We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“XV is #1”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“XV is #1”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the central location to the"welcome back" each time we returned to the hotel, our experience was outstanding. Our room was so comfortable with sitting area and king sized bed.The decor was sophisticated and the artwork throughout the property was stunning. the staff was courteous and knowledgeable and made all of our reservations for us.One of the best features was the complementary car service. Getting around Boston was a pleasure.We fell in love with this city and plan to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    188
    45
    30
    15
See reviews for
157
569
52
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon one night when my parents visited us ad we wanted to take one night off. It was a short but sweet, very relaxing and enjoyable.
The hotel is very nice and welcoming. In the room you feel at home and the location is perfect. The staff was very friendly and the helpful, from helping getting dinners reservations to tips about the city.
The breakfast was nice too, full and refreshing.
If you are coming with your car, don't try to park yourself, It is Boston after all. Use their valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2m2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Everything about this hotel is wonderful! Starting at the reservation process, Kate was extremely helpful and was great to work with. Before we even arrived I was contacted by one of the wonderful concierge staff, Olivia, wondering if there was anything she could do before our arrival. She answered all of my questions and took care of any request I had, perfectly. The hotel is located in beautiful Beacon Hill and has a perfect location. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see and do. The entire staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly. We were able to have the hotel driver, Paul, take us to Fenway and he was great and full of information about the city. The rooms are impeccable both in décor and cleanliness. The bathroom was done in marble and the shower was perfect! We were there for our anniversary and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling and waiting for us in the room. I truly can't express how much we love this hotel and we will definitely stay there on our next trip to Boston. Thank you to the entire staff for a wonderful, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first time in Boston, and when the taxi pulled up to the hotel in a small street near Beacon Hill we were anxious, however when we went inside we were delighted with the luxurious interior and very friendly staff.
Our room was beautiful with every detail thought out. The room was large with writing desk, music centre, large TV on the wall, a very comfortable bed.
We also used the restaurant on our first night and were rewarded with an excellent meal.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little extra splash out on a suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose the XV for a brief couple weekend in Boston. The room was stylish in a contemporary blend of brown and mocca colors, very spacious and quiet.
Due to the location your view is constrained by the neighboring office building, thus curtains remain closed and give the room a very dim appearance. We didn't dine at the in house restaurant but very much enjoyed brunch there with live music.
Some quirks the hotel should work on include a very spotty WLAN in the room and an unheated bathroom mirror, essentially useless after a shower.
Talking about rates -- although a holiday weekend calls for a premium, the XV is way overpriced and not commensurate with the experience offered.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mh-bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I love a good boutique hotel. This is an excellent one. Charming, unique, comfortable and business traveler friendly, I loved the place! Found completely by random chance I got a room on the 10th floor and although there was no view, I did not care. There were so many fun and interesting features about this hotel you don't really need a view and if you do, on a nice day to go their rooftop with your music (the mechanical stuff is up there too and it's a bit noisy). What was not to love? They take your car so you don't have to struggle with it and drive you where you want to go and pick you up too! The concierge service was second-to-none. I got a theater ticket and a spa appointment with zero hassle. They knew what was what and where and were up-to-date. It was the busiest time of year with graduations and no rooms but you would not know it the way the eased each guest in and out. Kudos to this hotel group. I'd seek this place out for my next stay in Boston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Last fall, my husband and I had to travel to Boston for emergency medical care for our little dachshund, Dixie. Our friends at LuxuryPaw.com and XV Beacon were over the top and made a difficult time as comfortable possible. Janine Francheschi at LuxuryPaw.com immediately recommended XV Beacon and put us in touch with Amy, the GM. She was able to accommodate us last minute in an incredible room which was luxurious but felt “like home.”

Upon arrival, everyone greeted us by name (including our pup) and asked how we were all doing. We were overwhelmed when we opened the door to our room. They had set out a plush dog bed for Dixie right near the fireplace with a welcome/get-well note thanking us for our stay, wishing Dixie well, and letting us know they had made a donation to the local MSPCA Angell Memorial Hospital where Dixie was receiving treatment. Even more over the top was a beautifully decorated plate of handmade, healthy dog biscuits with a personalized get well note piped in peanut butter. Once we got settled, we were also brought a lovely “human” snack as well. The fireplace, cozy furniture, to-die-for bedding, marble bathroom, large windows with a view of the Commons, and the overall “feel” of being in your own living room were simply outstanding.

Every time we left or returned to the hotel, the doormen greeted us by name and gave Dixie a little scratch behind the ears wishing her well. We ordered room service for dinner so we could hang with Dixie and the food from Moo, the on-site restaurant was excellent!

While we were only there one night, we felt like the staff were family and we couldn’t have been more appreciative of that kind of support at such a difficult time. XV Beacon is lucky to have Amy as the GM – she was warm, welcoming and couldn’t have done more to make our stay perfect.

First, we want to thank Janine at LuxuryPaw.com for recommending XV Beacon and thank our new “family” at XV Beacon for the outstanding service and genuine support.

If you are travelling with a pet, be sure to visit LuxuryPaw.com for the best pet-friendly hotel recommendations. The owner, Janine, has personally visited all of the hotels on the site with her canine companion, Beau. And if you’re in Beantown, XV Beacon is the way to go – with or without your furry friend. These folks do it right, period.

Room Tip: The high level corner rooms with a view of the Commons are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monomoy1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,159 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing