We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful visit to the XV”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed our visit last year at the XV that we came back again this year. Same great place, wonderful staff, and such a positive start to our vacation!

The location could not be better - downtown Boston is a very easy town to navigate and easily walkable but the car service is an added plus when you don't want to walk it. Steps away from the Freedom Trail, King's Chapel, The Granary Cemetery and the other historical sights, as well as Boston Commons Park. The T-line is a couple of short blocks away if you want to take the subway.

Don't miss a short walk down to Charles Street for breakfast and people watching!

See you again at the XV - next time we visit Boston!

Room Tip: Last year we stayed on the front side of the hotel in a larger suite. There was some traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel. Every staff member was so friendly. Rooms were meticulous. In a great location. concierge was very helpful. They reserved several restaurants for us. All were fabulous!. I will definitely visit again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Penny1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here with my wife in August and it was a great experience. Our room was special, there is a fireplace in every room which truly makes it a romantic experience. The room was clean and the towels and sheets were what you would expect from a luxury hotel. There was a TV in the bathroom that was a nice touch. I was impressed by the way they would clean the room every time we left and leave a small plate of chocolate and fruit. We had late check out and we ordered breakfast room service. The room service was excellent and the food was amazing. The hotel restaurant Moo had amazing food. We also made use of the roof top hot tub and the complimentary Car service. The hotel is also close to a great park and restaurants and shopping. My wife and I loved it.

Room Tip: choose a high room and better to book through a luxury travel service like Amex Platinum to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugNY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The XV Beacon is truly an amazing hotel. This was our first visit to Boston, and staying at The XV Beacon made our stay all the more special. This hotel is just gorgeous, very plush, very classy and just so relaxing, with staff that can't do enogh for you. Location was also great.
We visited with friends on August 21st for 4 days to celebrate my wifes birthday and our every need was catered for.
We shall definitely visit Boston again, and will only sayt at the Beacon.
PJS19
in Lyme Regis
U.K.

Room Tip: 602 and 604 are very spacious and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed five nights at XV Beacon. I had considered other boutiques but they were almost all in the Back Bay area. After a week getting to know Boston's neighbourhoods, I'm glad we chose XV Beacon because of the location and even more importantly for the relaxing and comfortable stay.

The lobby is a modest size and understated in its décor as are the hallways, but the rooms are replete with extras. The marble bathroom rooms provide amenities beyond shampoo, conditioner and soap, such as lip balm, a tv and heated towel rack. The bath sheets are plush as are the bathrobes. The mini bar and snacks are extensive (although we did not use it) but the bar area includes wine glasses (very important for me). We were able to have a Nespresso machine upon request.

The bed was comfortable and faced a working gas fireplace as well as flat screen tv. Turn down service included turning on the stereo in the room which was very quiet. The room included a comfortable lounge chair as well as desk and chairs. There was no real view from the windows, just other buildings, but the draperies worked well to keep out the morning light.

Other extras included the shuttle service provided by the top of the line Lexus vehicles which we greatly appreciated. Internet connections are free and fast, which isn't always the case.

The restaurant Mooo is attached and also provides room service. We tried the restaurant for breakfast and enjoyed it. For dinner, the food was good but we enjoyed other Boston restaurants more. Somehow we never made it to the rooftop terrace. Maybe next time.

Not enough good can be said of the staff who were all friendly and helpful.

It is not an inexpensive hotel but we found it well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us by American express. We have decided to stay in Boston and extra night and didn't want to spend any more time at the Hilton in the financial district.

On arrival we were greeted with excellent service. As we had moved straight from the Hilton to this hotel it wasn't even 10 o'clock in the morning however, they were more than happy to let us into a room. They even upgraded us to one of their full size suites.

The room was fantastic. There was a separate seating area with a real fire and armchairs. And the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom had an incredibly powerful shower and a spa bath.

My only disappointment with the hotel was the traffic noise outside. However, in the city this is not a surprise!

The hotel has a lovely roof garden. We were able to go up there and catch the last bright rays of sunshine and enjoy a lovely bottle of wine whilst overlooking the city. In fact, we were so happy to have seen this we didn't bother going to the Prudential Centre Skywalk.

The hotel is expensive. But, in my opinion was worth it. We were lucky enough to get a few extras as a result of booking through American Express. This meant we tried the restaurant, which was equally as good as the hotel, and the food was delicious.

If ever I return to Boston, I will most certainly stay here if it's available. I urge you to do the same!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

An extraordinary experience - we stayed here 3 times between 2003 and 2006 - and all these years later, we still look back on it as the best hotel we've ever stayed in. From the plushness of the very quiet rooms and gorgeous comfy bedding to the world class restaurant below, and the dreamy rooftop terrace overlooking the Boston skyline, it's an all time world class place to stay. But it's the service that stands out - from the care taken by the reception staff when on one visit my wife's back went out, to the inevitable 'welcome back' we got every time the doors were opened to us by the friendly doormen, we were always made to feel like movie stars. We can't wait to go back. So why only very good, not excellent? With no rate card published for the minibar, we got massively stung on our most recent visit on rates tucking in to a sublime half bottle of Opus One without realising the huge cost payable on checking out...

Room Tip: All 3 of the rooms we stayed in were gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XVBGM, General Manager at XV Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments about XV Beacon. I appreciate you coming back to us through the years. I do apologize for the absent private menu listing the prices. I would be happy to credit the Opus if you would contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you.
Regards,
Amy Finsilver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $407 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing