We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Call -- Location and People Trump Tired Building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #48 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location of this Hilton cannot be beat. It is an easy walk to Faneuil Hall, the North End, all of the financial district and a subway station. Except for the very cold front desk reception, the staff, especially the valets and servers at breakfast were friendly and most helpful.

Pros:
Location -- close to tourist attractions, the North End and financial district.
Large rooms, at least our corner room was large.
Very clean rooms, bathrooms and public areas.

Cons:
If you wander from the main streets, the area quickly becomes sketchy.
Cold, uninformative reception.
The building is showing its age. It is tired and in need of rennovation.
There is a fair amount of room to room noise.
No HiltonHonors perks.


My wife is HiltonHonors, Diamond. When we checked in, the lady said, "And here are your breakfast vouchers." The next morning we went to the buffet breakfast. When finished, we were handed a bill for $30. Seems if you add eggs to your breakfast roll, it costs $10 per person. The second morning, the hostess did tell us that as we entered. "Thanks, but we learned it the hard way yesterday."

We received no room upgrade, although in fairness, they may have been full, but very surprisingly, there is no executive lounge. A large name brand hotel in the middle of a major
financial district and there are no perks for HiltonHonors members other than a bottle of water.

On balance, I would recommend the hotel, but be aware of its substantial shortcomings.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on your stay. We're glad that you found your room clean and comfortable and received great service from many team members. We sincerely appreciate the honest feedback on the front desk service. It is of great value to us as we work to ensure every interaction we have with our guests conveys the same level of warmth and attention you received elsewhere in the hotel. The hotel does not have an executive lounge. Our Diamond members do enjoy complimentary Internet, bottled water and continental breakfast. We are proud to be in one of Boston's most historic and landmarked buildings. Over the past year, our team has been busy upgrading many behind the scenes mechanical systems designed to ensure the comfort of our guests for decades. Your comments will help guide us as we turn to more visible areas of the hotel. We look forward to your next trip to Boston.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for my wedding. Both sides of my wife and I's family stayed there as well. Great location city wise, nice rooms and good service.

The only issues I noticed were large red stains in the carpet of my room, there were also holes in the ceiling panels in the hallway, as if someone for for to fix it. Other than that, rooms were clean and service was good. Steve the bellhop was very helpful and made my stay nice and easy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We're especially delighted to pass on your great comments about Steven on our bell person team. Thank you for the honest feedback on the condition of the carpet and hallway ceiling. Attempts to remove the colored stain you noticed through shampooing prior to your stay were unsuccessful. We are now in the process of scheduling to have the carpet replaced. As for the ceiling, you did catch us in the middle of upgrading our high speed Internet infrastructure. Our new equipment will be online very soon. We're excited for it, but we do sincerely apologize and regret that the appearance of the hall during your stay. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Boston.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Mixed feelings about this hotel. The location (with respect to the city sights) was great, but the surrounding neighborhood is dingy and offers very little except some marginal bars. The rooms were comfortable, but the street noise was quite loud. We were on the 5th floor. The other group, on the 14th floor could also hear some noise from outside, but in addition had an extremely loud air conditioning unit which they decided was not worth turning on. The breakfast in the hotel was quite expensive and often (particularly on the week days) out of items - yogurt, cereal etc. Also, apparently we were the only people in the restaurant who didn't have coupons entitling them to a free continental breakfast. Not sure what I did wrong, but hope you can avoid that! Since there are really no good alternative options in the neighborhood, the hotel restaurant is it.

Room Tip: higher the better. very noisy near street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92JeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate the honest input on the noise issues. Fortunately, there was enough information in your post for us to identify the room on the 14th floor so we could have our engineers rectify the AC unit. We do believe there are many upscale establishments within just blocks of the hotel and we regret that our team didn't do a better job pointing them out. We hope we will have another opportunity to do that on your next visit to Boston.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is close to the water front, north end was a short walk. Market and T was also a close walk. Felt safe at all times walking back to the hotel. We had a suite for a family of two adults and two teenagers, the room(s) we just right for the family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Northcoast0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Was only there for one night but our two rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Nothing over-the-top but nothing amiss either. Friendly and helpful staff and a 3-minute walk to Faneuil itself. Great price for the area, to boot (booked on Tingo).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the staff was very accommodating. I loved the location of the hotel because it was close to everything. The most impressive attribute to this Hilton is Barry, who runs the show outside, and he was absolutely AMAZING! I was with a group of girls for a bachelorette party and Barry helped from getting us a limo for next to nothing to offering suggestions as to where we should go to just taking pictures. Anything we needed and Barry was there! It was one of the best trips I've ever been on and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling in the Boston area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful comments regarding Barry. Barry takes great pride in being of service to our guests and we've enjoyed sharing your comments with him. We all look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall , we found this to be an excellent location for sightseeing in Boston. We were able to walk virtually everywhere. The rooms were very comfortable. My only beef was the soft pillows, but they brought us firm pillows on request. The concierge service was reasonably good, but not outstanding.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank WeBRads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 86 in Boston
1,784 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#50 of 86 in Boston
8,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 86 in Boston
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Boston
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $163 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features Fin Point Oyster Bar & Grille serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing