We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OUTSTANDING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Natick
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at XV Beacon last weekend. It was not our first stay and as usual it was fabulous...what a wonderful place to stay! It is a boutique hotel located on Beacon Hill. It is walking distance to the State House, the Common, Newbury Street, the Theater District and many great restaurants. If you prefer not to walk you can always request use of the house car. The staff is always available and attentive without being overbearing. It is beautifully decorated and outstanding in every regard. Our room is always immaculately clean and well appointed. I love the toiletries, the jet tub, cashmere throw and luxurious bath robes. I loved the robe so much we bought one. The beds are very comfortable and the lack of street noise encourages sleeping in. We had breakfast in the morning at the attached restaurant Moo. It is our favorite place to have breakfast. Try the sumptuous thick french toast, with caramelized bananas and the apple wood smoked bacon. One order of bacon is enough for two, but we always order two sides so we can take some home. There is a cozy outdoor deck and a few pieces of exercise equipment. We will definitely continue to stay at XV Beacon again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    179
    39
    28
    14
See reviews for
146
536
47
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights at XV Beacon in December. What a wonderful experience! It's a wonderfully warm boutique hotel where the staff is always at your disposal and could not have been more accomodating.They couldn't do enough for us. We ordered room service and it was one of the best meals we had. The location is right near the Boston Garden and statehouse. It was so quiet you never knew you were right in the city until you went out the front door! I would recommend it for it's understated beauty, the employees and as a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We chose a suite on the 10th floor. Had a gas fireplace, king bed and sofa area. It was well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The XV Beacon is a perfectly located, very comfortable and beautifully designed boutique hotel.
Staff is competent and polite, but unenthusiastic, which I was told is just the Boston way. As an European it was actually refreshing to stay in a US hotel where the staff doesn't jump at you constantly with smiles and greetings.
The lobby is quite small, but very nicely appointed. The elevators are old, a bit noisy and slow. I absolutely adored the rooms, beautifully designed and lit, with lovely boiserie, very elegant classic contemporary furniture, and a fireplace! I believe I got one of the smallest rooms, but it was still rather spacious. The bathroom was small, perhaps too small for two people to use it simultaneously.
The hallways, gorgeous as the rest of the property, had a very strong smell of food. I complained about that, but the issue was not addressed. It's probably a permanent problem, and a very off-putting one in my opinion.
The restaurant is a very nice venue. We had our thanksgiving lunch there and it was great.
We also took advantage of the hotel Lexus to drop us of at a restaurant once, but we were offered the hotel car almost every time we left. This is such a nice and rare amenity, it really makes up for any shortcomings the property might have.
Hotels for me are all about comfort, design, service and location, and the XV Beacon delivers an excellent performance in most domains. I highly recommend it, and will surely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The XV Beacon hotel was wonderful in every aspect. A special boutique hotel you must try if staying in Boston. The service from Doorman to front desk was spot on. Every detail was handled nicely. We found our first room a bit small, the staff moved us to a larger room while we went out for a bite to eat. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The gas fireplace and towel warmers where a welcome bonus during this cold weekend. Room service was fast and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay here again. Congratulations to the Staff for a job well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redinsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Two things make this hotel stand out.... location and the focus on customer service. The "team effort", is noticeable from the moment you get out of the cab. The staff at this hotel "get it". Kudos to everyone for your friendliness, willingness to answer questions, and for treating us like one treats guests in a home! The service was consistent throughout our three-night stay.

The hotel location was perfect as I attended a meeting at the Omni (only a two minute walk). Loved room 502, large comfortable work station in the room, best to use the ethernet connection, not so hot on wifi connectivity. The room was immaculate, faced the street, near the elevator. Not large, but the floor plan was laid out such that one felt the living area facing the fireplace was not squished next to the bed and work station.

We loved the walk-in rain shower, super clean bathroom, and quality linens. The turndown service and cleaning staff were cordial and helpful.

The personal service of Mark driving us in the house car to and from dinner and to the airport made the trip low hassle and convenient. He's a charming man, exudes hospitality and loves his job. That's such a rare customer experience in this day and age.

Excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvand00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked this hotel on the strength of many terrific tripadvisor reviews. That sometimes concerns us - maybe we may be expecting too much... In this case, we need not have worried. From before the visit interactions with the concierge (thanks Maddie) to the welcome to all the details of the stay it is clear that this hotel has mastered the art of being a "boutique hotel".

Since this was a special occasion we let the staff know in advance and we were greeted in our room by a large slice of birthday cake and a bottle of sparkling wine. Nice touch! And on the first evening I had ordered the "rose petal turn down" service which was elegantly executed.

We can't say enough about the friendly nature of the staff. We even got to enjoy the car service that took us to dinner one evening. Our room was a large corner room, very well laid out and with a terrific view out onto Beacon St. and towards the Common. Frankly, how do you beat this location? We were able to walk to Newbury Street and along the Freedom Trail to the north end.

What could be improved. Not much. For one thing - the hotel is doing something right with its staff. Is it hiring or training or both? That has to continue. Don't let up!

In a next renovation it might be worthwhile re-configuring the lobby to make it more attractive and larger. A great deal of space at the front of the building is devoted to a little used part of Moo restaurant. It occured to us that a larger lobby would be more useful and would accommodate more people. There were occasions when the lobby did get congested with staff, conceirge area, check in and guests. When there are more than 15 people in the area it starts to become less like a relaxing boutique hotel and more like a crowded boutique.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFKSAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic boutique-type hotel in a perfect location! VERY friendly staff, super clean rooms, everything was outstanding! Little small details in the rooms, huge TV's very comfortable beds! Parking is by valet only, great restaurant and bar attached to hotel. We stay here often and each time is better than the last! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank church666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing