We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private residence in the heart of Beacon Hill.”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Charming hotel, excellent service, and private rooms make it feel more like a residence than a hotel. Quite area, close walk to Charles Street for dining or across the common to shop on Newbury St.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
There are newer reviews for XV Beacon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed twice at this beautiful boutique hotel perched right at the top of Beacon Hill. The staff is very warm, friendly, and helpful — from the doormen who greet you upon arrival all the way through the concierge and front desk. The ever present availability of a free chauffeur driven car service is the icing on the cake. The rooms are very well appointed and the bedding in particular is great. If there is a downside to the hotel it is that few, if any, of the rooms have views of the nearby Boston Commons and Public Gardens, but that's pretty much par for the course in this area of town. If you want the views you'll have to stay at the Four Seasons which literally fronts the Commons and the Gardens.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a number of discounts for college affiliation and AAA. Be sure to ask.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Came for a second wedding anniversary, my wife and I were blown away by the unique interior design ... By far the best Boston Hotel we have ever stayed in ... Amazing rooms, amazing dinner at Mooo Restaurant, service and atmosphere top notch ... If your planning an event or trying to impress this is it... No other place in Boston can match ...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ddeamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to many Boston sights. Only a few blocks to subway stop which will take you virtually everywhere. We stayed in a "Classic" room that was of ample size and very well appointed. It had a queen bed that might be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Staff is very attentive and will help with any needs. This would be luxury class.

Room Tip: We had a room not facing the street, so very quiet. Room faced an adjacent office building, so no vi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raincityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay in the city for our 5th Anniversary & his 30th Birthday this past weekend. I cannot give enough praise to this hotel for all the wonderful things they did for us for both occasions.

We were in room 1004, which is a Beacon Hill Studio. This is a perfect room for 2 people who just want to enjoy a wonderful evening in. There is a fireplace and a wonderful stereo with surround sound to enjoy while having room service. The bathroom was so amazing with terrific toiletries. The only minor issue with the room, was that with such a large room, there was only a queen bed. I believe there is an option to have a king or queen- so please do specify if you are staying here!

We ordered room service from Mooo for dinner, and it was as wonderful as eating in the restaurant itself. We ordered at 7:30PM on a Saturday, and had it delivered in half an hour. The steak was just as warm as it would be delivered to a table. I recommend the calamari & the tuna tartare to start! We also ordered room service for breakfast, which was also wonderful.

If you want a beautiful view of the city, go to the 10th level and then walk up the stairs to the roof garden. Extraordinary views and grab a glass of champagne while your at it!

The hotel is 1 block off of the common overlooking the courthouse. You can park in the common and walk over if you want to save a few dollars on parking. The hotel has a lot right next to it as well should you have a lot of luggage or prefer to have your car immediately.

Overall, this hotel was a perfect place to spend the night for a very special occasion.

Room Tip: The Beacon Hill studio is the perfect amount of space. Top floor has beautiful windows large window...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel over the Easter weekend. The hotel staff were great and the rooms were amazing. Tastefully decorated, with a lovely gas fireplace and a stereo system that even had speakers in the washroom! The location was great (right by Boston Common). The weekend was perfect except for the suggestion that the concierge made for dinner the first night (not the greatest). We made use of the hotel car quite a few times. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Loved XV Beacon. Our only regret was the briefness of our stay because we had to head to the suburbs on Friday for a bar mitzvah. Staff was great, as were the rooms and the central location. We will definitely return on our next visit to Boston!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $422 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing