We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO sexy! Luxurious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2007

XV Beacon is AMAZING! The service is outstanding! We went for a weekend getaway and told the reservationist that it was a special weekend for us. We received champagne and strawberries, as well as a note from the general manager!

Also, there is complimentary Lexus sedan that took us to dinner at Mistral. We looked fabulous driving around in the Lexus!

If you want a special hotel where you feel like you are staying in a high end Boston Brownstone, this is the place!!! You will not want to go HOME!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hotellova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2007

We were on a business/leisure trip. It was a high star rating and deserved it. Around the corner from Boston Common, Fanueiul Hall, etc. Easy to get to city centre. The hotel breakfast was fantastic, if expensive. Every dish was amazing. When in Boston city, the Mapparium is worth a visit, along with the top of the Prudential building, to get a great idea of where everything is. There are some great museums to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

My husband surprised me for our 10th anniversary with a night in this hotel. It was as incredible as all the travel guides say it is. We had a studio unit on the 4th floor with a gas fireplace and a view of Beacon Street and the Boston Common. The furnishings were excellent, very tasteful - modern but very comfortable. The little touches were great too from the perfectly aligned 3 paperclips on the desk to the bath amenities (all from Fresh, which I use at home too!) to the little TV in the bathroom. They gave us a bottle of champagne since it was our anniversary, a very nice touch. The hotel also provides a car and driver for guests to use - a nice service but you do need to "book in advance" when you arrive so that it will be available when you want it. The lobby is dimly lit, which I liked but some people might not - it is a boutique hotel so the lobby area is small.

We did not eat dinner at the restaurant but did order room service for breakfast - eggs, hash browns, and sausage and bacon for my husband, Everything was well-cooked and nicely presented. Nothing out of the ordinary however.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. When we left, I realized that I had left my gloves in the lobby, A quick phone call to the concierge was all it took to get them to send them to us at home - even wrapped the gloves!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Boston who doesn't want a huge hotel like the Ritz or Four Seasons. In addition to great service, it has a great location right near the Boston Common and Beacon Hill.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank banana0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I went to the XV Beacon Hotel for our first wedding anniversary, and I can't express enough what a throughly enjoyable and welcoming experience it was. From the moment we walked into the hotel until the moment we left, the service was top notch and every little detail was attended to. Every hotel staff member wished us a happy anniversary daily, we had champagne and strawberries upon arrival, the room was very comfortable and romantic with a great working fireplace, and the concierge Jonathan was so accomodating with booking us restaurants, live music shows, tours, spa treatments, etc. The Federalist was much better than expected as well -- probably our best meal in Boston. The neighborhood also can't be beat -- so charming! The price is definitely worth it -- if you want service, this is the place to stay. We travel often around the world and my husband is in the hospitality business, and XV Beacon is without question one of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MuchoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

This hotel knows service. We travel with one infant and one toddler and the hotel bent over backward to accomodate us throughout our stay with our kids. The concierge selected fantastic restaurants every night that had amazing food and that were kid friendly. The hotel is hip but comfortable and the attached Federalist Bar has a great (non-hotel) feel to it. The hotel has a courtesy car on hand to shuttle guests around the city, which came in handy a number of times, especially at the end of a long day when we were just too tired to walk back to the hotel. The hotel is pricey, but they live up to the price tag with service and location.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank beachbella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I just returned from the XV Beacon it was a great hotel. The resturant was wonderful!! Great small hotel we really enjoyed our stay!! Great little welcoming treats, good amenities and the car service was a nice touch. Wonderful location could not have been better close to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank rmm641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I loved XV Beacon. Orginally had reservations at the Ritz Carlton Boston Common and after much thought decided to switch to XV Beacon. This is not your typical hotel and the room decor may throw you off in the beginning. Relax, the rooms become a retreat from the busy city and at night are very romantic. The bathrooms are fantastic with large powerful overhead rain showers, fluffy towels and bathrobes and great toiletries. Great staff from the front desk, concierge and hotel driver. The hotel provides car service around town - never had a problem with availability. Location is fantastic - easy walk to anywhere in Boston. Best rooms to book - book a studio, which is an even numbered room preferably on a high floor. You are going to love it.

Stayed: July 2006
10  Thank kecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $368 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing