We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Accommodations”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Accommodations”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at VX Beacon for our 20th Anniversary. The staff was extremely accommodating from the moment we arrived. From Valet to check-in to Concierge to Bellman...everything was superb. Just what you should expect from an upscale, boutique hotel. Located in the historic Beacon Hill area of Boston VX Beacon is located near everything you'd need. Museums, the New England Aquarium, shopping, fine dining establishments, the Theatre District, Historic Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, Boston's Financial District, the Seaport District, etc. The rooms are impeccably clean and spacious. We had a corner unit with six huge windows. The bedding is fresh and comfortable. The shower has plenty of pressure. Our room had a jacuzzi tub. There were a small color tv in the bathroom. His and her plush robes. The towels were quality grade heavy cotton and since I'm not a small guy I have to make this statement..."It covered me well...with room to spare!" I believe that is very import. I have to say that VX Beacon truly superseded all of my expectations. If you go to their website you will see a picture of the room that we stayed in. "As good as it looks in the picture is as good as it looks in person." As a travel agent I would recommend VX Beacon to all my clients looking for a nice boutique hotel. By the way, they had no idea that I was a travel agent, therefore they couldn't treat me any different from the way they would treat anyone else!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonytonemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    189
    47
    30
    16
See reviews for
163
580
53
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

What a fabulous hotel! XV Beacon is conveniently located just off Boston Common near the State house and near the Park Street T station (Access to both the Red and the Green Line).

We stayed in a spacious corner junior suite. The room was huge and beautifully appointed. I was traveling with my teenage daughter visiting colleges and this room provided us with ample space to stretch out and relax after a long day of walking. The Fireplace was such a welcome luxury as it was cold and snowy during our visit.

The front desk staff are so friendly and helpful and the concierge Julie was a huge help in planning travel time, etc.

I used to travel to Boston frequently on Business and the old Ritz (now the Taj) was my favorite. But the service at the Taj is not what I had come to expect from the old Ritz and I was sorely disappointed on my last visit. Fortunately, XV Beacon has recaptured much of the grace of "old Boston", but in a new and totally updated environment. Can't wait go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I will keep this short and sweet, because the other posts have covered most of the bases. This was our second time staying at the small boutique hotel. Do not hesitate to book a room here. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, staff helpful but not intrusive. Great location. We relaxed and felt pampered all weekend. Room service was excellent and delivered promptly. Kudos to the XV Beacon team.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my4sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Had a great stay at XV during February this year for 3 nights. The location is fantastic. They are right on the edge of Boston Common and right next to the state house.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Upon arrival we found out that the drain in our jetted tub was not working right. I put in a call to the front desk and within 3 minutes, (no lie) they were there fixed the problem and were out within 6 minutes.

We stayed in a studio. It had a King bed with a stereo system throughout the room and bathroom. There was a gas fireplace and great views of the city. I read one review that complained that they could see into the building across the street. It's a city people! come on! The sheets were very soft and there was turn down service every night. They also turned on the stereo at this time to some easy listening music which was nice to come back to.
The concierge Jule was a great help for setting up appointments and suggestions for restaurants. She was also a big help in getting us the hotel car for a few trips around the city. All of the drivers we had were great; friendly and professional.
Housekeeping did a great job during our entire stay, even organizing my shoes for me every day.
I have very few negatives to say about this hotel. While they did have an iPod dock it would have been nice to have it tied into the stereo system. Also, the fireplace is tied into the heating system so it shuts off when the room gets too warm and we had issues trying to find a balance trying to keep the room cool enough to be able to enjoy. I figured out that we need to crack the window a little to get it right, but I think there should be a better way.
All in all we loved our stay. A quick tip, head down to the Lush store on Newberry and pick up a bath bomb before hitting the jetted tub.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heardinggroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I grew up in Roslindale. I lived two doors away from The Public Garden on Arlington Street. I went to Boston Latin School and thought I knew everything there was to know about my hometown.

XV Beacon exceeded my every expectation.

Whenever I visit BeanTown, it is my new home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband and I had such a memorable stay at your hotel. We cannot stop bragging about our stay at XV Beacon. The added touches were remarkable, such as sending slice of chocolate cake and a bottle of wine to our room in celebration of my husband's birthday. What a great surprise and so very thoughtful. He especially love the personalized card as well. Our room was cozy, romantic, roomy and  luxurious all in one. We loved the soft pillows and comfy robes, and the fireplace added the warmth of home.  The chauffeur service was also a nice touch, it added such class to your hotel, and to our stay.  We have stayed at a few hotels in Boston, because we like to try different places. But I think we have found our home away from home. Our 9th year wedding anniversary is approaching (October 6), and we made plans to come back to XV Beacon to celebrate our special moment. Thank you and all your staff ( especially Johnathan at the concierge desk), for a weekend we will always remember.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsugar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The staff was accommodating on a rainy night driving us where ever we wanted/needed to go. Our room came with champagne and rose peddles setting the mood for a long over do romantic weekend with my husband who business keeps away from me too much. I thank you and the staff for going out of your way to make our time a special one. We will be sure to come back and share our experience with everyone including those reading this right now.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJoe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing