We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, retro fantastic”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A smart modern hotel, newly refurbished and in great location. This was my first trip to Boston and a stay at Beacon XV did not disappoint. Only 15 minutes from the airport, the hotel was perfectly located in the centre of Boston but on a quiet side street so no traffic noise. Plenty of nearby restaurants, bars and pubs meant you didnt need to go far for food or refreshment.
We stayed in one of the 'standard' rooms, which by any stretch of the imagine I would not consider to be standard. The room was huge, with a huge TV on the wall and an integrated sound system, a fantastic built in gas fire which was really romantic. Also we had free internet connection for our stay. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and apart from the inevitable jet lag, we had 4 very good nights of sleep. I would definately stay at beacon XV again (my next trip to boston is early next year).

The hotel also offers a complimentary car service around central boston which is a great bonus.

Overall Beacon XV gave us everything we needed for a short city break, and we definately return. We loved it.

The Mooo restaurant is a must, I can recommend the brunch on a sunday, steak & eggs, wow.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

I stayed at XV Beacon for a week in June for business. Location was excellent for business or pleasure. It was not a far walk from a lot of the sights of Boston. Charles Street was pretty close and the cemeteries and other sights (like Fanueil Hall) were not as far as you'd think. I liked this location a lot better than my previous visit which was to the Copley Square area. I was concerned that it would be far from the T, but it wasn't far at all. I took it almost every morning to the Silver Line to the Seaport World Convention Center without any issues.

The hotel valet was pretty good about getting me a cab when I needed one. The hotel advertises use of a car, but every single time I asked I was told it was booked. I thought this was lame. Also, the restaurant in the hotel ("Moo") was overpriced and underwhelming. Not recommended. Other complaints: the hot tub on the roof is not kept hot (more like lukewarm) and so needs advance notice to be heated and there was a billing error on checkout (something double-billed) which was eventually rectified. One other niggle was that someone kept changing the radio station on the sound system in my room! Sounds minor, but we were annoyed by this! Otherwise, though, my stay was great!

My room was a corner room which was decorated in a sleek modern manner. It had a jacuzzi bath tub and a heated towel bar (which I actually took advantage of to dry my socks which I washed in the sink). It had a great bed and a nice surround system. It had a lot of windows, but the view was non-descript - mostly views into neighboring office buildings. I thought that it was a pretty good value for a hotel with a luxury boutique feel. I felt fortunate to book here versus the Hyatt, Marriott, etc. or even the Ritz-Carlton which was holding a special at the time which would have made it cheaper. I base my rating mostly on the location and the decor/amenities in the room, which were top quality. I will stay here again when in Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvg_loves_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Staying at XV Beacon is a joy. This boutique hotel, with only 6 rooms per floor, is more like staying in an elegant turn of the century private residence than a hotel. Attention to detail reigns supreme. The rooms are very quiet and the bedding (Frette, of course) is among the most comfortable I have experienced. The bathrooms are well appointed and the rain shower head is outstanding. Each room has a gas fireplace, which was an unexpected and most welcome luxury. Guests have access to a complimentary Lexus sedan service, which is quite a plus and a money saver as well. The hotel restaurant is Mooo, so one doesn't have to go far for an excellent dining experience. Last, but certainly not least, the hotel staff is very professional, thoughtful and attentive. The only thing that we did not like about Beacon XV, was having to leave and go back to the real world....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guest906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This place was amazing!! The wonderful staff made my engagement weekend absolutely perfect!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

And exceeded all our expectations! This is an exceptional hotel in a great location; beautifully and tastefully appointed with no expense spared on anything (gorgeous furnishings, amazing bed, Frette linens, stereo system, uber stocked mini bar); fantastic service, including a private car ready to drive one to/from shopping, to/from restaurants, and concierge service; adjoining restaurant and bar. They made us feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is a lovely well located hotel with really nice staff and a free Lexus to run you around.However, we were put in a courtyard facing room which picked up a jet engine style air conditioning exhaust system outside. For the first time in 35 years of travelling I asked to move at 1.30 in the morning.

I have had a run of decent hotels, either brand new or those operating in renovated altered buildings in recent months where the air conditioning has been loud and not "tuned" properly.At the end of the day a hotel has to provide a good bed and a quite environment or else it fails.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

On all levels this hotel was absolutely worth it!
Great location, beautiful building, excellent service, spacious, tastefull and very comfortable room! The room was particularly enjoyable: well furnished and lit, high-quality finishes, gas-fireplace, superb sound-system, great bathroom, fresh flowers, good cosmetic products, excellent mini-bar...

Definitely the high-end but by no means snobbish place to stay!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
Thank liluxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,931 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $414 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing