We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
$348
$326
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$349
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$359
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$301
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$367
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$307
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$296
$288
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveler rating
641
194
15
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
194
15
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckcounting roomtime sharehistoric buildingquincy marketfaneuil hallthe north endliving roomblack rosefreedom traildining tableaquarium stopsmall kitchenettemini kitchenlaundry facilitieslong wharfblue line
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 878 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Custom House during Memorial day weekend. The facility is well appointed and architecturally impressive. The staff were extremely helpful, especially Kathleen at the front desk. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location, right across the street from Faneuil Hall right in the heart of downtown Boston. It was handy to have a suite with 2 teenagers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is one of our favorite Marriott's to stay at. As a Boston native (north shoe) I may be biased but I think this particular Marriott is top notch. We stay there every September for two weeks and we own four weeks there. When I ended up in the hospital with pneumonia last Fall the staff of Marriott sent me a lovely bouquet of flowers and a get well card. Pretty darned hard to beat that!,
Marcia and Curtis Low

Room Tip: Try for a high floor!,
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

You can not beat the location, and the staff was fantastic. I hope to return to Boston soon and will not stay anywhere else. While the finishing touches could use some updating (bathrooms primarily), this is the best combination of location and value anywhere in Boston. The suite style allows for more room to spread out - ideal for families traveling with children.

Room Tip: If you want any sleep at all, be sure to get a room on an upper floor. The bar/street noise late at night is very disruptive
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of The Custom House Boston during our stay the week of the marathon in April 2013. The hotel is impressive to begin with and ideally located for sightseeing. Because of the restrictions during the awful events surrounding the terrorism bombings, the Custom House provided free food in their lounge. Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful & friendly. I especially recall: Cathleen, Eric, & Jason...thanks you. Also I forgot some belongings after departing and they were kindly mailed back to me. I give you all an A rating and would love to come back again!

Room Tip: of course the higher rooms have a great city view & if you're lucky a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ISunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent three nights here on a mini vacation. On Saturday night there was a lot of street noise (we were only on the 4th floor and this is an old building that wasn't built with soundproofing). I don't mean the usual hum of traffic, people, etc. I mean drunk people screaming at the top of their lungs and motorcycles gunning their engines. Fortunately the bars close pretty early, so it was quieter after 1:00 AM. On Sunday night there was some noise but not as bad as Saturday night. Monday night was pretty quiet. The noise alone wouldn't be enough to keep me from staying here again and although this hotel is in a fabulous location I think I'd chose a different hotel to stay in next time.

The size and shape of the building (and it is a fantastic building, historically speaking) make for a weird layout of the rooms. The living area (sofa, chairs, TV, dining table and chairs, mini fridge, microwave, and bar sink) is large and relatively comfortable. The bedroom is oddly shaped (to get to one side of the bed you have to squeeze between the end of the bed and the closet) and the lighting is poor due to the positioning of the window. The bed and linens are comfortable but it's odd that a king-size bed has standard size pillows.

The bathroom sink has a very small countertop around it and this is the only place you can put your toiletries. There is not enough room for two people's toiletries. It would have been easy to put up a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries but they didn't. The toilet paper holder was peeling and stained and the when you put the bath mat (a towel) on the floor it is very slippery. Shower pressure is good, plenty of hot water and adequate towels.

The room is oddly decorated - draperies and carpeting that are designed for an older building, but modern cabinetry. Somehow the decor falls flat.

We appreciated the free washers and dryers and the small complimentary box of laundry detergent (enough for one load). The game room is OK but the real winner is the observation deck. Make sure you go outside and look around. We didn't have much experience with the staff so can't comment on that. If you want a comfortable hotel in a good location you'll be happy here. If you are overly concerned with decor, amenities, room layout, etc., or you will be bothered by weekend noise you might want to go elsewhere. Do bear in mind that I'm comparing this to a full-service Marriott hotel, not to a vacation share property, as we are not share owners.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews