We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views from higher floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and views from higher floors”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cashed in HiltonHonors points for an overnight stay Easter weekend. Got upgraded to top (15th) floor in good sized room with huge windows and great view of the harbor. Great location to walk to Faneuil Hall, North End, Seaport and more. Breakfast buffet with free coupons was adequate to get us going in the morning. As HH Diamond got free WiFi. Valet parking at $45 a night only option with a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernaF7449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    716
    308
    103
    74
See reviews for
477
592
63
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Central location to everything, walked to aquarium, Faneuil Hall and TD Garden.
Thanks to Kate at the front desk, a check in request was easily met, after the reservation department could not accomodate us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-d-rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent location for all tourist destinations. Close to the T. Restaurants, bars, and coffee places nearby. Hotel bar was very popular. Room was very nice. Elevator to the 14th floor worked very well. Hotel desk workers were very helpful and it was easy to get a late checkout. $14 a day for internet. Turndown service. No refrigerator in room. Generally quiet. Doorman attentive. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbarger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked the trip through American Airlines Vacations.Arrived at the hotel with our son and no record of booking could be found. That's where Mr.Chris Burke in Guest Services took over and went above and beyond to resolve the issue. We received the original rate and an excellent room. Mr.Burke could have easily done nothing and charged us more.I really appreciated his efforts. We are Marriott fans ,but with service like this we will be returning not only to this Hilton but others. The hotel room was beyond clean the beds incredibly comfortable. Great location for walking everywhere in a great walking city Boston. Thank you Mr.Burke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael1721956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here 5 nights (April 1-5) and thought it was a reasonably good experience.

The positives:

We appreciated the location--close to Faneuil Hall / Quincy Market and the North End.

The front desk reception, concierge desk and bellmen were all very attentive and friendly.

The concierge helped us get Duck Tour tickets (reserved it, printed tix and sent them to our room), gave us great instructions on how to take the train to Salem for the day, and also arranged an Enterprise rental car (conveniently delivered to us at the hotel) so we could do a day trip to Plymouth.

We had a family suite, which was roomy for our family of 5 (two adults and three teenagers).

The room was clean and comfortable and the Internet access was good/reliable.

The breakfast buffet was solid (but not amazing).

When we got into our room, we noticed the towel rack near the sink was broken; upon notifying the front desk, it was immediately fixed.

The negatives:

If you want any of the hot items on the breakfast buffet, there's an additional charge beyond the complimentary (for Diamond members) continental/cold buffet. The problem is that if you want a slice of bacon, you've triggered the upgrade (I believe $10), and there's no way to order anything a la carte. (note to mgmt: just make your buffet a single price because the hot items are neither extensive nor incredible, and you hurt customer goodwill to do otherwise).

The closer we got to the weekend, the noisier the nearby pub was at night. Some other reviewers noted this and it is true (we were 10 floors up and could hear the revelers), though we're pretty sound sleepers so it wasn't a major issue for us.

We opened the sofa bed so my wife and I could sleep on it (our slept in each of the small double beds and a rollaway), and noticed that it had no bedding so we asked the front desk to have housekeeping make it up while we were out at dinner. Instead, when we came back from dinner we noticed that a second rollaway had been put in the room and the sofa bed had been folded up. When we called the front desk we were told it was broken. We insisted it wasn't broken and for it to be made up and for the second rollaway to be removed. A manager had to be consulted and finally they made up the sofa bed. It wasn't broken, but the mattress was so flimsy and worn out, we finally understood why it was "broken". So it begs the question of why Hilton sells you a room with a pull out sofa bed that they know is "broken" (because they don't want to invest in new sofa bed mattresses and it's cheaper to just use rollaways)?

Which brings us to the biggest negative about the hotel: it's a Hilton! I just wrapped up many years as a Diamond member, as I have finally diversified away from Hilton because it's just become too blatantly evident that they're doing everything to enhance profitability--very few amenities in the plain rooms, bathroom amenity cosmetics are cheapest option possible, etc. Naturally they, like many hotels, say they're trying to be environmentally friendly (which is a good thing) by not changing your beds/towels unless you put a card on the bed and towels on the floor, but of course this is born primarily out of a cost saving initiative. The rooms at this property and others have just become "no frills / plain wrap".


So, all told, it's a well-located adequate hotel, with very friendly, attentive staff.

Room Tip: High floor so you don't hear the street traffic / pub revelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in April. Staff were really helpful and friendly, rooms were spotlessly clean and the location is absolutely perfect for anyone visiting Boston and looking to visit the nearby Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall.
The only thing that stopped this being 5 stars was the fact that at night at the weekend, the bar attached to the hotel becomes a very popular night spot and guests have to queue outside to get access to the only bar in the hotel. Overall though would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wool
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would have liked to have spent more time around here, but I only had the one night, I booked with points and when I got there they apgraded me to a suite, very nice. Some major roadworks outside, but apart from that great location, walked to the restaurant by the seafront, easy to walk everywhere, look foward to a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLELWool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,597 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#50 of 83 in Boston
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Property: Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features Fin Point Oyster Bar & Grille serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing