We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location for Boston sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location for Boston sightseeing”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just stayed four nights at he Marriott Custom House in Boston. I couldn't have picked a better hotel or location for sightseeing in Boston with my children ages 12, 10 & 5. Room was very spacious & clean, we enjoyed having a small kitchenette in the room. Faneuil Hall is right across a small street which makes it convenient to let tired, hungry kids pick out their dinner and bring back to the room to eat after a long day sightseeing. All of the Boston hop on/off trolleys have a stop across the street in front of the Marriott Wharf property.
My kids loved the game room! The building is a beautiful old Custom House and the staff was extremely welcoming. Both female concierges were great (wish I could remember their names!) I highly recommend this property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alaskarn1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
What a wonderful review of Custom House! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with your three children. We are so happy you had such a marvelous time sightseeing in Boston and thrilled that our property was part of such an enjoyable experience for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    188
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
329
266
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Custom House and can't say enough about it. The one bedroom unit was spacious by Boston standards. All of the employees from the front desk to the concierge, Karen, and the housekeeping staff were friendly, cheerful, and very helpful.
We were given excellent recommendations for restaurants. The staff was very knowledgeable about nearby shopping and attractions. We didn't find a single thing that could have been any better.
Walked out the door to the famous Black Rosé pub and out another door to Faneuil Hall and the market.

Room Tip: All the rooms should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review of Custom House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accomodations as well as our excellent staff. I have shared your review with them and they are very appreciative of your kind comments. Our location in Boston certainly makes it very convenient to many areas of interest such as Faneuil Hall, wonderful restaurants, shopping and more; we are so glad you were able to enjoy all of these during your visit. We would love to welcome you back to our property on a future visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed there for Thanksgiving, and had a great time. The view from our room was spectacular, and the view from the top of the tower was amazing. In addition, the hotel is located right in the middle of downtown, just a block or two from the Long Warf, Faneuil Hall, and in easy walking distance from many other Boston locations. Boston truly is a walking city, and this hotel makes it easy.

Lots to see and do for a family on vacation.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is OK, particularly for business. However there are lots of restaurants in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SShimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so appreciative of your wonderful review of Custom House and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Observation Deck does provide exceptional, breathtaking views of Boston and our location makes us convenient to so many great attractions. We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Orange, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was large with a good view of the harbor, but we especially enjoyed the access we had to their skyview where we had the city lights and sunset to ourselves. The hotel's location is ideal for vacationers as most of Boston's attractions are at your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our decision was largely based on location being convenient to much of what Boston offers, but we got so much more. The unique Custom House building was a great environment, and our room was fabulous. Our suite had wonderful harbor views and a spacious layout so that we felt right at home. We also really enjoyed the extra amenities like the game room and observation deck. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout. Would definitely stay here again next time we are in Boston.

Room Tip: Facing the harbor is ideal; higher floors better views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently returned from 10 days at Custom House, and it was an incredible vacation!! The rooms are more like small apartments with a king size bedroom, living room, dining area, kitchenette, and bath. High ceilings and many large windows make the rooms seem even larger! Located in the heart of Boston, it is not only extremely clean and comfortable, but very well situated to access so much of what Boston has to offer. Everyone from the front desk staff, to concierge, to housekeeping & maintenance go out of their way to be helpful and make your stay enjoyable.

When I was beginning to write my review, I noticed a "1 star" review that quite surprised me! Since we were at the hotel at approximately the same time as "Ben W - Not Family Friendly", I found it amazing that he used that description for his stay. Are there bars in the area? Yes, it is a large city where most hotels will have bars around them, plus you are bound to have some noise in an urban location. But I would hardly call it a "Carnival/Riot"! I am awake many nights because of medical reasons that have nothing to do with where I sleep. Any noise that occurs happens between approximately 2:00 and 2:15 a.m. and DOES NOT go on for hours. My husband slept through it with no problem, and on the nights that I WAS asleep at that time, I was not awakened by the happenings in the area. (And when I DO sleep, I AM a light sleeper!) If you and your family require COMPLETE quiet, my recommendation would be to stay at a country inn, not a big city hotel. I think the old adage "can't please all of the people all of the time" fits this person. I would certainly not allow this person's view to keep you from visiting Custom House. You would be missing out on a historical treasure AND a TOP NOTCH hotel! We keep coming back because we love not only the vibrant Boston lifestyle, but also all of the staff who go out of their way to keep you happy!

There are many wonderful restaurants, theaters, and historical places within walking distance and if you feel the need to shop, check out the Prudential Center shops and Copley Place stores. Faneuil Hall across the street also has many different styles of food and shopping, and is a favorite with children. There are street performers there, as well as additional entertainment each night at the Hotel in the Counting Room. The harbor is just across the way, with many water tours, ferries to other areas like Provincetown and Salem, and if you are brave enough, "Codzilla", a water thrill ride for the adventurous!

All in all, 10 days was still not enough time to see and do everything! The time seemed to fly by, so it looks like we will have to go back again...sooner rather than later! And where will we stay? Custom House, of course! It feels like a "home away from home."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesBostonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Absolutely gorgeous
Awesome location on Freedom Trail and across the street from Quincy market
Nice little kitchenette
Super comfy king size bed
Friendly and professional staff
Incredible views from the observation deck

Cons:
We were on the first floor and it was pretty noisy
An extra $40 a day for valet...really?!!??..that is a bit much considering the cost of the room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Theresa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing