We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, central boutique hotel”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

XV Beacon was a good experience. The staff are welcoming, the location is great and the rooms well appointed. We had a room on the ninth floor - large but cosy, well designed, great amenities and a thoughtful welcome plate of chocolate covered strawberries. The adjoining restaurant, Mooo, served a good breakfast (didn't try it for dinner) - albeit pricey. My criticisms of XV Beacon? Two things: first, there is no real public space to relax, read or have a glass of wine - it's your room or nothing. The lobby is quite cramped, and the roof terrace was understandably closed in April. Second, there doesn't seem to be any sort of service elevator, which is a minor thing - but often meant you'd be sharing the elevator with a room service or luggage trolley. Otherwise, this is a good city hotel that is a nice alternative to the major chains.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for XV Beacon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is possibly the best I've ever stayed at. Amazingly cosy and luxurious rooms and I just loved the roof terrace with the hot tub and everything. There is also a very nice restaurant. Service was just excellent and the location of the hotel is great indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vesavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

XV lives up to its reputation and is well worth the luxury rates. Stayed here for two days and was so sad to leave. I visit Boston often, usually staying at Ritz or Four Seasons, but both were booked. Decided to try XV-- so glad I did. From arrival to departure, the staff did everything in their power to make you feel at home. Owen at the front desk helped get me settled into a room right away although I arrived a bit too early, not an easy feat because it's a small hotel. My room was gorgeous, luxurious and spotless. And there's nothing like a fireplace on a chilly day. Each room has one. Jonathan the concierge was terrific, personable and warm. It's small, and intimate. Such a fresh change for a weary frequent business traveler. Can't wait to return for pleasure and a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prpro70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Love the location of this hotel on Beacon Street. Truly exceptional staff from the front desk staff, to the concierge, to the doorman and drivers. But very very average dated rooms with worse views. The first room they gave us on the second floor faced directly over a laneway where the garbage for the hotel and the neighbouring office building was located. Gross to look at and worse the HVAC was way too loud. Asked to be moved and the very accommodating staff quickly moved us to a more or less identical room but on the 10th floor.
The noise was gone but still a terrible view.
Room was very dark and very dated especially the washroom. The drain in tub did not drain as quickly as the water so you ended up standing in water.
A friend convinced me to stay her as opposed to the Four Seasons. Very similar room prices but would not stay hear again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on second floor facing the laneway.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I can't think of a better location than XV Beacon - lobby is small but welcoming, service amazing and friendly, we LOVED the old fashioned elevators and the apples/oranges available on each floor. Our room was very quaint with a king size bed, pull out coach, gas fireplace (easy to switch on), nightly choice of bath salts, big fluffy bath towels with towel warmer, awesome rain shower (don't love the plastic half way door), cool bathroom and great sound system that we enjoyed playing in our suite. Free internet was a plus - gym is TINY but you have the choice to pay $15 to use the Boston Sports Club. A short list of things that kept us from giving it 5 stars: no free water bottles (most NYC hotels now include these), no high end bath products (I mean, XV shampoo - it could be anything), small bathroom, super basic gym, smallish rooms, scaffolding all over blocking the views (hence lack of light entering the rooms). If you compare to some of the top boutique hotels in NYC, it might lose 1 star, but we would certainly stay here again and enjoyed the warm atmosphere, great service, hopping bar and comfie room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a weekend there as a family of 5. They treated us like royalty! Couldn't do enough to make our lives easier; even rented a car for us when it was time to leave. While the rooms are small, they are warm and inviting. The location couldn't be better, and they have car service for you to use during your stay. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Beacon XV has the location, charm and service to make it a perfect hotel. We had a one bedroom suite with a fireplace that was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was high end but a little cramped. I 'd prefer a nice shower to the European style tub with fold out glass half door. The hotel bar was lovely with a nice selection of appetizers in the early evening to hold us over before our late dinner. The hotel has a car that you can reserve to drive you anywhere in Boston which was a very nice touch. The only downside was the hotel was covered in scaffolding that was right outside our window. It was a lovely bright day and evening when we were there but with trash left by construction workers all over the scaffolding we felt better with the curtains closed. When the renovation of the outside is done it would be a great view from our corner room. Would definitely go back and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to Boston for work or pleasure

Room Tip: The suites with a couch and fireplace are very nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $422 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing