub and out another door to Faneuil Hall and the market.

Room Tip: All the rooms should be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Custom House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accomodations as well as our excellent staff. I have shared your review with them and they are very appreciative of your kind comments. Our location in Boston certainly makes it very convenient to many areas of interest such as Faneuil Hall, wonderful restaurants, shopping and more; we are so glad you were able to enjoy all of these during your visit. We would love to welcome you back to our property on a future visit to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed there for Thanksgiving, and had a great time. The view from our room was spectacular, and the view from the top of the tower was amazing. In addition, the hotel is located right in the middle of downtown, just a block or two from the Long Warf, Faneuil Hall, and in easy walking distance from many other Boston locations. Boston truly is a walking city, and this hotel makes it easy.

Lots to see and do for a family on vacation.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is OK, particularly for business. However there are lots of restaurants in the a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SShimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are so appreciative of your wonderful review of Custom House and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Observation Deck does provide exceptional, breathtaking views of Boston and our location makes us convenient to so many great attractions. We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,871 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,321 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $290 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing