We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Boston”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

This was our first visit to Boston and after reading reviews of this hotel, decided to book in for a week. We were not disappointed.

Our room was on the 23rd floor and the views were breathtaking. The historical aspect of the hotel adds to its uniqueness.

The hotel is also in a great location and convenient to the subway, aquarium, Quincy Market, Faneuil Hall and The Freedom Trail.

We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and when we are back in Boston will do our best to stay here again.

  • Liked — The Location & The Service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    188
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
329
267
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Great place and in a great location. There is no food service but it was not a problem. It would have been nice to be in a higher room but we were not time share owners. Overall, we had an excellent time and would highly recommend it. We traveled by subway and could not have been in a better location.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrtleRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Although I researched and read the previous reviews, I was still overwhelmed with this property. The building is a historical landmark and has a special feel to it because of its history and uniqueness.

It is the only Marriott timeshare in a big city. I cant emphasize enough what a great location this is, within steps of so many things. Quincy Market, with at least 25 restaurants is steps away. Subway stops, aquarium, children's museum, and many other attractions close by. Not only do you not need a car, you really dont want one ($36 parking fees).

I have stayed at 12 different Marriott timeshares and this one is really a gem. Although all of the rooms are only 1 bedroom (as opposed to 2) with a separate living and sleeping rooms, and dining table, the rooms seem so much bigger. They indicate 650 square feet, but I think ours was bigger. The kitchenette has a microwave, medium size refrigerator, sink and all plates and silverware (no stove).

Not only is every room a view room, I think many have two views because there are only 4 rooms per floor (4 corner rooms). Therefore, our living room had two huge windows facing one direction and our huge bedroom window faced another. It felt like a penthouse suite.

Usually, if I ever come back to a location, I try to stay in a different hotel to get a different experience. But if I ever come to Boston, I will do my best to stay here again.

  • Liked — Central location to many attractions
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jcrabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The Marriott Custom House is the perfect base from which to explore historic Boston. The beautiful granite clad structure is part of that history and the tower is probably the city's most recognizable landmark standing watch over Boston Harbor. You can even take-in a historic actor role-playing in the regal "counting room" where armed sentries once stood on guard as tariffs and duties were tabulated. The Custom House was originally located directly on the harbor but centuries of development and landfill have added a few short blocks.

Boston is a walking town. Don't rent a car in the city unless absolutely necessary. Parking fees are outrageous and public transport abounds. We took the train from the airport to within a block of the Custom House. Even more fun was taking the water taxi back to the airport at the end of our week-long stay. We never missed not having a car including our day trips via train to the JFK Museum, town of Quincy and beyond. You can also take a ferry to Cape Cod.

The hotel consists entirely of (80) one-bedroom, hi-ceiling, well maintained (time share) suites with king bedroom and pullout in the separate living room. There is a dining table and the kitchenette is perfect for basic provisions and leftovers but not conducive to any real cooking. Countless restaurant options at every price point are within a few short steps of the property including Quincy Market right across the street and the Italian North End and Harbor districts just a bit further. The accommodations are perfect for a couple or business person's extended stay but will get a little cozy for a family of more than three or four. The only inconvenience is the dimly lit cave-like bathroom.

Included are some pictures of our suite and fabulous views from the north-east facing windows. (sorry, view images are not downloading--will try again later) You can experience 360 degree views from the outdoor walkout on one of the top floors.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Mayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

Stayed here end of March early April for a week end with 2 children.
Very impressed with the hotel and the location.
Staying with children for a week end we did not worry about the lack of full blown restaurant facilities as we got what we needed for breakfast across the road and used the mini kitchen in the room.
Next time in Boston I will be staying in this hotel.

  • Liked — Hotel quality, vaule for money and location
  • Disliked — The windows could do with sealing up for cold nights
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Irish_Are_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

This really isn't a true hotel, so has a few limitations - but it is still very impressive, especially for the price.

Limitations, first: no restaurant, so no room service (local restaurants apparently deliver); no minibar, and an uninspiring bar downstairs; no bathrobes; windows are wonderfully big, but because of their size and the age of the building, are very noisy in high winds (my room faced away from the bars on a rainy Tuesday, so I can't speak as to others' noise problems).

Now the plusses, which far outweigh the minuses. First the service was efficient and very friendly. Second, the building itself is quite stunning - the rotunda (best viewed from the second floor) is beautiful, the counting room adjacent to the uninspiring bar is very relaxing, and the private observation deck (outdoors and indoors, on all sides) at the top of the tower is spectacular. The hotel does a good job of showcasing the building's historical heritage with signs and displays. Third, my suite was nicely-sized, well furnished and clean, with very high ceilings, and a well-equipped kitchenette (dishes, etc. for four, and even a toaster and blender) - it would work very well for a small family. Fourth, free high-speed (not wireless, but via a cord in the living room) glitch-free internet.

When I booked it, this property was considerably less expensive than others in the area - given the size of the suite and the historical nature of the building, it was a tremendous bargain. If the minuses listed above don't bother you, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

This hotel is literally a landmark in Quincy market area--the gleaming tower is easy to find and close to the Aquarium, the Old State House, Faniuel Hall, the North End (Italian area, Revere House and Old North Church) and lots of restaurants, shops, etc... The rooms are large and well laid out for a family of four. The rollaway for our son was free, and our daughter slept on the sofabed. The separate master bedroom was lovely and the bed was comfortable, decked out with nice quality sheets and duvet. There was a microwave, mini-frig and small sink in the dining/living area and also a few dishes. The table and 4 chairs were nice, as we were so close to Quincy market that we could walk back to the hotel room in less time than it took to find a table for our family (the market was very crowded) to eat our lunch. Although the furnishings were a bit on the "fancy" side, they were not in brand new condition, which actually made us feel more comfortable.
It's well worth a trip up to the 24th-26th floors to check out the excercise room, the game/laundry floor and the 26th floor which features information about the history of the building and an observation deck. The pool at the Marriott Long Wharf was a 5 minute walk away (outside) and easy to access with our room key from the Custom House. They have small, but fully equipped locker rooms with shampoo, soap, combs, blow dryers, etc... so that you don't have to bring all of this over from the Custom House.
The only hitch with our stay was that we were originally booked into a room on the first floor. It was really beautiful, with tall, tall ceilings, marble walls and architectural features from the original building. There were only 2 rooms on the floor as there was a large open rotunda down to the lobby, sales offices for the time-share feature and the club room. The windows in our room had extra insulation to keep street noise to a minimum (we heard none while we were in the room) but unfortunately, an event had been booked for the "public areas" of the floor, including the club room for the evening. It was supposed to be over by 9pm, which was still a little disruptive to us (we were jet-lagged, having flown from the West Coast the night before), but by 10 pm, it was still so loud that we could not hear our rented movie without turning the sound up full blast. We had called the desk twice to inquire about the noise, but finally went down and requested a room on a higher floor. The desk clerk immediately and apologetically found us another room on the 7th floor and sent up someone to move our bags and a new rollaway. She also gave us an appropriate monetary credit for our inconvenience, without my requesting it. I was very impressed by this handling of the issue, though felt they should never have assigned us the 1st room since they had an event scheduled for the evening in areas adjacent to the room. This was apparently a disconnect between guest services and the events group which should be addressed.
The room on the 7th floor was much the same as the one on the 1st floor, without the super high ceilings and marble walls. The view was better but without the insulation in the windows, it was very noisy as the bars/clubs let out between 1:30-2:30 a.m. on Saturday night/Sunday morning. The following night was very quiet. .
At least 3 people working at the desk apologized to us for the inconvenience, at different times. This was much appreciated by my family and went a long way to correcting the issue and made them seem like a very professional operation. The concierge was also very helpful and sent us to a great, family friendly reasonably priced little Italian restaurant ("Rabia's) that we would not have known about without her suggestion. We paid $219/night for a special weekend rate, through the Marriott website, which seemed quite reasonable given the quality of this property and the location. Despite our 10 pm room change, we would reommend this memorable hotel to anyone who wants a premium location and a great room .

  • Liked — The building itself--the architecture and the rooms.
  • Disliked — The small elevators
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barnhok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,851 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,636 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing