We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, Most Enjoyable in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Trendy, Most Enjoyable in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We use the American Express Platinum Fine Hotel and Resort Program. I the case of XV Beacon hotel in Boston, we always get an upgrade to a suite. Some have been crazy with a second room complete with large fireplace and dining table.

In any event. This hotel is a nice as a boutique hotel gets. The rooms are beautiful. They are of generous size and extremely well decorated.

The staff is as helpful as you will see anywhere. The hotel is located in a spot in Boston from which you can walk anywhere, and we have often.

Don't stay anywhere else in Boston! We've stayed at more expensive (sometimes off the charts) hotels, but they don't hold a candle to this Beacon Hill gem.

Their restaurant is great too. If this is a romantic getaway, have a great meal, plenty to drink, and walk a few steps to the elevator!

Room Tip: This part of Beacon street is pretty quiet. I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    188
    45
    30
    14
See reviews for
157
567
51
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hospitality has been re-imagined at XV Beacon. From the moment you see the understated yet elegant entrance, you know that this is a special place. But that is only the beginning to a stay that is both luxurious and memorable. The rooms are a treat with sumptuous linens atop a feather bed, and all the high-end amenities you might expect from a 5 star hotel. Returning to your room after an evening on the town, you are greeted by your personal fireplace glowing and soft music playing in the background. I haven't slept this good in years!

But what truly sets the XV Beacon apart is the staff. From hard-to-get tables at popular restaurants, to the car service available to whisk you around town, it is as if the goal of everyone is to make you feel as if you are royalty. As I leave Boston today, I feel as if I am saying goodbye to my new extended family at the XV Beacon. Maybe I can simply leave my things for the next time I am in town? I am sure at XV Beacon they would figure out a way to accommodate my request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrichcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great Beacon Hill location within walking distance of the major sights, Boston Common and Back Bay shopping district. Large, quiet, well appointed bedrooms and stylish bar and restaurant. Friendly, helpful reception and concierge staff. Would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

It has been 40 years since my last trip to Boston and I was bringing my best friend ( British ) to see Boston. From the minute we were on the sidewalk outside the hotel to the moment we were dropped of by our driver at the train station, I couldn't have been more pleased. The entire staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. Our room overlooked Boston Commons and it was comfortable, roomy and spotlessly clean! I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveling to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel has a good location - just across the street from the Boston Common (a wonderful place for a stroll), close to a primary T stop (Park St.), and a short walk from many good restaurants on Charles Street. The rooms and bathrooms are small and my room was a bit dark, but they are very clean, nicely appointed, extremely quiet and comfortable (fantastic beds!). The hotel staff is warm, welcoming and helpful. Everyone I encountered was quite friendly and I appreciated the wonderful restaurant recommendations. This is a lovely boutique hotel and my experience was quite positive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

lovely first hotel on stay in Boston before touring New England in the fall 2011. Unfortunately we hit the winter storms the whipped out the interior so this was the highlight of the trip, nice staff, excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbildent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay at XV Beacon whenever I get up to Boston which is a few times a year. I am a business traveler. I feel like it is my Boston home away from home with family included. The staff is so accommodating, genuinely nice, and really makes you feel special. The rooms are first class, spacious, and very elegant. GM Ms. Amy F goes well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure EVERY guest is happy and comfortable. I brought a group of perspective clients to the hotel a few months ago and told GM Amy. She added so many special touches to their stay (on my behalf) I can honestly say she attributed to us closing the deal. Give XV Beacon a try...you will NOT be disappointed! --A savvy NY traveler

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,045 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing