We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing its age” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
348 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Showing its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked Hilton Downtown due to corporate discount. Parking is 45 plus partial day if you arrive early. L hotel nearby is 8 for weekends.
Room is old, walls thin, we heard next door kids til 11pm. causing my kid a hard time to sleep. So we let mine turn up the at 8am. We could tell it woke the up haha. So 2 families miserable. Well, better insulation would have helped.
Bathroom commode and tub are old. AC is centralized to building not really controlled in your room.

Hhonors gold gets you only the cold foods + oatmeal. Hot foods $10 more. I forgot this was why I switched to Langham. I think it's cheesy and tacky.
Service overall is good. Especially the valets. I just didn't like paying $57 plus tip for noon arrival and 945 am departure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    665
    287
    95
    69
See reviews for
423
545
58
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

from the time we arrived until the time we left the entire Hilton staff could not have been friendlier. from assistance with restauurants and night spots to directions to all the tourist sight everyone was 100% professional. Special coudos to the door men for putting up with us during Fridays torrential down pours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in a spacious suite - I was surprised to have so much space in a downtown hotel. The furniture was lovely, featuring granite tops on the tables, dressers, and stands. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. It's an easy walk to the waterfront (Rowes Wharf and Long Wharf) and to many downtown attractions. A feature that I liked especially is that this hotel provides very nice bathrobes. There was one small thing that I didn't like - there were not enough hooks and racks in the bathroom. When I took a shower, there was no place to hang up my robe and clean clothes so I had to put them on the floor. Otherwise, a very nicely designed suite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. We're delighted to hear that enjoyed having the extra space of the living room with your one bedroom suite. It's great to be walking distance from the waterfront. The city is also doing great thigs with the Rose Kennedy Greenway that is just steps out our door. Thank you for the feedback on the bathroom. We do offer an optional towel reuse program that allows guests to choose to conserve resources by hanging towels, but we realize we don't have many hooks. Our designers are looking into options to fix this as we plan the next renovation. We hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location. However room was small and the carpet was old and dirty. Breakfast staff was outstanding and put our group in room off to side. Wished we had stayed at airport Hilton as that is more consistent with Hilton standards.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid review on the look and feel of our guestrooms and will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs. We're glad that our restaurant team was able to ensure your group had a good start to their day. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fun to be in walking distance of Faneuil Hall and the harbor. We (family of 4) all got what we wanted at Quincy Market, then walked over to the harbor and ate at picnic tables. Rooms had high ceilings and felt very spacious. Clean and updated and very nice. Only complaint was I kept thinking the windows were open but they were not. Fortunately, it wasn't noisy at night so didn't lose any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATexas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're glad our location helped your family make the most of Faneuil Hall and the harbor waterfront. We're also happy to hear you enjoyed your room and we appreciate the comments on the window. These comments help us focus our preventative maintenance efforts. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back in Boston soon.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, TX
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned the location is very good for Quincy Market, North End, etc. Doorman was very helpful in getting us cabs and for directions. As Hilton Diamond member I get free breakfast buffet. It was fine but I would not pay for it. Better would be Dunkin Donuts around the corner or Quincy Market. Pubs located around the hotel are very good, especially Mr. Dooley's located right next door. Great food at Dooley's and live music most nights.

Our room was a corner double that had a lot of room. Well worth the upgrade.

The bar/lounge was interesting. While having drinks at the bar watching the last inning of the Red Sox game the DJ from the lounge came over and shut off all the TVs. Just walked over with a remote and shut them off without asking. Its the Boston Red Sox and the last inning, he could have waited. At night the lounge becomes a niteclub with a lot of security. Again strange for a hotel.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to corner superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thptrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your room and that it provided a great base for you to enjoy all the nearby attractions. Thank you for your candid feedback on the breakfast and the lounge service which we appreciate as we strive to improve our offerings. Our restaurant has recently stopped switching to a format with a DJ at night. Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton as a Diamond member and we hope to see you back soon.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've been to Boston a few times and stayed in other hotels, and the Hilton was a very good value for the location. You're just a couple blocks away from historical sights like Faneuil Hall, and great eateries and and pubs - always enjoy the Union Oyster House. Our room was spacious for a city hotel, it was very clean, and the staff were very accommodating when we needed advice or service.

Room Tip: get a high corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRQ-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and that our location allowed you to walk to many great spots in Boston. Thank you for the kind comments on our team - we are fortunate to have a great team that enjoys being of service. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#49 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Property: Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features a full-service restaurant serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing