We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but.....”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but.....”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed this past weekend for two nights. Staff is professional and helpful, and location is great. We had larger room that was good size but bathroom was smallish but acceptable. Loved the fireplace, and the oranges and apples available throughout the building. Two small events probably colored what would have been a five-star rating. First, our breakfast was included in our room charge, but we were still annoyed (even though we didn't pay it) when refills of our breakfast coffe incurred a second charge for coffee. Had we been paying, we would have been unhappy. The next day - Easter morning - we arrived for breakfast and were told there were no tables since their special brunch was sold out. Again, because the breakfast was included, we ultimately ate at the bar, but felt we should have been warned of this beforehand. To be fair, one of the managers did come out to apologize. If the breakfast was not part of our plan, we would have gone elsewhere, wherther we wanted to or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    189
    47
    30
    16
See reviews for
164
580
53
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night in March 2013. I had stayed here once before, a long time ago, and didn't love it because I felt the room was very small for the money. This time I felt like I got a lot for the money. First, Boston is expensive, no way around that. All in, taxes etc, our room was about $415/night but since I reserved through the Amex Platinum program, this included $100 food and beverage credit, a room upgrade and $30 credit for breakfast. Without all these benefits, I would probably only give the hotel 4 dots because I would have had a smaller room and ended up paying more (with breakfast etc). Service was very good, bathroom was great, bed was super comfortable. (Also, wi-fi was included, which is rare and a nice touch, and there was lip balm in the bathroom, which I appreciated). If you've never been to Boston this is an interesting location and very good location for tourist-ing. It's near all of the historical sites (I'm from this area so I prefer to stay in the Back Bay area, near all the great shopping).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at XV Beacon over a long weekend as a special treat for our 10th Anniversary. Upon checking in, we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Beacon Hill Studio and from start to finish the weekend was everything we'd hoped. The room itself is nicely appointed in dark wood tones and rich cream/camel colors. The linens were superb and the rain forest shower was worth every penny alone. Our living room area had a gas fireplace (as do all rooms here I believe) and flat screen mounted above the mantel. The rooms also have great sound systems, including speakers in the bathroom, for plugging in your own iphone/pod/mp3. It was comfortable and cozy to just hang out before dinner, drink some wine and chill by the fire while getting ready.
There is a great little roof top terrace and with the warm temps on Saturday we were able to hang out for a couple hours and enjoy the mild weather. The terrace is great and you get a beautiful view of the Boston skyline including the State House. The closets were large and had heavy wicker baskets for sundry items in addition to shoe drawers which I loved just a little bit.
What makes XV Beacon a standout is the incredible service and friendly staff. There wasn't anything you could ask for that they didn't immediately fulfill your request. In addition, we used the complimentary car service quite a few times throughout the weekend and our driver Mark, was excellent, even waiting late for us one night, past his usual time to knock off. (Be sure to book the car for evenings as soon as possible as it gets busy during normal dinner hours)
Hope we can get back soon. Such a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously get you a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reservationfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked a trip in September through Luxury Link and we weren't disappointed with our first trip to Boston. Located near Boston Common and close to the Freedom Trail and an easy walk to many historic sites. We had a spacious room overlooking Beacon Street,

Service was good and we took advantage of the Lexus car service to get us to dinner in Back Bay.

Would definitely book here on return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS82547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Living in the heart of down town Boston, affords me the opportunity to enjoy the city and take a five-minute cab ride home. That being said, it is a rare occasion that I would need to stay in a local hotel, with one exception, The Blizzard of 2013.

On that night, a fire displaced my family, forcing us to seek local refuge. The hotel nearest our home is XV Beacon, on Beacon Hill. XV Beacon is a beautiful, sophisticated boutique hotel, rich with dark wood paneling, marble flooring, high ceilings, and antique and modern furnishings.

My family and I entered this beautiful lobby with the clothes on our back. Warm friendly staff, that couldn’t have been more accommodating, greeted us. We were shown to a beautiful room containing all of the comforts of home, luxurious bedding, and a fireplace!

Over the next several days, were had the benefit of enjoying the food at Mooo, the hotel restaurant. Based on the length of our stay, we enjoyed every scrumptious appetizer, salad, and dessert. As for the steaks, they were by far the best in the city. The wine list was extensive, and the staff was well educated on every bottle.

I will end by saying that I cannot rave enough about the staff. They kindly assured us that we were welcome for as long as needed, and eagerly helped us settle in. The staff at XI Beacon turned a family catastrophe into a warm and welcoming adventure. I would highly recommend this hotel to those traveling from out of town, as well as to local Bostonians. You don't know what you are missing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delacyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

XV Beacon is a lovely boutique hotel with the feel of a well-decorated upscale home. Our room had a spacious sitting area, a nice gas fireplace and jetted tub. Everything appeared had been maintained well or renovated. The bellmen and concierge were greeting us by name shortly after arrival. We took advantage of the car service to avoid the parking challenges of Boston. The location can be a plus or a minus. It’s at the edge of Beacon Hill which puts it very close to the downtown financial area; however, it’s relatively far from the shops and restaurants on Charles street. The car service is great for getting around within 2 miles. The rooftop fitness center is rather small; however, the hotel can arrange access to larger nearby facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We selected this as the base for our first visit to Boston because of the high Tripadvisor rating, the look of the rooms and a well-timed SniqueAway deal. Overall we're very happy we did.

The hotel has a very small footprint -- only a few rooms per floor -- but the rooms were very large, and very cosy...which came in handy when a winter storm hit. Being able to lounge on the sofa or by the fireplace (!) and wait out the snow, never feeling cramped as we would have in a small room, really saved the day. The decor was all dark wood; a few of the finishes felt a little 80s, but overall the room didn't feel dated. More like a lived-in (rich) friend's condo.

The service was excellent...friendly front-desk staff, helpful concierge, and a very nice ride to the airport in the house car. The house car can drop you other places too, but there's also a subway stop just around the corner.

Breakfasts in Moooo, the restaurant on the ground floor, were terrific. So was dinner, even if we did over-indulge a little on the red meat. But it was a welcome comfort to have a great meal without needing to face the storm outside.

Definitely recommended if you're staying in Beacon Hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing