We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely perfect location if you want to stay in the city without a car. Walking distance to the T, north side and so much more!! Very friendly staff, great rooms. Only complaint is where many hotels include a free continental breakfast, The Custom charges by item....and I'm not convinced the Starbucks labeled coffee is realllllly Starbucks! Even still I would highly recommend and would def come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 846 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, across the street from the Quincy Market in the heart of downtown Boston. The rooms are enormous, well appointed, and well priced. Owing to its historical pedigree, the hotel is different than a typical cookie-cutter large city Marriott and provides accommodations with more of a historical feel. Very clean, as well. A nice game room and kids activity room are good touches. The outdoor observation deck on the 26th floor provides spectacular 360 degree views of Boston.

The only downside is that the central location, surrounded by nightlife, leads to some noise at night. Ask for a high room (I did and didn't get one, but I'd push more for it in the future)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Customs House for a business trip right before the Blizzard of 2013 at the beginning of February. First off, the rooms are spectacular, and the views are amazing. You are smack in downtown Boston off of State St, and Fanuiel Hall, so there is never a lack of anything to do close by. The staff was fantastic. Matt had events going almost every night (like wine and cheese, to ice cream cookie sandwiches that required you to sign a waiver....lol.) Kathleen up front was amazing. She took real care of me during my stay, which included a great floor, and arrangements for when the storm hit and I got stuck in the city. Kathleen is top notch.

Overall, The Customs House is a very historic place in Boston - so I would recommend it for Business or pleasure. This location has the only outdoor observation deck in the city, on the 28th floor. It's not as tall as Top of the Hub at the Prudential, but this view is better and unobstructed. Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the Eagle Suites if they are available. They are usually reserved for vacation owners, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great family location. Suite style rooms with dinnerware etc. A stone's throw from Fanneuil Hall, children's museum, aquarium and great food! Game room and access to outdoor panoramic views complete with bar-height stool and tables.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is wonderful!!! Location is excellent. We took the "T" (subway) from the airport to the Aquarium stop and the hotel is right there ($2 per person vs $30 cab ride). All of the staff were very customer satisfaction oriented....everyone. We had a handicapped accessible room which met all of our needs. Having a suite with a separate room with sleeper sofa, kitchenette and dining area was nice. The observation deck (free to guests) had amazing views of the city and harbour. Quincy Market is across the street, you are two short blocks from the harbour, and a 15 minute walk to the North End with its great, charming restaurants. There is an excellent and fun pub across the street - the Black Rose. Best fish and chips we ever had - EVER!! Great selection of beers and irish music after 9. We did awake during the night to loud revelers in the street but didn't bother us and we went back to sleep quickly. Maybe it was because the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. They have a continental breakfast available where you pay for what you eat (except coffee and tea). All prices were reasonable - $1 or $2 with the belgian waffle being $3. As this is a Marriott time-share vacation property they have lots of activities to do if you so choose. But we were only there for the weekend and spent our time seeing Boston. We would definitely stay here for future Boston visits. Why stay anywhere else?? It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently brought my parents along with me on a business trip to Boston. We came in on Saturday afternoon and spent Sunday goofing off together and then I work on Monday and Tuesday. What a great home base for our fun! The room was great for three people. I gave the parents the room and I took to pull out. Very comfortable. My parents really enjoyed the cookies each night as well!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is one of the nicest time-share exchanges I have had. Easy access, from Logan, or Amtrak (which I came in on). Within walking distance of dozens of historical sites and attractions. Also within 5 min walk, dozens and dozens of resturants, pubs, takeout, as well as high end (ie pricey) places for the bigger spenders. I mean, $1-2 beer fun pubs, abound. Great views from the 18th floor, falcons nesting up on the 26th, where you can see them from that outside walk-around. Other reviews tell you about other good stuff. My ONLY beef, is, being there in the winter, the rooms thermostat is motion activated. You set it at 72, go to bed, it soon reverts back to 67, and keeps it there, blowing cold air.....cheez.....so take something that waves in front of the sensor to keep it nice and toasty!! We rigged something to do that. Also free wifi and free workout room, but charge u a dollar to play pool in the activities room......please.....Other than THOSE 2 things, great place! Waited 15 years for an exchange to pop up, worth it even in winter (and I HATE winter).

Room Tip: I was told upper rooms are quiter (???), def great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppollockaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,963 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,960 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,393 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $251 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing