We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at XV Beacon - without question, the BEST Hotel in the World.”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

XVB really is the Best Hotel in the World.
It was an absolute pleasure to once again stay in this Boutique Hotel. It's an unforgettable experience that will leave you looking for excuses to return as quickly as possible!!

In my first review after the first stay at XVB two or so years ago I couldn't praise the Hotel & it's Staff enough. It was an incredible experience and one that lead to an immediate decision to return to XVB as soon as possible.

Staying on the 8th floor this time round the rooms were simply stunning and quite large in size! You get such a luxurious and 'homely' feel upon opening the main door and entering into this incredibly well laid out room.
Everything from the fireplace to the huge & amazingly comfortable bed to the very modern and well appointed Bathroom / Bath makes the overall experience one to be enjoyed!
It's also about the small things and finer touches. A personalised "Welcome Back" plate of Chocolate Strawberries was waiting upon my arrival!
** Hat's off to the team for that one!! Perfect.
(Try and get the corner room if possible as you will have a great view down Beacon Street looking towards Boston Common).

The two "Hotel Cars" are just the best to use as much as possible. Staying over the 2013 / 14 New Year period for 8 or so days needless to say, it was busy! We did want to go to a few places further from the Hotel and the ability to have this service available makes all the difference.

Mooo Restaurant is a fantastic part of XVB. The Quality of Food was always to the highest of standards and never left us hungry but did leave us wanting more!!
They have an amazing selection of Wine and the staff were terrific at recomendations
and really helped in putting together the perfect meal.
The Breakfast staff it must be noted were wonderful to deal with every morning for Breakfast aswell.


Well, saving the best until last, which is, the Staff at XVB.

This would have to be the best part of this Amazing Hotel.
All Staff, no matter which department they are from all go out of their way to say "Hi" or "Good Morning" etc and just go the extra step to ensure that you are being looked after. They are an incredible asset and really set XVB apart from the rest.
Amy was excellent throughout the confirmation / booking process of the 3 seperate rooms and ensured all was taken care of and just made the entire process easy.
As mentioned previously, a noteable mention to the Breakfast staff, Front Door personnel and Drivers who were wonderful.
Lastly, Jonathan (Concierge). Absolutely Brilliant.
I can't thank him enough for everything he did for my Family in ensuring our Holiday was made perfect. His attention to detail, local knowledge, excellent advice and just all-round friendly attitude is an absolute Win for XVB.

You simply can't go wrong with XVB as your Hotel choice when staying in Boston. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on Beacon Street can have a great view looking down Beacon Street with also some views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris_mayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I can't go into enough details to explain how great this hotel is. It is a very small luxury boutique hotel right on Beacon Hill. Location is great and the rooms are just amazing and incredibly carry the very most modern of amenities even though it was a historic reno from a historic building built in 1903 or something. Maddie and the staff were so amazing to my girlfriend and I. All the staff was incredible though, from the room service waiter, to the limo driver. I won't stay anywhere else now when visiting Boston if i can avoid it. Thank you Maddie for making our trip so enjoyable!!!

Room Tip: Beacon Hill Suite is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family and I have a tradition each Christmas to stay at XV Beacon and enjoy Boston for 2-3 days. Each year, our stay at XV is absolutely perfect. We love our large and comfortable room which is very handsomely decorated- it actually feels like a studio apartment in a regal Beacon Hill mansion rather than a hotel room. The bathroom is super luxurious and the bathtub is worth the entire stay! We ate at Moo this year on Christmas Eve because our beloved Locke Ober closed and Moo is deserving of its reputation as the best steakhouse in Boston. It is much more than a steakhouse however as the ambiance is refined and very elegant. The staff at Beacon is professional and very helpful- and we love the use of the hotel car and driver for local drop-offs. XV is the perfect boutique hotel offering ideal location, décor, services and amenities. We look forward to many more holidays at XV Beacon.

Room Tip: Large studio room will accommodate a couple with one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had an amazing stay at the XV Beacon.  The location can't be beat and the property itself is a stunner.  Our room was dreamy and make it hard to venture out into Boston and explore.  But explore we did and that experience was made even better by the Concierge team.  Everyone we worked with at the Concierge desk was wonderful but I have to really thank Jonathan and Olivia.  They helped us feel like locals and while top notch, polished professionals, they were so warm and genuine.  It was more like asking friends for advice than going up to a desk for "help".  I have to say, they both really have their finger on the pulse of the city and were able to pinpoint exactly what we wanted, even when we didn't do the best job of explaining it!  Half way through our visit we decided that Boston and the XV Beacon will be an annual tradition. Our stay was over Halloween night and the city is just a fantastic place to be. The hotel's proximity to Beacon Hill and all it's amazing Halloween fun can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JchipGCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here the evening before my daughters wedding, and I honestly cannot think of one complaint to make. Being able to take a soak in a lovely whirlpool tub, after having our choice of bath salts delivered was a perfect relaxing activity right before a slightly hectic day!

From the staff to the Lexus service everything was impeccable. Would highly recommend to anyone coming to Boston for any reason!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canter7StarsBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I love this small hotel. The rooms are lovely and very well appointed and the staff is great. There is a bar and restaurant on the lobby level which is wonderful whether one is alone or with a large group. The wine list, cocktails and meals are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street as the others can be a little too dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindabcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We could not be more pleased with our accommodations. We received advance emails twice from Jonathon about any reservations we might need. I gave him our preferences and he filled in the blanks and arranged one of the two Lexuses (Lexi?) to take us locally. Pick up was accomplished if they were available, and they were. They seemed to know our room and our names from the start.

The rooms are about twice as large as you would expect at the Marriott or a Starwood hotel, room enough for two big chairs in front of the fireplace, which apparently is in every room. The room are in beige with lots of black wood and nice art. Apples on every floor by the elevators. Wifi is free with the card they provide for each hookup you need. You will not find that in any non-discounted hotel that I have been in lately.

Two papers in the morning and free shoe shines at night are standard. Best of all, room service has no room delivery charge, but our usual 20% tip is included. 14 inches of snow expected tonight and the restaurant on the corner is connected without a venture outdoors

We came for the New Years holiday and expect to come back in the future, more than we had planned.

Ignore my service rating. I could not get my computer to get off of "Terrible" Service was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank docwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,970 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $374 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing