We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Seaport Boston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersGold level
Asia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for one week at the hotel and booked a standard room. It is located right next to the world trade center and is also close by the convention center. For those having business in either of those venues it is very convenient to get there.
The room was very tidy, fully equipped with a comfortable king size bed, a reasonably sized working area with wifi, a pod coffee/tea maker which produced great coffee provided by the hotel, a two-seater sofa and a chair. All the expected amenities were there like safety box, small refrigerator, big flat-screen TV, ironing board, bathrobes, blow dryer etc.
The lobby is comprised of different meeting and lounge area, ATM, Starbucks, and a restaurant/bar. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful.
The downside was that breakfast was not included (but there is an excellent Seven Eleven just around the corner) and that the ceiling of the aisles and rooms felt a bit low for my taste. But that is probably just my preference since I love high ceilings.
I also would have preferred a separate shower rather than taking a shower in the bathtub and a shower curtain. That is my reason why I rate the hotel very good and not excellent.
The surrounding area seems to be developed into an upscale dining and office area and some of the old port buildings seems to have been upgraded and converted into offices, hotels and restos. I liked the feel of the area.
For those who come to see Boston I would suggest to find a hotel in downtown, however if you don't mind a bit of walking the major sites can also be reached by foot within 30 minutes or so.
I liked the place but if it weren't for business purposes I think I would choose a hotel closer to the action.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q-Cuppster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,424
    842
    149
    54
    39
See reviews for
847
1,046
158
1,995
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My stay at the Seaport Boston was for a massage therapy research conference right after the Boston Marathon bombing. The staff at the hotel are to be commended for their excellent service and "moving forward" attitude after such a traumatic event. They took care of our every need and were both courteous and positive under potentially unstable conditions. I felt safe and able to network with colleagues and focus on the presentations and educational materials at hand. Wish I could have stayed longer; Boston is such an incredibly diverse place.

FYI, the Seaport Boston is directly aross from the harbor, close to the airport and sits almost opposite the bus terminal. The Silverline will drop you off for free (save yourself a $20 cab ride). There are also several restaurants w/i walking distance of the hotel. Boston Commons is less than two miles away as well, and full of shops, eateries and historic sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinByler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaportGM, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for your thoughtful review. Your visit coincided with a traumatic time for our city but I am glad to hear you found our team to be helpful and responsive, and that your trip was a productive one. Should your travels bring you back to Boston, I hope you will consider our property again.

Kind regards,

James M. Carmody
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a recent trip back to Boston to celbrate our one year wedding anniversary. The hotel/room was clean and updated. The beds/pillows were extremely comfortable and most of all the time spent in the room was quiet.

Parking is available under the hotel and at $33 a day is pretty much on par with other lots in the area. Although we didn't advantage, there is the ability to come and go from the garage during your stay. You are given a key to the garage when paying for parking upfront. Could be helpful if exploring the city.

Over the past few years the seaport has really started to build up with numerous bars and restaurants close by. We walked to fanuel hall and the north end during our stay. Should you want to take a cab, those are waiting just off the main lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeterkeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
259 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It all started when I called Reservations and had a wonderful woman named Lula help me with my reservation. She was showing no availablity, yet my corporate travel site showed rooms available. She stayed on the line with me until my reservation went through from my corporate site, and then she even said "I'll e-mail you when it comes into our reservation system" - and she did. Then when I checked in, everyone was exceedingly helpful - from the valet to the front desk to the concierge. The room was wonderful. Finally, the food in the hotel bar and in the restaurant (at breakfast) was great. I was also impressed with the hotel's commitment to being "green" - right down to the beehives and making their own honey!!

Green Features: The open spaces (the gardens, etc) looked so inviting that I was wishing I had time to just take a book outside to read. And the fact that they keep bees, to make their own honey, is not only "green" but charming.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaportGM, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback about our team and it’s wonderful when specific individuals are recognized. We will be sure to share your comments with Lula. I am extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your visits to TAMO bar and Aura restaurant, and that our environmentally-friendly initiatives caught your attention. Thank you for your recent Seaport Boston Hotel stay.

Kind regards,

James M. Carmody
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a delight to have friendly, helpful staff at a beautiful hotel, located very near the Convention Center and the harbor. The staff does not accept tips; an 18% gratuity is added to all food and beverage bills. The housekeepers went out of their way to fulfill all of our requests. The food was good in the restaurants. Only one bad experience when one of the lunch meals was served cold, and while the waiter removed it from our bill, she never asked if we wanted a replacement meal. All of this within a day after the capture of the second Marathon bomber.

Many tourist attractions were within a reasonable walking distance - 15-30 minutes. We're walkers, so we didn't mind at all.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 18th floor in a room large enough for a king bed and 2 roll-aways.
See more room tips
Green Features: Quite surprised at their efforts - recycling bins in the room for paper, plastic, and glass.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because a secretary picked this hotel and the other people in my party stayed here and we had to have meetings. This was my first stay in Boston and I didn't know any better. This hotel is a long walk from all the major tourist attractions.

As far as hotel points go, since I stayed here for two weeks, I accumulated some points in the Stash program but not enough to get even one free night at most of the Stash hotels (boutique hotels). I wish I had done more research and stayed at the Marriott close by because there are more Marriotts all over the country than Stash hotels.

Also, there was no complimentary breakfast. There was a Starbucks in the lower level.

The room was kind of small. One good thing was that there was a Keurig in the bathroom for coffee. The gym was pretty nice and there was a pool.

The overall feeling from the hotel was kind of reserved and not that friendly. Since I stayed for two weeks I wished for a friendlier place.

For my second trip to Boston, I picked the Intercontinental across the water and what a difference! The vibe at the Intercontinental is so much more alive, with a happening bar on the water and lots of beautiful flowers. Plus I didn't have to walk an extra twenty minutes to get to the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopqwueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaportGM, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
This is disappointing to read as we pride ourselves as being a hotel with a personality, one where our staff is engaging and empowered. To hear that you did not feel that warm embrace after a two week stay is a concern. I will use this review as a basis for further improvement as we strive for service excellence at the Seaport Boston Hotel. I appreciate your feedback about the points program, and will take that into consideration as we evaluate our offerings. Thank you for the compliments on the Keurig coffeemaker and the complimentary Wave Health & Fitness.

Kind regards,

James M. Carmody
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the time I got out of the cab, to checking in, the health facilities, the room, etc. everything has been fantastic! In particular the concierge, Dana. he made us dinner reservation, printed out walking directions to the best nail salon in the area, you name it, he did it. He has been kind, friendly and extremely helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Property: Seaport Boston Hotel
Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing