We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This timeshare hotel is convernient to many major attractions. Colleges, Fenway park, Cheers Rest, Aquarium, Museums, Theatre. If you travel by train or bus the hotel is a short cab away or you can walk as I did.The Subway is one block away. The room had a small refrig ,microwave and coffee maker. They include dishes, coffee mugs and wine glasses. They had entertainment on a few nights which was quite good. Conceirge was quite helpful so check with her when you are checking in. This room sleeps 4 but that would be tight since the livingroom just has a pullout couch. I will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kswny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have often wondered about staying in the Custom house but the prices always seem too high but this time the rates were lower than my usual hotel - the Marriott Waterfront. Staying in the Custom House is a completely differnt experience from the bustle of the waterfront - very quiet very sedate. The suite was fantastic with a large living room and kitchen together with alarge bedroom separated by a a small hall off which was an enormous bathroom. Fittings were first class and the rooms were beautifully clean and welcoming. As always the fantastic Marriott bed ensures a great night's sleep. Hotel is wonderfully placed close to Fanueil Hall and Quincy market and also the metro. Loved staying here and only hope that i can find a great rate next time I am due in Boston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfectly situated by Boston Harbour and Quincy Market, the Custom House is a boutique Marriott Vacation Club Resort. Its rooms are well appointed with fabulous views over the city or harbour. For a couple enjoying a week in Boston it is perfect.

However, outside of this though its offerings are somewhat meager. There is no restaurant, a sorry excuse for a bar, which is made even worse by the awful entertainment that it insists on putting on every night, and no other on-site facilities at all.

But, as I say, if you want somewhere in walking distance of all of Boston's main attractions, this is a great spot and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have made several attempts to stay at the Custom's House while in Boston. The hotel is a small foot print, but 30 stories tall. The building tapers as it climbs and by the 21st floor, there are only two suites per floor. Each with views on two sides of the building.

Although a timeshare, it resembled a full service hotel. We stayed for three nights, but used little of the services. There are so many places to see and dine within a walk, there was little need to spend time in the hotel. We wanted to try the bar with the guitar player nightly. It was nice to walk to the wharf, thru the historic city and the train stop is in the parking lot to take you anywhere in the metro area.

Make sure ride the elevators to the observation deck for a great view of the city and bay. There is a very good workout floor and a game floor. The clock room on about the 25th floor is very interesting as it drives the 4 clock faces on each side of the building.

For some reason, we got upgraded to the 21st floor which had balcony's on two sides. Windy, cold and a great view. The suites were had classic furnishings and plenty of room. Very high floors and the rooms had good separation for more guest.

If you can work out the schedule, give it a try.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. I think they all might be suites, but check. Ask if the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruces4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location! We traveled as a family, my husband and I and our two daughters. We had plenty of room and amenities for all. Beautiful views of the harbor and the city. We also loved that as we were out walking around the area we could always look for the clock tower to get our bearings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feisknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely perfect location if you want to stay in the city without a car. Walking distance to the T, north side and so much more!! Very friendly staff, great rooms. Only complaint is where many hotels include a free continental breakfast, The Custom charges by item....and I'm not convinced the Starbucks labeled coffee is realllllly Starbucks! Even still I would highly recommend and would def come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, across the street from the Quincy Market in the heart of downtown Boston. The rooms are enormous, well appointed, and well priced. Owing to its historical pedigree, the hotel is different than a typical cookie-cutter large city Marriott and provides accommodations with more of a historical feel. Very clean, as well. A nice game room and kids activity room are good touches. The outdoor observation deck on the 26th floor provides spectacular 360 degree views of Boston.

The only downside is that the central location, surrounded by nightlife, leads to some noise at night. Ask for a high room (I did and didn't get one, but I'd push more for it in the future)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,935 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $269 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing