We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by drunks...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Surrounded by drunks...”
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Spent a week here on a timeshare exchange and have stayed at other Marriott 'resorts' so I know what to expect. The old building is nice to look at; a distinctive hallmark in financial district of Boston and a great location overall from which to walk all over town. Central location both good and bad as what's near in addition to the Harbor, Aquarium, and shopping are noisy, obese tourists, and hordes of buffoonish locals, typically seen either smoking and/or eating, many in various stages of inebriation, (much WORSE at night), wearing Celtics/Red Sox apparel, with shaved heads and multiple tattoos. Local males are just as offensive in appearance.

The rooms at the Customs House are large but with typically cheap Marriott furnishings and amenities. For example, there are no glasses in the bathroom and the shampoo/soap are decidedly downscale. Gym on 25th floor is adequate and that term just about describes the entire experience. Activities at the property are typically outsourced and do not expect to get anything useful without paying for it, e.g., no free Internet access, overpriced continental breakfast offerings, exorbitant valet parking charges, only McPaper for morning reading, and limited housekeeping service. You can, however, watch old movies and free TV in a 'special' lounge.

Staff very helpful and amiable overall. Were I not able to trade for this space I would never pay what room costs at retail, upwards of 400.00 per night. For those planning to visit and stay in Boston there are probably many more comfortable hotels (Hilton Financial District is one I would recommend) but the downside is that you'll still be in Boston. Go Yankees!!!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank rollo_orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    187
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
328
266
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We had a fabulous time in Boston for 3 days!The Custom House was a very interesting place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and very large. It was great to have a little kitchen area as we had 2 kids with us. I would stay there again anytime.However, I was a little befuddled why it was rated so highly for children. There is no pool, the game room is a bit lame, and there is no room service or restaurant. The nightlife outside our windows was extremely loud, very late into the night. Our children are not small, so it wasn't too much of an issue for us personally but I found it strange that it is the number 1 rated hotel for children.The elevators were challenging sometimes and if you were staying on the higher rooms or wanted to use the game room, or observation deck you have to change elevators, which were extremely slow. Overall we had a great time, the service was outstanding, the architecture of hotel was so fascinating and beautiful.

  • Liked — The accomodations
  • Disliked — Game Room, elevators, no room service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed at the Custom House for one night on a quick family vacation. We chose this hotel primarily for its location. Despite being told there was a 4 pm check in time, our room was ready when we arrived at noon. Our original room was located on the second floor, which would have required traveling up and down two small staircases to reach the room. As we planned on using our stroller for most of the trip, we requested another room without stairs. Our request was handled quickly and politely. We made several special requests, including late checkout and extra parking time, which were handled in a similar manner. The staff we dealt with were all extremely courteous and we were very impressed.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the location ideal, directly adjacent to Fanueil Hall. The rooms are clean and attractive, and the observation deck, which we visited both during the day and after dark, shouldn't be missed. The kitchenette is a great feature for anyone traveling with small children who need a home base to refrigerate food and serve meals. The street noise, which we read about in reviews, is very audible, but we didn't find late night noise from the bar crowd to be a problem, although our stay took place on a weeknight.

The only small disappointment was the fact that the cold breakfast available in the hotel was not included in the room price (which, with taxes and fees, was over $400). Although we received paperwork on timeshare presentations, and there are signs and notices about them in the room and on hotel documents, we did not feel any pressure to attend a presentation.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great location and isn't overly concerned with price.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank RCDC98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Have stayed here before. This visit didn't disappoint. The staff here are always helpful. There were 4 of us on this occasion. Good value for money

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagicFlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This is a great place to stay for many reasons:-
Location - extremely central, near the harbor, the aquarium, Quincy market.
Rooms - very spacious, comfortable and well-furnished. A separate bedroom and living room, both of a good size, and with enough space for storage. A mini-kitchen with coffeemaker, toaster, blender, fridge, microwave and sink is in the living room. (One very minor point - it would be nice to have had a kettle as well as a coffee-maker!) Ideal for families, as the sofa is a sofabed.
Facilities - nice bar, also serving continental breakfast. Games room, laundry room, viewing platform (great views!), fitness area, and use of the swimming pool at another Marriott property close by.
Staff - very friendly and helpful - one even helped me carry my luggage down to the subway!
Building - a fascinating, beautiful historic place - the sort of thing you can normally only look at on a guided tour, with ropes fencing you off from it.
Most highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

This is was our fourth visit to the Custom House towers. This time we traveled with my sister and her family. As always, this hotel is just the best for travel with kids. The game room, observatory deck -- even the rotunda in the lobby all provide spaces for people to gather and enjoy each other's company. Plus there is a lot to do right outside the hotel door which, especially for older teens makes for a happy trip!

Try to book one of the suites that ends in "02" -- those are most definitely the best rooms in the house, but all are unique and very spacious in their design.

My only complaint (and it's a small one) is that over the years, some of the fabric on the chairs and couches are starting to show the wear. Also, what happened to the Boston Globe?

Thanks, Custom House, for yet another fantastic weekend!

  • Liked — Views and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sierrashoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

What a find! Had two suites for ladies getaway weekend. Found after a search on Marriott website, rooms only $193 a night with AAA discount. I know March is slow, but this is a fabulous price for the quality of the facilities and its location. Aquarium T entrance outside the hotel, The Black Rose also right next door, and barely a block to Quincy Market/Fanueil Hall area. Being on the 6th floor, there was some revelry noise from the street late Saturday night (including bagpipers!), but not enough to disturb us too much. We were there the weekend before St. Patrick's Day; it must be wild for the actual holiday! Positives of the room: linens, bath products, spacious living area and kitchenette with coffee, blender, dishes, toaster, etc. Comfortable king bed, typically uncomfortable sofa bed (but I've been on much worse.) One slight negative was the size of the kitchenette - barely enough counter space to slice cheese on, and there really isn't any freezer space in fridge, only tall enough for an ice tray. As long as you don't plan on keeping things frozen (like we had), it's not problem. Ice machine located on upper floor. Encounters with staff were outstanding, from the front desk to the concierge to bellmen to housekeeping. Wonderful security in that you must use room keycard to access elevator and, after 10:00 pm, the hotel entrance. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Location, staff friendliness/helpfulness/professionalism, size of accommodations
  • Disliked — Size of kitchenette, $38/day parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing