We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, bad location.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

LOCATION: This hotel is right next to the airport, and a long distance from downtown Boston. There is nothing near the hotel to walk to, but the hotel shuttle runs constinually.

FOOD AT THE HOTEL: There is a one restaurant and a bar area. The restaurant has decent food. There’s a nice looking breakfast buffet but its $25 per person. There is no coffee shop. There is a coffee maker in the room with cheap tasting coffee and powered creamer. The restaurant has coffee for $4 or latte for $4. I got the latte and it was really good.

SAM ADAMS BREWERY TOUR: We took the hotel shuttle to the Blue Line subway and transferred to the Orange Line and then walked a short distance to the brewery. Highly recommend the fun tour. We then took the provided trolley to Doyle's restaurant which was very crowded, but the food was good and fast. We then walked 5 minutes to the Orange Line subway station to get back.

THINGS TO DO NEAR THE HOTEL: Nothing. The hotel runs a shuttle around the clock. It will take you down to the Blue Line subway station, and then you take the Blue Line subway to the Aquarium stop which is right downtown by the Market and nearby the Freedom Trail. However, there is nothing near the hotel within easy walking distance. No coffee shops, no donut shops, no bars or restaurants, nothing. The hotel has no pool. It has a small fitness room with treadmills and weight machines. There is a short walking path next to the hotel but I wouldn’t consider it safe.

There is nothing to do in or near the hotel. I wish our conference was downtown instead of at this hotel. The hotel is nice. The location is bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruityc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    758
    256
    111
    52
See reviews for
528
663
196
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've been to this hotel several times. The hotel is up to date, and the area keeps getting better and better. The theatre district is vibrant and filled with new restaurants. Chinatown is adjacent. Boston is a great city and this Hyatt is one of your best bets. Easy to get around from here. Additionally, the GM and staff are highly professional.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed here over Marathon weekend. Our room overlooked the Harbor and it was a beautiful view. We had no issues with any noise. The staff was helpful though at times it seemed like no one communicated with each other. The wait time for the shuttle seemed very long at times considering the T station was not that far away.

Our biggest issues were 1) the wifi signal did not reach our room on the 14th floor and 2) we never got the fridge we requested and were told we would receive. The staff kept telling us they had a fridge shortage because of the marathon. We understand that, but when we called and requested a fridge they should have notified us that it was not a guarantee instead of ensuring us we would have one. We would not have brought perishable food if we had known it was not guaranteed. The hotel allowed us to store our food in the guest services fridge, but our soy milk kept disappearing.

Overall, our stay was fine, but we expected more coming from a Hyatt especially considering the cost. I stayed at a Red Roof Inn Plus a few days ago and I honestly think they were better then the Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyaway1987AAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about your experience, specifically with the fridge request and the wifi signal. You can be assured your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate department managers so we can address these issues from happening again. I certainly hope if your travels bring you back to the Boston area you will consider staying with us to allow us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Boston Harbor for wedding (the reception was in the hotel. The rooms are nice enough -- clean and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent but very expensive, as is the bar. Unfortunately, when the hotel is full it is difficult to get a table at breakfast. Service at the hotel and restaurant is very good and helpful. The view of the city from the hotel and from the ballroom on the second floor is spectacular, especially at night. Free and very helpful hotel shuttle. Excellent water taxi to various points in the city, but it is expensive. The wedding reception was very well done, both in terms of service and the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Not that the rest of the experience wasn't great as well, of course.
The good: Convenient airport pick up, and friendly check in staff for 1am Saturday morning. The room was good size and the view from the eleventh floor was magnificent both at day and night. The view from the patio outside was amazing as well and made my lunch much more fulfilling (the clam chowder was already very good and filling).
The bad: Their sundries shop was terrible. Four soda brands, three candy bar brands, and one chips. This was not sufficient for even a late night snack upon arrival. And, as others have mentioned, the walls are pretty thin. It was quiet on my floor most of the time, but at 8am I could hear the housekeeping across the hallway as if my door was wide open, noises, voices, and all. I can imagine this being difficult and expensive to fix, though.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sudobuntu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Booked one night stay with a room overlooking the harbour, at a cost of almost $400 (plus tax). Now this is more than I have paid to stay in hotels in the likes of Tokyo, London, Sydney etc. so expected something decent. How wrong could I be? I have only ever given 1* review before surprisingly another Hyatt, and this one only gets 1* for the view.

Good points….

The pick up from the airport by the shuttle was good, staff helpful with luggage and the same on the way back to the airport. Check in staff friendly and efficient and confirmed our high floor with a view of the harbour. The hotel was busy as it was about 7.15 of an evening when we arrived and there did appear to be functions of sorts going on, lots of people milling about.

Bad points…

Up to the room and past the ‘quiet please between 10pm-7am for the benefit of guests’ sign, and indeed on first impression room looked fine if in the bland generic way many hotels have become. But wait no mini bar, no safe, no robes/slippers nothing, even the bathroom which was small had only the very bare minimum of amenities and towels not even a shower cap. The sink plug was broken so it could not be filled, surely housekeeping would have seen this.

The room actually looked like it had been stripped back to the bare amount of facilities, but of course you could have a fridge at a cost, even paying this amount….but wait there are 2 sets of ear plugs.

Bed, bedding etc just ok as was the furninshings and general look of the room, it would have been nice to see more of the view however the window was filthy, but the room/bathroom itself was clean enough.

Well after going out (avoiding a very intoxicated young couple in the lift who did not look old enough to be drinking) got the water taxi over bay. But arriving back about 10.15 you could tell plenty of people were well worse for wear already and it was noisy on our floor…….and so it continued for the next 3 hours. Slamming doors, shouting talking/arguing in the corridor walking back and forth, other guests had obviously reported this as you could hear people being spoken to about the noise. But unfortunately to no avail. An argument went on and on and clearly an altercation happened between 2 women and a guy, and I was certainly not going to see what was going on. I hope those inconsiderate guests who were so intoxicated had the most monumental hangovers the next day and suffered greatly.

Poor soundproof from rooms generally meant apart from the noise from the other guests outside the rooms you could hear everything else inside the rooms. As a airport hotel you expect some noise as in the nature of the place but this was ridiculous.

All in all I would not be paid to stay here, poor basic facilities and amenities, noisy rooms at an overpriced hotel, at $400 you expect a decent stay. And as the management read these reviews, do something about the noise, it’s a reoccurring problem that you know about. Even on checking out and telling the staff about the problem, really they did not appear to be to surprised.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us here at the Hyatt Boston Harbor. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to continously work on improvments to our hotel. I am disapointed to hear about the troubles you experienced during your stay. I can certainly imagine your frustration and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the appropriate departments.We will be undergoing a room renovation this year to address the noise issues in the rooms. We certainly hope if your travels bring you back to this area you would consider giving us another chance. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to contact me anytime at michael.hickey@hyatt.com or by phone at 617-568-1234.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Only stayed one night but hope to come again. Great service commences at the front desk when entering - warm greeting, efficient helpful service. Our room was large, clean, and nicely appointed. Bathroom also bright and modern with soft towels. We took the free shuttle back and forth to the airport to meet family members who were also arriving...even though we had our car, because the staff suggested it would be easier for us. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was above expectations. Again, excellent service, food, and amazing views of Boston's skyline in lights. I want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justvisiting50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments echo what we have been hearing from many of our guests - that our staff delivers excellent service, and we offer a warm, hospitable environment. I certainly hope if your travels bring you back to the Boston area that we are able to delight you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Boston
Hyatt Regency Boston
#32 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
East Boston / Logan Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston - at Logan Airport
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Address: 101 Harborside Drive, Boston, MA 02128-2918 (Formerly Hyatt Boston Harbor)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > East Boston / Logan Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Green Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern glass lighthouse compliments the Boston Harbor setting, seven minutes by water transportation to the heart of Boston. Elegant touches, superb facilities and all the amenities complete the picture, tying in the stately flair and nautical theme. This hotel boasts unparalleled views of the city Skyline, and sits right along the banks of Boston Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Harborside At Boston`s Logan International Airport Hotel Boston
Hyatt Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Harborside
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing