We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time was the charm”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I recently stayed at XV Beacon for a business trip. It was my second stay. The first stay was perfectly fine except the room was a bit small and I didn't like the location of the desk in the room. I get a fair amount of work done before my meetings in the AM. However, I stayed in room 407 last week and it was absolutely perfect. Good sized room and quiet. Overall level of service was great. Room service was timely and food was good. XV Beacon is likely to become my go to place to stay while in Boston.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank healthcarestocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is one of our all-time favorite hotels! The welcome is warm and attentive. The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful with detail about each of her recommendations. We very much appreciated the ride in the comfortable hotel car to the pickup for our rental car as we were leaving Boston. The room was truly beautiful with marble tiled bathroom equipped with Turkish towels that were luxurious. Fixtures in the bathroom were of the highest quality and were unusually lovely. Linens on the bed were pristine and comfortable. Every detail was perfect in the room and was maintained by a wonderful housekeeping staff. We were vacationing in Boston so the location by the Boston Common couldn't have been more convenient. We'd love to return to Boston to stay at XV Beacon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love service and location. I don't need 300 plus rooms of glitz with crowded lobbies so I'm big on Boutique Hotels. Unless you're in Boston to shop, the XV Beacon has the best location in the city. Everything is within walking distance and if you feel like being lazy, the T is a block away. The rooms are contemporary yet very practical and comfortable. My family of 5 (2 adults and 3 younger kids) fell in love with Olivia. She's a Concierge at the Beacon whose suggestions always came through. I would not stay anywhere else but here. One of the best hotel stays I've had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElmurFud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

From start to finish our stay at xv beacon was brilliant. We advised the hotel that we were coming to celebrate a birthday and anniversary and they went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. The room was great with an amzing selection in the mini bar. The extras such as the bath salt menu and the hand delivered goodie plate in arrival give this hotel that extra special touch. The staff were extremeley helpful and the drivers were friendly and efficient. We were sad we couldnt stay for longer and will definitely return in our next trip to Boston. Thank you xv beacon for an amzing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamrock990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The majority of rooms are small but very workable. The room is complete with min-bar and fireplace. The service (front desk, concierge and doormen) was super. The hotel also has several limos which, if you book in advance, will drop you off at no charge to a location of your choice (within reasonable limits). Email notifications are timely and you may respond with your requests before your arrival.


Would I stay there again? Yes

Room Tip: Recommend that you request a room as high up as you can get as the hotel has one noisy air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelaide_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Booked this hotel based on tripadviser reviews which are normally pretty good. Not so this time. Rooms were so dark and more geared for business men than woman. No dressing table with mirror etc in our room. Small beds for the US which was disappointing. View immediately into an office block which was so close to the window I could nearly see what was on their computer screens. Staff were all professional though the lady concierge directed us on our first night to a poor restaurant in the overtly touristy trap of the north side. The upstairs terrace of the restaurant was noisy with the baseball cap brigade and no view because it was all enclosed. Have no idea what she was thinking of sending us there. Last time I put my faith in a young concierge more interested in her Facebook page which she seemed to be constantly on each time we passed her. Drivers were very professional but service was not all they purport it to be. No evening turndown on our second night even though we had gone out early. Will not be coming back. Bathroom very shabby and minute.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank babybuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Family trip to a surprisingly cold Boston. Good service, very welcoming and great ideas at the front desk for what to do. Helpful with our onward journey plans and made us feel very welcome.

Whilst the reception area is on the small side, the location an friendliness more than make up for that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,932 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,357 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $413 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing